We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully appointed and elegant resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed in a deluxe oceanview room and loved it. Earth-tones, comfortable bedding, fabulous views, nice seating area and great bathroom. I also visited a junior suite, St Regis one-bedroom suite - similar styles but roomier - and liked them. I did not like the Presidential suite - blue and gold - it looked pretty ugly to me because of the color scheme, although it is spacious. Royal suite is much nicer. The restaurants are good, bar is lovely and the staff are friendly. Best part is the lovely and huge pool and beach - so amazing. This place deserves its five stars! One note - it is far from the airport (about an hour) and there is not a shuttle service, so a rental car is needed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hegira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Aloha Hegira,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We truly appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and we are pleased to hear you were able to see different types of suite rooms available. Our Deluxe ocean view rooms truly offer some of the best views of the Hanalei Bay. Hearing comments such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to work for our Resort and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back and enjoy our pool and beach area.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,812)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 2,812 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

This hotel has some of the most breathtaking views in the world! All rooms, I believe, overlook Hanelai Bay which has around 20 waterfalls streaming down incredibly lush tropical mountains and the bay, in the middle of mountains, flows into the ocean at the start of the Napali Coast. The rooms are beautiful, with marble bathrooms, with a tub to ceiling window that turns opaque with a flip of a switch. This hotel makes one want to live in Kauai. The food, while not memorable (although the breakfast buffet is great) is served in a restaurant with a view which will take your breath away. Too bad is takes so long to get there (the hotel is an hour's drive from the airport - be sure to rent a convertible).

Stayed: May 2013
Thank JudeSh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Aloha Judesh49,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us regrading your recent stay. Our staff is always in awe still when we see the many waterfalls in the mountains range on the North Shore. We are truly blessed to have such a wonderful view from our Resort. We appreciate your feedback and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We visited the hotel in June - please note that it rained and was cloudy the entire time we were there. Apparently, the Princeville area is known to have a wetter climate....our time spent in Lihue and Poipu were MUCH BETTER weather wise. Can't blame the hotel for the weather though!

The hotel - upon check in, we immediately found that our rooms were just lovely. Very clean with lots of luxurious touches. The bed was the most comfortable that I have ever slept in...I wanted to bring it home with me! The bathroom has a neat feature where you can flip the window to see through and you can actually see the ocean (we had an ocean view room) while you shower or are in the bathroom. You can flip it black for privacy, of course. The room was just perfect and we had no issues with it.

The pool area was also beautiful - they had a number of lounge chairs set up so that you could keep your feet in the water while lounging and there was always plenty of space for guests. They use the flag system on chairs so if you require service, you can put your flag up and be attended to and not be bothered when you don't need anything. One of the unique things they do is put down grass in the beach area. So, while you are relaxing on your lounge chairs looking at the ocean, your feet are on grass. I loved this because I hate when my feet are constantly sandy!!!!

Food at the resort was very good. Breakfast was so lovely - we always waited to get an outside seat if there was a wait so that we could look at the view of the ocean and mountains while we ate. The breakfast buffet was delicious and everything was always hot. Service at breakfast was a little spotty on drinks as they seemed to take forever if it was anything other than coffee or orange juice. We also ate at the Kauai Grille one evening and our meal was as good as we expected it to be...and the view...just wow!

I also visited the spa for a massage and a facial...both treatments were very good and I especially enjoyed the comfort of the relaxation room. The spa is worthwhile for a visit!

The only thing to be aware of is that the resort is rather large and the placement of our room was a decent walk to the lobby and the pool area. I would request a room closer to the pool if we return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicoleandKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Aloha Nicoleandkyle,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our Resort. We truly appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and we are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. We are disappointed that it rained during your stay but the rain is one of the many reasons why we can be called a lush green paradise on the North Shore of Kauai.Hearing comments such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to work for the St. Regis Brand. Being able to create memories like yours are a true treasure and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back to our Resort for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The staff was very friendly and the rooms and decor were good. But far and away, I'll remember the resort for some of the most breath-taking views. The resort is located on the north side of the island, so wind and clouds roll in and out frequently. I played the Makai golf course which was in immaculate shape and proved to be an afternoon very well spent. I recommend dining away from the resort -- while the restaurants are nice, they are far overpriced and lack a Hawaiian feel. A better bet is to drive 10-15 minutes up the road to Hanalei where there are a some great restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Aloha Richard H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We couldn't agree more on the breath taking views, mother nature truly took her time when she created the North Shore of Kauai. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and the Makai Golf course. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We celebrated our 30th anniversary here. We usually travel first class but here we wanted to make it special so we reserved an upgraded room that was more than we would usually spend. We were upgraded because the room type we wanted wasn't available and did we end up feeling Royal. If you want a view and room and service (with shared BUTLET service), consider the Royal Suite or any room on the top floor facing the water. We always saw a smiling faces on the staff. The room's view was incredible - we often saw whales and could see the general area where a scene from the movie "South Pacific" was shot. The hillsides were emerald green.

The breakfast buffet was fabulous - not just made to order omelets, eggs benedict, warm cereal, French toast, lux and bagels, assorted pastries including chocolate croissants and anything else you could expect but the also fruits were all the regular plus island fruits that were delicious especially the Rambutan which were in season. We didn't dine in the restaurants because we didn't see anything special, so we ended up having room service - I remember the soup was excellent. The menus change , perhaps another time would have been different.
Like any other place in this price range one should have lots of small bills ( ones and fives and tens) for tipping. Overly generous tips can make a good vacation into a special one.

Room Tip: Royal Suite is worth it if you can feel comfortable with the price.. Any room on a higher floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvsfishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Aloha Luvsfishin,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our Resort. On behalf of the entire St. Regis Princeville Resort we would like to congratulate you on your 30th Anniversary. Being able to create memories of a lifetime is a veiled treasure at our Resort and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Suite and signature Butler service. We apologize that your Dinner menu was not what you had expected and we have shared your comments with our Executive Chef. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon and hopefully have you experience our venues during Dinner.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The staff globally was vey good .the location of the hotel is the best on the island.it is in the north that means a little more wind but the views you get is stunning.there ara two golf courses nearby who was very good maintained,so overall was it an good experience .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernardverheecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Aloha bernardverheecke,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the wonderful North Shore of Kauai.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our Splurge part of the honeymoon. I have stayed in the past and had great memories. The Jean George restaurant was part of the attraction and it delivered above and beyond expectations. The hotel does need work though. It is getting rough around the edges. It was a pricey date and although things were good, they weren't great.

One problems... there was no internet access for our whole stay even though we tried repeatedly to get it remedied. they kept saying they wanted to help but no one did anything. they kept saying they care, but no one ever followed up. after the stay i told them about some problems with our room. nothing ever came of it. no thank you. no nice gesture of thanks. nada.

now, if you want excellent customer service... we had EXCELLENT care at the Koa Kei on the south side. I promise you will enjoy that little luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Aloha Ikilley,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We apologize that your Honeymoon getaway was anything less than exceptional. We are pleased to hear your Kauai Grill expereince was memorable and I have shared your review with our Director of Operations. We would appreciate discussing the details of your experience with you personally and thank you in advance for this opportunity, if you would be kind enough to contact Alberto Pirozzini, Director of Operations at alberto.pirozzini@stregis.com. We’re looking forward to hearing from you.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: £414 - £952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing