We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only downside is that it was so great and we were so spoiled, nothing else will compare”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Only downside is that it was so great and we were so spoiled, nothing else will compare”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

In short, we loved our stay at the St. Regis Princeville and will definitely be back.

Location could not have been any better. Hanalei Bay is awesome but just saying that doesn't do the location justice. The resort begins on the cliffs and builds down to finish on the beach with the best sunsets on the island.

Room was perfect. We stayed in room 104 (one of the rooms with a first floor terrace) and it was absolutely the perfect room for a couple with a 2.5 year old. The ground level outdoor access to the pool and beach was invaluable. Having the outdoor balcony for the two hours each afternoon our daughter napped meant we could continue to enjoy our day with cocktails and relaxation on the terrace while she napped.

Even knowing Jean-Georges is the executive chef (meaning we had very high expectations going in), the food was even better than our expectations. We are foodies and have eaten at some of the nicest restaurants in the world...every course at the Kauai Grill was amazing.

What can I say about the staff...hard to do them justice. As just one example, one of the poolside guys took the time to show my 2 year old daughter a chameleon. To some that might not sound like much...to my daughter and myself it means everything. We've been away from the resort for two weeks now but my daughter still mentions the "chameleon man" every day. The valets were also amazing at making us feel at home both at the resort and the island (they made great concierges themselves). The gentleman that ran the daycare facility was incredible...in fact, it was the first time my wife has been willing to leave our daughter with a baby sitter we hadn't already known for years.

The only unfortunate thing about the stay is that we were so spoiled by everything at the St. Regis that nothing else in Hawaii will ever compare.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caazmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,786
    523
    266
    111
    71
See reviews for
632
1,664
39
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at the St. Regis Princeville for our 6th anniversary after deciding that each year of marriage we'd save enough money to make one "dream trip" every year... we have been all over the world and BY FAR, the St Regis and the island of Kauai are our new favorite! Kauai is beautiful and full of outdoorsy activities to keep you busy. The St Regis has their own private beach, but you can walk all the way to Hanalei Bay if you follow the coast and dont mind a small river crossing. The pool and servers are great, prices are very fair for this type of place, and the views are definitely the best on the north shore. The only complaints I heard from anyone was that it was not kid friendly... however, the hotel DOES have a childcare center on property, and I'd say it's obvious most 5-Star places in Hawaii cater to more couples/adults. There is a great Westin right up the road if you are looking for more of a family vacation spot, and Westin guests are allowed to use the beach area at the St Regis. All of the staff from Thierry, Seth, Pei, Jose, Darcy, and on and on were wonderful, welcoming, and helpful when planning activities. I could not give a stronger recommendation, worth EVERY penny!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed two nights over Thanksgiving weekend with our 5 yr old. The lobby is on the 9th floor, we stayed in a Garden Level Mountain View which was room 719 (7th floor) and overlooked the infinity pool and mountains and part view of ocean. And felt like on 7th floor. Everyone was so nice to our 5 yr old. At the hotel the concierge area has free DVD movie check out, we rented Jurassic Park, knowing it was filmed on the island of Kauai. Throughout the week (Sun-Thur) at 2pm they have free surfboarding lessons in the pool, which our 5 yr old did. The bay outside the resort, also is shallow enough to walk out and then there are canyons where there are a ton of fish. (The most fish was found snorkeling around other areas of the Island). My favorite activity was getting a coffee and fresh pastry and sitting on the bar deck overlooking the bay and watching the local surfers. At night seeing the moon over the ocean was also amazing to see it reflex. (We stayed a couple nights at the Marriot Kauai - also nice for kids, but you don't get the romance of the moon, the infinity pool, etc... They also have three hot tubs, one in the infinity pool, two on the outside and one 1/2 foot to 1-1/2 foot pool for even smaller toddlers. Also have a chest of sand toys for their beach. Even for couples that is a nice place to relax and oversee the ocean. The room have nice wide flat screen TV, with stereo and DVD. Would definitely stay there again. Beautiful place to stay and comfortable beds. Use the free wireless internet in the lobby, easy to get on to. Also we did the valet parking only a few dollars difference. Pool side restaurant good for kids meals, but only open until 5:30 pm or go in town to Bubba Hamburgers excellent food there too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArizonaAZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The St. Regis was the last of three hotels on our visit to the islands this year, our luxe ending to an amazing trip.

First let me start out by extolling the many virtues of this beautiful place:

Most importantly, St. Regis is situated in what has to be one of the most breathtaking spots in all of the islands. The beauty of Hanalei Bay is so wistfully exquisite it could bring tears to your eyes.

Our room was truly over the top and the last word in comfort: gorgeous upscale beach-y decor, with every bell and whistle you could think of in terms of amenities and entertainment. Huge flat screen television, individual cup coffee maker, ipod docking station, a selection of complimentary DVDs available, and a plush, blissful bed. Our room even had a 'lei' hook--a neat solution to the typical scenario of leis strewn over desks, chairs, etc. The tasteful marble bathroom too, was state of the art, and replete with Remedie toileties. Oh, and our view out to the ocean and mountains was glorious!

The rest of the hotel's interiors--corridors, lobby, and bar were elegantly done, trending towards formal, tempered by serene open spaces and views everywhere you looked--the expansive lobby had sweeping wraparound views of the mountains and ocean. Daily Hawaiiana activities looked inviting, and the one we sampled, introduction to surfing, was well run and a lot of fun.

The pool and beach vicinity was lush and beautifully landscaped with an eye towards integration with the tropical feel of the area--cleanly done, but harmoniously--not in an overly manicured, English garden kind of way. The huge, refreshing, free-form infinity pool and cozy jacuzzi were surrounded by rocks and flora. This whole area was so pleasing aesthetically and the views of Hanalei Bay so perfect, I wish we could have enjoyed more time relaxing here.

The open air Makena Terrace served up spectacular views and delicious, artfully presented, dishes at both the breakfasts and dinners we took.

The golf course, I'm told by my boyfriend, was world class, and boasted the most beautiful vistas he could ever have imagined--a truly one of a kind course.

The resort's magazine was informative, beautifully photographed, and entertaining. We got so much out of it that we brought it home with us!

Our chief concern was the service, which didn't seem cohesive from person to person at the resort. Everyone felt like they were doing a job in their own little universe, and it ran the gamut from overly formal to amateurish, and everywhere in between. Suffice it to say, it is not at the level of a Four Seasons. It could even learn a thing or two from The Royal Hawaiian, one of its sister properties in Waikiki.

Yet I'm inclined to think (hopefully) that they are still ironing out the wrinkles, having been re-opened for just about a year. I would have to be a complete grouch not to have appreciated this gorgeous hotel with its breathtaking property and many other charms. I would love to return. In my opinion, no other resort property on the island can hold a candle to the St. Regis Princeville.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaisieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

I've wanted to stay at this place the last year since it opened and we finally got our chance, we stayed in the presidential suite and oh my God unreal!

I wanted to move in, the service was great they made us a special Thanksgiving dinner that we ate on our balcony. The room was huge and the view was the best on the island. I will go back but I don't know how I could ever out do this trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourseasonslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2010

The St. Regis Princeville Resort reopened their doors in total grandure. The guestrooms are done beautifully, and service lives up to the St. Regis quality. We began our arrival with a warm hawaiian welcome and traditional hawaiian lei. We were then escorted through to the lobby of the hotel with the friendly staff familiarizing you with the hotel and then......that unobstructed view of beautiful Bali Hai. The front desk greets you by name and you sit sipping a delicious refreshment while you are being checked in. Full escort services to your room where the staff askd you if they can familiarize you with all the services of the guestroom. They make sure that you call the concierge for any services you may need. The restaurant including Kauai Grill by master chef Jean George has exquisite cuisine. The Spa is like gtaking a trip to Shangri-La. The entire staff of this beautiful resort if focused on one thing,,,,,,pleasing their customers.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trumpetman96744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

My husband and I spent 9 days at the St. Regis: three days to prepare
for our wedding and five days for our honeymoon. Needless to say, we
were both very excited about the trip and were looking forward to the
stay. However, things started to unravel upon our arrival with
mishaps from the valet to check-in to our luggage. There were also
confusions about what the hotel historian promised us and what was
actually delivered. Despite the downer of a starter, we tried to
shake off all the mishaps and focused on our wedding day -- but
unfortunately, the biggest snafu happened the day we got married:

We had planned to get married on the public beach next to the St.
Regis (as many couples do), and our officiant had a beach permit for
the ceremony. An hour before the ceremony, we went out to the beach
to take pictures with our photographer. But on our way to the beach,
the hotel's official wedding coordinator, Hector, loudly stopped us
and told us that we couldn't take pictures and that we certainly
couldn't perform the ceremony on the beach, which he said belonged to
the hotel. I told him that we were guests at the hotel, and to our
understanding, beach access up to high tide was public property. He
told me that I was incorrect and furthermore, I was trespassing. (!)
He continued to voice that we absolutely could not use the beach for
the ceremony.

He continued to bully us from using the beach, but my husband
reassured him that our officiant would arrive shortly with the permit
for the ceremony. My husband said that he didn't understand why we
couldn't take pictures in the meantime (afterall, all the beachgoers
were doing it.) After another sound-off, Hector let us take pictures
on the beach but warned us that he'd be back soon, lest we decide to
sneak in the ceremony.

About 15 minutes later, our officiant arrived with the beach permit.
He met with Hector privately, and afterwards, our officiant told us
that it wouldn't be a problem to hold the ceremony on the beach.
Thankfully, that was the last we saw of Hector that day. We did;
however, see Hector a couple of days after we got married. He greeted
us like we were old friends -- but never did he apologize for nearly
derailing our wedding.

Needless to say, the experience on my wedding day really turned me off
of the hotel. There are some good points about the hotel. For one,
the spa's hair stylist (I forget his name, but he's the lovely man
from SF by way of S. Africa) and Mari (the nail technician) were just
fantastic. They were both such good, down-to-earth folks who really
embodied the "Aloha" spirit. And of course, the views are just
amazing -- it's hard to get better ocean and mountain views than from
the St. Regis suites. But unfortunately, the views could not save the
hotel from itself, which is still suffering from a green staff,
half-hearted renovations, outdated furniture, stiff pillows, and surprisingly
un-luxurious rooms.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mangoriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MSgarbi, General Manager at St. Regis Princeville Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2010
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience with the St Regis Princeville during your visit in October.

First of all, I would like to congratulate you and your husband for your recent wedding and thank you for choosing the St Regis Princeville for that.

I apologize for the inconveniences you’ve encountered upon arrival and for the problems you had to access the area to celebrate your wedding.

Hector was at the area because he was coordinating another wedding with 100 people, who were using the location you had to access to go to the beach. The other wedding had requested exclusivity of the area and that’s what Hector was trying to guarantee. Unfortunately on his attempt to do that, he came across as bully. I apologize for that and I have spoken with Hector about this. He truly understands the situation and asked me to apologize on his behalf. He had no intention of causing such a harm.

On a side note, the best to way to avoid similar situations is to contact the Catering Department at the hotel to discuss the availability of the spaces. We would be pleased to help facilitating your cerimony.

Thank you for recognizing Rinaldo, our hair stylist, and Mari at our Halele’a Spa. It’s very kind of you and I will share your comments with them.

I hope that only the good memories of your wedding in this magnificent location will be kept for the future, and I sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again to the St Regis Princeville, maybe to celebrate your anniversary.

I wish you Happy Holidays!!

A Hui Hou! (until we meet Again!)

Milton Sgarbi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Regis Princeville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Regis Princeville Resort

Property: St. Regis Princeville Resort
Address: 5520 Kahaku Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — St. Regis Princeville Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful sites in the world, The St. Regis Princeville Resort is Hawaii’s address for life’s special moments. Elegantly appointed, the resort offers 251 spacious guest rooms including the exclusive Crown Suite Collection. Overlooking beautiful Hanalei Bay, the St. Regis Princeville provides bespoke service amid magnificent natural surroundings. Experience the pursuit of sport, culture and fine dining. For connoisseurs who desire the finest expressions in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Regis Princeville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Princeville Hotel Princeville
St. Regis Princeville Resort Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing