We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The views from this hotel are absolutely stunning. I think we had the most gorgeous outlook I've ever had from any hotel suite anywhere.

The lobby is also very attractive, with the same sensational views onto the bay and the mountains - I never tired of looking at this.

I accept that many couples come here on honeymoon and have a wonderful stay but for us it was a long way from perfect.

Although it's a good resort hotel, it simply isn't a top luxury resort, despite what other reviewers might suggest. As a family, we stay in lots of superb places and we're used to the best. What distinguishes the very best in luxury hotels from other very good/ good ones is consistency and quality - two elements missing for the St Regis Princeville, especially in terms of food, restaurants, and service.

Breakfast food quality, range and service was mediocre at best. Several of the staff were frankly sullen, bordering on rude. Other wait staff worked hard to compensate and were extremely pleasant and helpful, so it's a mixed bag.

The signature restaurant is nothing of the sort. Décor and layout - really unappealing. There is absolutely nothing high-end or special about it. I actually had to go back to my room and change as our butler had made this big deal about the formality of the restaurant and when we showed up it was nothing of the sort - the couple in front walked in wearing shorts and flip-flops! I don't mind casual when the restaurant is flagged that way. But equally if you have a dress-code (which they suggested) then ENFORCE it!

Service was mixed everywhere. Some staff were very laid-back, almost disinterested. Others were really excellent and on a par with the best staff anywhere - including all the valets and poolside staff we met.

Finally, food quality on this island generally is poor. A couple of recommendations we got from the concierge were awful (do not go to The Tavern. A noise-filled canteen. The worst meal I have ever had in the States. Inedible).

Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank TM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Aloha TM99,

Mahalo for taking the time write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. we apologize that your stay was anything less than exceptional and we appreciate your feedback. Hearing from our guests allows us to improve and we have shared your review with our Management. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our genuine signature hospitality for which the St. Regis brand is known.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,301 of 2,917 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Kauai is the most spectacular island in Hawaii. You have wonderful views of the all the island has to offer from the Emerald Mountains, the clear water and rainbows. From our arrival to our departure, the hotel staff did a great job of making us really feel like we were in Hawaii. They greater us with Hawaiian gifts, the checkin was personal and our room was facing the ocean. You can do everything from the hotel, spa (we had a great couples message) to snorkeling and kayaking from the beach. The hotel is on the beach so you can sit at the pool or the beach. We went to a different island and stay at another 5 star hotel and I must admit I wish I was back at the St. Regis on the beach. This is the only place i will stay whenI visit Kauai!

Room Tip: The Kauai Grill is okay for the price. I would suggest venturing our into the little town and try Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelduo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Aloha Travelduo007,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent stay at our Resort. Hearing comments such as yours is one of the many reasons of staff takes such great pride in working at our Resort. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I wish I could give this property 10 stars, because I would. There are no words to describe how fantastic this hotel is! We are not wealthy people, an just average two income family who spent one night at the St. Regis Princeville of our three total nights in Kauai and in hindsight, I wish we would have stayed many more. We opted to upgrade upon arrival to an ocean view room and every single penny was worth this gorgeous view! The view!!!! OH THE VIEW!!! Breathtaking. But enough about the natural part of it, the resort is big enough, but small enough to seem cozy. In no way did we feel like it was stuffy. Every single person that worked there was incredible. Our kids got welcome gifts upon arrival which they loved. We ate at the pool and the food was fantastic. The welcome lei was beautiful and the room was large and unbelievably comfortable. Hawaii is a long journey from the east coast but we really hope to make it back some day and stay for a week at the St. Regis. It is money well spent and you will not regret it!

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade and stay ocean front! SOOO worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank wdw4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Aloha Wdw4me,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent family getaway to our Resort. Hearing comments such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes pride in working at our Resort. Being able to visit Kauai is truly a memorable moment that you will treasure for a lifetime. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this resort during our honeymoon in September 2011 for 5 days. It was the last stop after 6 days on the big island and 6 days on Maui. I will say that we had very high expectations after staying at wonderful properties on the other islands (four seasons). Upon arriving to the property and looking out from the lobby you are in awe of the beauty. There is no better view from a resort that I have seen. Just perfect breathtaking view. The rooms were outdated but suitable. No lanai/balcony which would have made it easier to take in the view from the room. Service and clientele felt more
Pretentious than we liked. Food was subpar but there are a lot of little spots near by. Beach and pool were nice but not exceptional. Probably wouldn't return to the property to be honest. For the money you can get an overall better experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buffy14322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here after a stay at the andaz in maui so we were probably a little spoiled.
We found that the staff at the St Regis was great, with extra kudos to Mark at the front for all his tourist tips. However from a service perspective we were very frustrated to have arrived at the hotel at 12:30 and ended up waiting for our room to be made available to us till 4:50, when we were guaranteed to be in there by 4:00. The hotel did gives us some free cocktails and breakfast which we did appreciate to make up for it.
Overall, The biggest attraction for staying at this hotel is the view, the st Regis has a monopoly on hanalei bay viewwhich is a gorgeous beach with beautiful mountains in the background.
In terms of drawbacks, the restaurants and cocktail bars could be improved. The food and drinks weren't that impressive and the decor is more old school then the modern look we prefer. Also the hotel feels like a maze- it was frustrating to have to navigate through several elevators to get to the beach or the gym, I think this is a function of an earlier renovation, but none the less it is not convenient.
Overall, it's a great choice of hotels for Kauai, but feels like they have been resting on their heels to spruce it up.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Veronz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the St. Regis Back in February, and we still catch ourselves raving about our stay at this wonderful hotel! From the time we arrived on the property we were treated with such class, we felt like little kings and queens. We were escorted to our room by an attendant who showed us around the details of our room and helped us with any questions that we may have had.
the View from our room was stunning. I highly recommend getting an ocean view room if you plan on staying here , because truly the view is what makes this hotel one of a kind. Our ocean view room had huge windows that opened up completely and we were able to sit at our window seat and look at beautiful hanalei bay any time of the day.
Because it was our honeymoon the hotel gifted us with a bottle of champagne one evening, and we were really pleased by this. This was one of the things that really made our stay special.

Room Tip: get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank melissa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Aloha MelissaT,

Thank you for taking the time to share your memories with us about your stay back in February. Our staff and Resort take great pride in being able to recognize celebrations and create bespoke moments during your stay. Being able to create memorable experiences that will last a lifetime is one of our main goals and we are pleased to hear your stay left such a wonderful impression. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you for many more anniversaries or special occasions.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I was unsure of what to expect from this hotel due to various types of reviews so I felt compelled to write one.

I stayed with my husband here last week for 5 nights. The views from this hotel are incredible and the sunset can’t be beat. For that alone I would stay here again because you won’t find that anywhere else in a hotel on the North Shore (best part of Hawaii!)

Overall, the hotel is extremely nice and exactly what you would expect from a St Regis (old school luxury in my opinion). I did feel that the outdoors (pool & beach) could do with some upgrading. The beach is very nice, but small and also very busy. Same with the pool, was lovely but crowded and loud with children. We didn’t really mind through because we are more beach people and if we did sit by the pool it was earlier in the day when it was quiet.

The rooms were really nice and if you can, a ocean view room is lovely! A little slow on the room cleaning in the morning but gave them a call and they couldn’t be nicer. No balconies but the rooms have large sliding windows which make you feel like you are outside and give you the most of the view. Also an empty fridge is provided if you wanted to throw some of your own beverages in there, which was appreciated. Great turndown service!

Breakfast is served in the most beautiful setting and the buffet was delicious. Had everything you could want and if they didn’t- just ask! We looked forward to it every morning and was a perfect, serene place to start the day.

The sunset is incredible from the terrace and a great place to enjoy a cocktail, it gets crowded (especially with non-hotel guests) so we liked to just hang out down by the beach to watch which gives you an another amazing view.

We rented a car so were able to explore the whole North Shore which made coming back to the hotel a luxury. We didn’t eat much on property because there were some great food options in nearby Hanalei that we enjoyed. But lunch at Nalu Kai was very good.

Few of the highlights we enjoyed-
Cold water bottles to drink whenever we needed- it gets hot out there!
Towels from the valet whenever we headed out to other beaches (quick valet service)
2 fully equipped gyms
Friendly staff (especially at Makena Terrace breakfast)
Free Wifi
Champagne upon arrival for our Anniversary celebration

All in all, worth every penny for the ability to be staying on the North Shore and have access to all its beauty. The St Regis is a luxurious place to come home to and a perfect stay if you are planning on being out and about! As for completely staying at the hotel for a few days without leaving I don’t know if I would recommend this as the best place (limited options and small beach) but then you probably shouldn’t pick this part of Kauai because there is so much to explore!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank d_dawnmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Regis Prince... M, Public Relations Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Aloha d_dawnmarie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our Resort. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy every aspect of our Resort. Mother nature truly took her time when she created the North Shore of Kauai and we stand in amazement everyday when taking in our views. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back to our Resort for many years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: £420 - £787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing