We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, Serene and Quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Regis Princeville Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Relaxing, Serene and Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We returned to the St Regis and had a fantastic time. If you are looking for a loud, boisterous crowd with an active night life - this is NOT the place for you. The resort lends itself to families with children, honeymooners, elders, or those who simply want time away to relax and soak up the beautiful scenery of the Hanalei Bay. It is like paradise. The resort is a little worn but still luxurious. We stayed in a suite with its own lanai which faced the Hanalei Bay. It was very peaceful. There are no "amazing" restaurants in the area, but food is not so important when you are in paradise. The service at the resort was good. The pool always kept clean, the beach safe to play, and the grounds were well maintained. The bathroom amenities were very luxurious which made us feel so pampered. The bed is extremely soft which we did not like, but it may work for you! The resort is situated in an area that makes you feel like you are in an authentic part of Hawaii since it is not a commercial touristic area at all. We really appreciated that!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsPack!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha Letspack,

Mahalo for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay. Rest and relaxation is a veiled treasure found at our Resort. The captivating scenery holds your mind at repose and allows you to enjoy the moment. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,712
    495
    249
    104
    69
See reviews for
593
1,600
36
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a no-kids romantic get-away at the end of May 2014. We had been here 10 years prior when it was just The Princeville. Since that time there was a major renovation. So, it was a little different, but much the same - apart from being MUCH more expensive. The room itself was clean, modern, and comfortable - nothing particularly special. The first time we stayed, we had a delightful ocean view, but were not so lucky this time. We heard the air conditioning unit instead of the ocean with the windows open. Tip - stay in an ocean front room. The hotel is located on a small beach which is nice, but the swimming there is not that good because of the reef. The surrounding scenery, however, is stunning. We were able to take a snorkel trip right from the beach, which was worthwhile. During that trip, we did see several sea turtles and the reef. The pool and pool bar are fairly standard. We enjoyed the pool and hot-tub and did not have any concerns about loud children. It was very relaxing. Aside from a private dining experience on the beach (done because that was how we got engaged there 10 years earlier), we did not eat there. The private dining on the beach is an absolutely ridiculous cost for what it is and I don't recommend it...it was pure nostalgia for us. The sunset from the bar veranda is absolutely gorgeous (but packed as folks come from other resorts and hotels to see it). Staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall it is an elegant, if over-priced venue. I can't say I would recommend it necessarily, although it's a dependable and consistent choice. We'll probably go there again, but mostly because of our wonderful memories there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha LynneK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your return visit. Being able to return to a place that holds memories for you is truly a treat and we honored to know that the place is here in Prince ville at our Resort. On behalf of the entire staff we would like to congratulate on your 10 year anniversary and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had an absolutely amazing experience at the St. Regis Princeville. We stayed in the Royal Suite, which certainly lived up to it's name. 24 hour butler service from a team of incredibly friendly and helpful people. Robert (one of the team) went out of his way to obtain a copy of a book we were looking for by the last Queen of Hawaii and had it delivered to our hotel room! The restaurants were wonderful...had dinner on Makana Terrace and watched the sunset, a wonderful Sunday brunch, and a 5 course wine dinner in the Grill. The setting was amzing...a beautiful beach with great snorkeling. We spent hours sitting in the Trina Turk cabana by the beach soaking up the beautiful surroundings. The hotal is quite large but feels very intimate. I would go back and stay again in a minute. The town on Hanalei close to princeville is also charming. Small but with a few very good restaurants, a coffee shop, and lots of gift shops if that's what you're into. The drive from the airport takes about 40 minutes, but of course you are driving in some of the most beautiful countryside ever so this too is a real treat. You definitely need a car though unless you plan to stay on property the entire time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 265MWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha 265MWH,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly enjoy hearing feedback from our guests and we appreciate your acknowledgement. Our Butler service is a unique service offered at the St. Regis and allows our guests to enjoy every moment of their stay. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional and that you enjoyed every moment. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I really enjoyed our 6 night visit to the St Regis in Princeville. We booked our travel plans through Travelocity. We flew from DFW to LA and then LA to LIHUE on United. Hertz provided the rental car. When we arrived on property, I was blown away with the elegance. The view is unbelievable. I would think it is one of the top 10 spots for hotels in the world. The view of the bay will blow you away. St Regis staff didn't miss on anything. We got upgraded to a beautiful room with a Bay view when the staff found out it was our 20th anniversary and we found a bottle of Gloria Ferrar champagne in our room on the first night and a hand written note from the management of the hotel thanking us on our stay. If you are thinking of staying on the north side of the island, the St Regis is the place to stay. The valets knew our name when we pulled our car in for the night and the pool staff put the perfect umbrella out for us so we wouldn't get too burned. Everyone worked in conjunction to make our stay enjoyable.
Again, a thumbs up to the staff at St Regis.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ppeebles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had just traveled from the Ritz in Maui to Kauai and of course there will be comparisons. I honestly, did not think this resort lived up to the Ritz or the St Regis name. The Ritz in Maui was AMAZING. I gave the property at 4 star, because I think it is a 4 star property just not at the price we paid. This hotel is extremely expensive to stay out, you would think there would be better updates, a lanai to sit on, the elevator system is horrible, luckily we were on the 4th floor, so we only had to travel down one set of elevators to the beach. When we checked in, the woman told us our room wouldn't be ready til 4, so we went down two different sets up elevators to the pool to go change into bathing suits and then as soon as we get down there, I get a phone call the room is ready, so up another two set of elevators to get our keys and then back down to our room! The pools were a bit loud with kids, it would be nice to have an adult area. We ended up staying on the beach most of the time since it was a lot quieter. The views are amazing from this resort and that was the main reason I choose it. The Kauai Grill is crazy expensive and not that good for the price they charge. $6 for a club soda? The woman working the desk at Kauai Grill asked if we were celebrating anything special, we told her it was our HM, and then there was no follow up, maybe a dessert? What was the point of asking then? I asked for a pineapple juice at the bar and it was $8?? I just had two at breakfast for free! We ate at the St Regis Bar, $18 for the smallest 3 shrimp ever. I agree with a lot of the negative posters actually, and I usually don't, because I like to take things with a grain of salt. Workers were very hungry for tips, it just felt ridiculous after a while. I know this sounds like I had a bad time, I didn't, we had an awesome time, its just those little things you don't expect from a St Regis property. I don't think I would stay at this resort again, yes the views were amazing and it is nice to be right near Hanalei Bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaM2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha MelissaM2111,

Thank you for taking the time to your feedback about your recent stay at our Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall but we are very disappointed that our staff did not treat you with exceptional care during your stay. Being the Address for Life's Celebrations we pride ourselves on taking the time to celebrate momentous occasions and I apologize that your Honeymoon stay was recognized.I have shared your review with our Executive Chef in hopes that she may consider your input when creating dishes and experiences. We truly hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our signature hospitality and world class service for which the St. Regis brand is known.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We dined at Makana terrace last night. We were married on Sunday the 6th so this was more than a special occasion for us. We were spoiled from the second we arrived. The hosts graciously sat us immediately even though we we were a half hour early. The view across the ocean to the Makana mountains from the terrace is amazing and a beautiful setting for a relaxing dinner atmosphere. All if our food and beverage selections were impeccable. The stand out dish was the Makana roll, great presentation, hand made, fantastic. Jinette was our server and was every bit a part of the experience, she was very informative on the menu and the surroundings. She was very attentive, and didn't smother us at the same time. My wife and I both have and do work at a four star four diamond property in AZ, it was so refreshing to us to receive the type of service we have always tried to provide. This experience will be one of the highlights of our trip for certain, thank you!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Aloha Funkle,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take great pride in being able to provide the most genuine and bespoke service to our guests. Hearing a compliment from a fellow Hotel industry worker is much appreciated and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Gorgeous setting, nice pool, small private beach. You have to drive or swim to Hanalei Bay--no walking access. The hotel restaurants are very, very expensive and not as good as we would expect given the cost. We had better dining luck in Hanelei, but the downside to that is having to wait for valet parking and driving yourself. The hotel gyms were nice and and overall service at the hotel is impeccable. The grounds are beautiful and the views are wonderful.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our ocean view rooms that were second level above ground floor--you have a sense of being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoriKSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2006 AAA Four Diamond Hotel Award winner, Hawaii's St. Regis Princeville Resort offers 23 idyllic acres for rest and play. Luxurious dining, spa, swimming, and golf on the northern shore of Kauai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing