We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views are all it has going for it” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tower, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views are all it has going for it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

HBR is a large resort with great views depending on the unit. The one bedrooms and studios are close to the parking but do not have the best views. The two bedrooms are farther down the hill and most have nice views of the bay. We are owners at Alii Kai II resort which is about a mile away from HBR. Alii Kai has nice views but not of Hanalie Bay. It is a much smaller low density resort. Currently both are undergoing rennovations, which is why we stayed at HBR. The upgrades to Alii Kai put the upgrades at HBR to shame. Absolute top of the line everything vs rather mundane updates at HBR. My problem with HBR is it is too large. I like the lower density non-resort type feel of Alii Kai to that of HBR. But thast is personal. HBR is a nice resort if you like a larger resort with lots of people, nice grounds and views. My biggest problem with HBR is that we got nickled and dimed to death. $12 a day reort fee. What is that? $4 a day to rent a cooler. They are provided in every unit at Alii Kai. Lost key $15. It can't cost $3 to get one made. If you are down the hill you need to call and get a golf cart to take you to the parking lot or the beach, especially if you have any difficulty walking. My wife had just had ankle surgery so we had to take a cart everytime we went anywhere. It is not required but we felt we had to tip the drivers a couple dollars each time. Our charges for two weeks (not including driver tips) were over $300. At Alii Kai it is $32 a week. Thats it. While I truely enjoyed the views I do not plan on coming back to HBR, and look forward to Alii Kai in November with the totally redesigned and rennovated rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    401
    147
    98
    86
See reviews for
458
796
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Just returned from two great weeks at Hanalei Bay Resort. This is my seventh trip with my husband, and for us it is like coming home. We travel there every two years. Our unit is on the third floor of the first building, and yes, there was construction and some noise, but that is a good sound when you know the end result is something to look forward to. We count our cup 3/4 full and were not at all bothered by the sounds of improvements, including the restaurant and bar to come later this year. We expected our unit to still be awaiting the makeover, and were so very excited to see the new granite countertops and beautiful stainless appliances. The bathrooms are tastefully done with granite counter tops, wood cabinets, and attractivde tile work in the showers and tub areas. The grounds are a tropical garden beauty, including the pool and hot tub areas. Night lighting by tiki torches enhances the property. We have travelled a lot of places in the world and this is still our favorite. The north side may be a bit wetter, keeping the lush plants and flowers at their best. Hanalei Bay Resort is certainly a beautiful gem, better than the south side of the island. The staff are amazing at meeting your every needs, day or night.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view, either of the mountains, Hanalei bay, or Bali Hi and the beach area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

For 2 weeks we stepped into the magic of Hanalei Bay and were spoiled in the condo unit 4301/2/3 at the resort. Not a single convenience was missing, from a fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, ultra comfortable beds, and even an array of boogie boards and racquets.
Each morning we breakfasted on the lanai overlooking surfers catching one wave after another. We usually took in a game of a tennis on one of the many courts before taking the short 5 minute walk to the beach. A dip in the huge pool and hot tub preceded our nightly BBQ by the smaller pool.
Was it a perfect holiday for the 12 of us (6 adults, 6 children)? Yes!
Would we return? In a heartbeat!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Vania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi Vania P,
Thank you for your review. We're ecstatic to learn that your stay was nothing short of magical. It's great to know you found our accommodations extremely helpful and that you enjoyed having breakfast each morning while watching the surfers catch a few waves. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the future!
mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We recently spent a week at the resort and had mixed feelings about it. I should start out saying that we booked a privately owned unit through VRBO, and made our booking on fairly short timelines (so had to settle for what was available). We are not the "5 star hotel" type of family, so I don't believe our expectations are unrealistic.

What we liked... the grounds are beautiful, and pool was great. Very nice vegetation. Lots of birds. Location is great. Snorkeling at the beach (shared with St Regis) is nice. I also really feel like they are putting money into the resort and it will be great in a year or two.

What we didn't like... the place is currently a war zone! Construction from 9-5 every day except Sunday. We were in building #2, and it was very close to the restaurant construction (which apparently has been going on for about 3 years). Jack-hammers all day. Luckily we had planned to do a lot of activities off the resort during the day, as the noise was not tolerable. The construction was not limited to the restaurant... roofs being redone, pool area under construction, tiles being coated with sealant (not a pleasant smell). A number of units in building #2 also being renovated. Construction equipment operating all day. Oh... and they still charged a $12/day resort fee!

Another watch-out to be aware of... many of the units are located far from the parking lot. So there seemed to be noisy golf carts delivering luggage at all hours of the day and night.

So, for those looking to stay at this resort, i would strongly recommend a room away from the main building (where most of the loud construction is going on), or wait a year or two until it is complete. Especially those who want to stay on the resort and enjoy the peace-and-quiet of the pool. I would also not recommend renting a privately owned unit as they seem to be more run-down than some of the recently renovated time-shares.

Room Tip: As far away from the restaurant as possible... ask about where the construction / renovations are oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi Dzur,
Thank you for reviewing your experience. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience our accommodations may have caused you during your stay. The resort is looking forward to all the improvements being completed to bring back all of the resorts amenities , including the restaurant and Bar. All of our projects are to be completed in the near future, allowing the resort to make great vacations for all owners and guests. Should you wish to share any additional information with us, please feel free to forward your contact information to spacer@gpresorts.com. We hope to welcome you again in the future for a much more positive stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Beautiful place overlooking Hanalei Bay and the beautiful mountain range above. Newly remodeled condos and at least one of the pools was recently redone. Very friendly staff. Great location. My only negative comment would be they could use one or two more BBQ areas. With only two on the property sometimes it's a long walk to and from a BBQ. I am I timeshare owner in there and I love it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBR5380, General Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hi Mike N,
Thank you for your review. It's wonderful to know you found our location great and the views beautiful. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

The pluses:

- Location
- Privacy if you select unit carefully
- Spacious unit

The minuses:
- Cockroaches!
- Bathroom is dark and tired.
- Unit was smelly until we had the windows open a while.
- Construction - depending on location of the unit, you might hear a lot of jackhammering and other related notice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank St27Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloriakauaipacific, Manager at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate feedback from our guests so we can continue to provide them with the best service and best vacation experience possible.
910456 is one our most requested condos at the resort because of the beautiful, upgraded furnishings and the gorgeous Bali Hai view. During the winter months, Princeville is lush and green and warm, and a nice change from what most folks on the mainland are experiencing. Unfortunately, Kauai received some very heavy rain before and during your stay which causes our bugs to come running to higher and dryer ground. The condo has been treated and our weather is gorgeous so the unwanted guests have moved out, hopefully never to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

In our opinion this is the best view on the island except the St. Regis Hotel. The bonus here is that one has a full kitchen and lanais on which to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner that is not available in a hotel. The remodel of the rooms is beautiful with stainless steel appliances, new tiled bathrooms, granite counter tops, etc. More is on the schedule to make this a top notch place to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view, but all floor have a view of the mountains - many units also view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jansuzanne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and seekda GmbH so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing