We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I have had numerous friends speak highly of this hotel and they were right. The service, location, amenities and rooms are great. The ocean view rooms are outstanding as were the restaurants and pool area. I will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank archangel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha Archangel61,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and that we lived up to your friends referrals. We take great pride in being able to create a memorable bespoke experience for each and everyone of our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,787
    524
    266
    111
    71
See reviews for
633
1,664
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We enjoyed a round of golf on the beautiful Makai course on our first morning of our arrival from Poipu, before checking in for 2 nights. We had booked an ocean premium room. We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary. Service was excellent. Staff were there to ensure you had a pleasant experience. Valet service was efficient. Check in went smoothly. The interior of the hotel is spacious and tastefully decorated. A beautiful grand resort. Gorgeous flower arrangements. Nice lounges, entrance, sitting areas. Our premium ocean view room was beautifully situated ...corner unit on the 8th floor. Prime spot. We were able to sit out on our small garden area, which had two chairs and a small table and a privacy wall between our only neighbor. We had a nice ocean view, as we sipped the complimentary champagne they had sent to our room. Nice touch. The rooms above our 8th floor ...all had the same ocean views, but no balcony. They could only open the windows entirely up. Our premium ocean room was really expensive at US. $700 a night (and I booked it a few months in advance when they had an ocean view room special) plus then you still have to add resort fees, taxes, $30 daily valet parking fee so you are looking more at $800 a night! Ridiculously expensive ...but for a splurge on a special occasion, it was really appreciated. At that price though, unless you have unlimited means, you will want to be able to enjoy the room as much as possible otherwise, perhaps a cheaper garden room might be an alternate choice if you just want to stay and experience the resort.
We didn't mind that it took about 5-10 minutes to walk to the pool from our room location.
The pool is very nice and fairly large. Lots of beach chairs and umbrellas. We spent a few hours relaxing by the pool at the end of our 2nd day, despite the weather not being very inviting. I can only imagine that it would be quite crowded during high season, when the sun is shining. The beach is somewhat small....but if you prefer a more secluded or larger beach, there are a few very nice ones to go to in the area as long as you have a car.
Despite having a mostly cloudy and grey 2nd day to explore the area, it was still worth going up to Princeville and staying at the St. Regis for a few days. Such a lush part of the island. BTW...the bed sheets are awesome...wish I knew what kind of cotton and thread count they use! Silky smooth....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the moment you arrive and the valet greets you warmly by name and gives you a lei you know you are in for a wonderful stay. I love how you don't have to wait in line to check in but are seated at a desk and treated as individuals, not as cattle.

The hotel lived up to my expectations and they were high! The staff did a lot of amazing things for us that were much appreciated. The view from the lobby takes your breath away.

Very comfortable room equipped with Illy coffee maker.

All the staff was happy and helpful.

Had the buffet breakfast daily and it was scrumptious!

Valet staff was courteous and fast and had good tips for local eateries.

Room Tip: spring for the rooms with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crk60091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha crk60091,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and thoughtful review about your stay at our Resort. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in working for the St. Regis. Being able to create exceptional stays for our guests is a main goal for our staff and it would be our pleasure to keep creating memorable stays for you for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week on the first leg of our honeymoon and we couldn't have been happier! The service (from check-in to check-out) was immpecable! Definetly enjoy happy hour on the bar terrace, rent paddle boards, and get to the pool/beach early to secure your lounges for the day during busy seasons! We were a bit disappointed with the beach as it is not really conducive to swimming- lots of rock and coral- we were told that we could walk a bit and take a swim but we didn't find any suitable areas. Most of our swimming was done in the pool and when we visited other beaches on the island. The Kauai Grill (Jean-Georges restaurant) was not worth the price- better food for cheaper can be had on the terrace grill or even in the bar area. We requested a fridge in our room and bought groceries from the store down the road from the hotel and would recommend this to anyone who doesn't want to spend a fortune on dining! We had our own breakfast and lunch almost everyday and then bought bar snacks and dinner everynight, which worked great for us!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMD11115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha JilianD,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy our Resort as part of your honeymoon getaway, congratulations on your recent celebration! Memorable experiences stay with us for a lifetime and what better place to create memories then on the North Shore of Kauai. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come, including an Anniversary!

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass Village
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This property is Princeville's answer to the ultimate full service hotel. Elegance, efficiency and white glove personalized service defines this resort. No Waikiki masses... It's more about tranquility here. Even so, a multitude of island activities, joyfully arranged by the first rate concierge staff will keep you as occupied as you want to be. Not just a place for the newlywed or nearly dead, but for us a welcome reprieve from a hectic business schedule. Although St Regis has kids club activity program, large families might fare better at the nearby Westin Princeville, another Starwood property, with a multitude of swimming pools, BBQ's and another kid's club - Westin guests enjoy beach privileges at the St Regis, and a shuttle is available. Need I mention EXPENSIVE, but worth the experience.

Room Tip: Napali Cliff views and sunsets are an experience of a lifetime. Rooms on the lower floors with pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha ScarlettA,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear your stay was beyond expectation. Rest and relaxation is a veiled treasure found at our Resort, the captivating scenery allows you to enjoy the moment. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at the St. Regis Princeville Resort for 9 nights with my family. We had connecting rooms on the 10th floor with a terrace and a wonderful garden & mountain view including Hanalei Bay. The rooms were large and we had more than enough space in the bathrooms too. The daily maid service was excellent as was the evening turndown service. The staff throughout the hotel always cheerfully greeted us and asked if we needed anything. The front desk was equally helpful and attentive to our requests. The parking valet staff were friendly and efficient. The pool staff took good care of us, setting us up with chairs, towels, adjusting the umbrellas, and offering to bring us water. We ate lunch at the poolside bar and grill and the food and drinks were very good. We went into Hanalei for coffee and breakfast every morning so we could check out the local scene. We bought sandwiches, drinks and wine at the Foodland Market to bring back to the hotel for lunch a couple of times when we weren’t out exploring the island. We also brought pizza back to the hotel a few times. We watched the sunset at the bar along with several other guests. The views are stunning! We travelled with a 15-month old toddler and wasn't sure if all would go smoothly but the hotel is a very toddler-friendly place and she had lots of other children to play with at the pool and beach. We participated in several events at the hotel, including lei-making, sand sculpting, and s'mores on the beach. I have no complaints, our stay was most relaxing and enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel, it is a gem and we plan to return. One of our best family vacations yet, we're thrilled we picked this hotel and it's perfect location to explore the north shore beaches and activities.

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms on the 10th floor with a terrace and a wonderful garden & mountain view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We loved the butler service and the amazing views. Great bathroom. I wish they had a flower lei for the welcome greeting and a welcome cocktail. Great breakfast buffett. Helpful staff. Needs happy hour in bar. Beautiful grounds. Lots of weddings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Aloha Lizz123,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and we thank you for letting us know where we can improve. I have shared your review with our Executive staff in hopes that we may improve for our future guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing