We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$380
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$388
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,992)
Filter reviews
2,992 results
Traveller rating
1,923
575
298
121
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,923
575
298
121
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskauai grillbutler servicemakana terracepacific dream photographyfour seasonsjunior suitepool beachour honeymoongreen marblechampagne saberinglobby barturn down servicean ocean view roomgrand hyatthotel is beautifulsushiamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
1,512 - 1,517 of 2,992 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had an excellent experience at the St. Regis hotel. The staff were all helpful, kind and truly wonderful. The pool was beautiful, and the view at sunset is spectacular. We will be back. Special thanks to Salome and her team for treating us so well! Spa is excellent too. Best massage ever!

Room Tip: As for ocean view, well worth it! Amazing.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Aloha DeborahD,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to our Resort. We truly appreciate hearing feedback from our guests and we are pleased to hear our staff took such great care of you. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel. But like everyone in North Kauai, you learn soon that the sunset at the St Regis is not to be missed. Valet parking is "free," ie, tip the parking attendant well. And get there at least an hour and a half before sunset to score a table outside. Expensive drinks. But so worth it. A "do not miss" on Kauai.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Stacey11603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Aloha Stacey11603,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us while you visited the Resort. Sunsets on the North shore are truly a unique experience and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back to our Resort soon and hopefully get to experience our guest rooms and full resort.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The St. Regis is the top end hotel in the Princeville area. Everying about the St. Regis is guest/customer oriented. Prior to arrival I received a call and an email asking if there were any special things they could do to make our stay more enjoyable. The attention up front gave me confidence that this was going to be a special place. It is. From the moment of arrival we felt we were in a very personalized place. The valet are fast, courteous and always offered help with directions and bottles of water for the road. The check in process was seamless. The rooms are divine. The pool fabulous. The only critique is the majority of rooms do not have lanais. We came from the Fairmont in Maui with their fabulous suites and generous sized balconies, so this was missed. The butler service was excellent. Don't hesitate to stay.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to pool ask for a room on the 3rd floor, lower building with view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Aloha Travelpro2007,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and that you were able to receive our bespoke service even before your stay. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Kauai may be the most beautiful island of the chain we call Hawaii. The St. Regis may be the most wonderful hotel in all of Hawaii. The lobby bar offers views of sunsets,a blue ocean, and dramatic green cliffs.
The St.Regis is a gift to travelers looking for perfection.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthialov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Aloha Cynthialov,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at our Resort and on the island of Kauai. Mother nature truly took her time when she created the pristine North Shore of Kauai. Being able to enjoy our 360 degree views is truly a lifetime experience and we are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is my husband's favorite hotel in the world. We 1st stayed here in 1985 and have stayed here throughout all of the name changes, management changes...some good, some bad. We have been to the Hawaiian islands about 60+ times and this place has the most incredible views in Hawaii. That is what has kept us coming back. It has always been a special place for a couples vacay for us. We have never taken our 3 sons here (we take them to The Hyatt Regency Poipu on the south shore) even tho they were all "made" at The Princeville Hotel! Service has been hit and miss throughout the years...managers come and go. We watched as the hotel went down for reconstruction and decided to wait a while to let St Regis put their special branding stamp on the place. We have stayed at many St Regis properties around the world and were worried that the hawaiian staff would not be able to live up to St Regis's high standards. In the past, this hotel always ran on "hawaiian time." I can happily report that we had a wonderful stay and overall staff did live up to St Regis standards.

We spent only 5 nights here this trip (we did 5 at Koa Kea in a deluxe ocean front room after the St Regis) and downgraded from our usual Prince Jr Suite(top building with lobby and top 3 floors) to a regular ocean view room #304. This room was located in the lowest wing on the hotel which was always my least favorite due to privacy issues. It is the best for beach and pool access. This room was in a great location, no problem with leaving the blinds open, awesome view of the ocean and all the mountains that makes Princeville so special. I wanted to see what they had done to the rooms in the renovation. The hotel brought in new furniture, added cushions to sit on the viewing ledge of the window, and it appears they fixed the old air conditioning and mildew problems. Bed was 5 star. Unfortunately they did not touch the old green marble bathrooms other than to add a removable rack across the tub for upscale amenities as well as nicer countertop amenities. It doesn't matter if you are in a room or Jr suite, you are still stuck climbing into a bathtub to take a shower and have to watch your shins. The cooler refrigerators are worthless. We bought cheese and wine at the shop in the lobby and by morning the cheese was melted. Please St Regis, replace these with real refrigerators or better yet bring back the mini bar.

The pool is all new. I did miss the swim up bar and the old covered bar which was great for sunset cocktails in beach attire. The old bar area is now the activities area. They did build a new bar closer to the ocean and staff was friendly and drinks were very good. The beach restaurant is in the same location with added space. Food was good. I did find their menu to be a bit limited. St Regis's biggest improvement was all of the lounges, umbrellas and palapas on the beach. Service is excellent, they set up your lounge, bring water, adjust unbrellas throughout the day and anything else you may need. I didn't tip any of the young men until we went out to thank them on our last day. We never felt that anyone had their hand out awaiting a tip as previous reviewers have stated.

Our bellman was very friendly as were all of the parking valets. Service was FAST. A huge improvement over past stays.

We had 2 excellent dinners at The Makena Terrace. We walked in without a reservation at 8pm our first night and were seated within 5 minutes. Service excellent. We had cocktails, appetizers and lots of nice quality sushi. We were very happy. We made reservations to return and had a beautiful table out on the terrace. We had cocktails, appetizers, entrees, desert and a nice bottle of wine. Everything was cooked to perfection and service was outstanding. We spread it out over 2 hours and this was our favorite dinner.

We went to The St Regis bar about an hour after sunset when the crowds dispersed for cocktails, beer and sushi one evening. Even tho the room was almost empty service was very slow. It took 10 minutes before our server approached and then at least 10 minutes to get the cocktails and beer each time we ordered.

We chose to have our anniversary dinner in their new Kauai Grille. This restaurant space had been french, italian and continental in the past. It is now more Hawaiian regional cuisine.We were surprised at the mumber of guests in shorts, tshirts and flip flops. Yes this is Kauai, but this is the nicest restaurant on island. We were seated at a very small table by the window. You can't really see much outside at 8pm. This restaurant is now very modern looking and extremely noisy. We could tell in the first 5 minutes that this was not going to be a romantic dinner. We mentioned this to our server and he said that many people had commented on the noise. Again we asked for and were given space between cocktails, wine and all the courses but we both came out with a headache due to the noise. My husband's appetizer came out 1st and he was half way finished before we were informed that the kitchen ran out of what I had ordered for my appetizer. They were just going to bring the entrees but I said no, I wanted to look at the menu and order a different appetizer. This was a disappointment in their signature restaurant. Overall the entrees were good and the manager comped our dessert. Dinner was $500+. We had planned to go back there another night for dinner but chose to cancel and instead go into Hanalai. Food in Hanalai is really hit and miss. The Dolphin which has been there forever was pretty empty at 8pm...the meal was the worst we ever had there. We would have been much better off going back for another dinner at Makana Terrace.

The hotel did correspond by email a few weeks before check in offering paid upgrades to the Prince Jr suite. Unfortunately it was not available for our whole stay but they offered us the ability to upgrade for just a few days of upgrade to one of their big suites. The woman we were corresponding with went on vacation mid way thru our back and forth correspondence and we got a auto generated response that she was gone. I sent an email to follow up to the address shown and no one responded. We had been willing to upgrade for $2,000. per night to either the Bali Hai or presidential suite. Oh well...maybe next time!

Overall, we love what they did with the lobby and pool & beach area although the rooms really got just a cosmetic makeover. We both think it was definitely a nice improvement service wise as well. 90% of the clientele were honeymooners. A definite change from the "overfed and nearly dead" that the old staff would previously joke about. We WILL be back...many more times.

Room Tip: Premium ocean view rooms face out over the cliff directly on the ocean. You can get that view in any Hawaiian hotel. What is so special about Princeville is Hanalai Bay, Bali Hai and all the mountains and being able to watch all the weather systems come through, the clouds over the pali's and all of the waterfalls. For that reason a regular ocean view or partial ocean view is the best here as you get to see it all. Note that the shower/tub in the Prince Jr suite bathrooms are located against the window so you have to turn on your privacy window and give up the view in order to shower. In the regular rooms you can shower and look at the view with no problems.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RPV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews