We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst stay ever! Unit 7308” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
montreal, canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worst stay ever! Unit 7308”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have travelled in over 25 countries in the world and have slept mostly in youth hostels and b&bs. This is THE MOST EXPENSIVE room we have ever paid for, and it is the in the 3 dirtiest places we have ever stayed at (in comparison, we have paid 20$ a night for the other 2 places, compared to the the 125$ a night paid for this place)

We at least expected this place to be cleaner than youth hostels (that we've paid about 10% of the the total amount paid for this place). The room had a moldy smell, with a small fridge that smelled like something was rotting in it. There was dust everywhere, we were scared to walk bare feet on the floor. One night I got up to go to the bathroom and walked on a cockroach's leg. We had a race around the room to trap and kill it. DISGUTING! When we advised reception about this, they said they would fix the problem. What they have done is used the spray bottle found in the cupboard of the room and sprayed.
The other big problem for us was that we had a unit that had a communicating door with the unit next door. We felt like we were sharing the room with the family next door and could hear their crying babies all day and night long. The worst soundproof ever!
When paying this much money, we expected to have at least a little privacy, but could hear everything next door and could not relax, meaning that they could also hear everything going on on our side. There are no bars or restaurants close by, so you absolutely need a car to go to a restaurant, meaning you can't enjoy a few cocktails while dining.(and driving)
This was the worst place we have stayed, and feel like we have been robed of our hard earned money. We would have been better off sleeping in a tent on a camping ground.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alias44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    401
    147
    98
    86
See reviews for
458
798
51
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islander in Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Lovely location ...just too much construction going on...no way for a peaceful relaxing time.
We were told that the restaurant would re-open in spring 2014...they will be lucky to open in spring 2020 at the rate they are going! It is a bit of a drag to have to drive out for dinner every night.
That said Kauai is a beautiful island, just find your own peaceful spot and relax.

Room Tip: you need to be far away from the pool and centre of the resort to avoid the noise of construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ex1066er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent a delightful week at HBR. The view of "Bali Hai" from our unit was stunning. It will be nice when the bar, restaurant, and front office are re-opened. The walk down to the beach was very nice, and the beach chair rentals were first-rate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi32411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed march 22-29 in condo 5202. Fantastic views from ex lg Lanai,well appointed condo,washer/dryer,full size fridge,coolers,beach chairs. Very nice/clean gas grills by pool. One of the nicest pools I've seen with waterfall & hot tub. Great beach with easy access for snorkeling. Hanalei Bay staff was excellent,you can catch a golf cart ride to & from beach anytime. If you have a car drive north about 8 miles to end of the road and spend 1/2 day at Ke'e beach,very Nice!! Great restaurant in Town of Hanalei (about 15 min drive) Dolphin Restaurant, Fresh fish is their speciality and it was marvelous! Also don't miss Kilauea Light House a short drive south,wonderful views from point & next to light house is another great beach " Anini Beach" great for swimming very safe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bulldog64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodruff, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have stayed at Hanalei Bay many times in the past 14 years we have seen the good and the bad, the resort, now being owned by the owners themselves seem to be going in the right direction. The room remodels are a very big improvement, add that to grounds that have always been perfectly maintained and a view that we have not found on any of the other islands. Once the restaurant and lounge open they will be hard to match anywhere else. The staff, many of whom have been there for 15 years or more are friendly and helpful and give you the feeling of family after a few stays. Kauai is the garden island and Hanalei Bay shows you why.

Room Tip: Hanalei Bay resort consists of many individual units all with 3 floors, we prefer the top floor for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We enjoyed our first visit as owners. The views are very beautiful and the grounds are very well kept. The rooms are in the process of being renovated and we were in a newly renovated one which was very nice! We did have an issue with the room which caused us to move to another renovated unit on the third day and although it was a hassle to move we give credit to Jim, the manager for understanding and offering compensation for our few days of troubles. We enjoyed the pool/hot tub area and the beach has great snorkeling and a backdrop that makes you just want to sit on the beach and gaze. There is a hill to the beach but they have a golf cart that will bring you to and from it. We are happy with our purchase and look forward to the restaurant and lounge being completed next year when we have our children along to experience the beauty of North Kauai!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWMF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

HBR is an exceptional resort because it is located in paradise. The resort itself is very nice and is in the process of being significantly upgraded but the really fabulous part of the this place is where it is located in the middle to Kauai's north shore with a fabulous view of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hi. The staff are helpful and committed and all have long term relationships with the resort. We highly recommend this resort to anyone who loves the outdoors, a true tropical environment and a relaxing stay. You cannot find a better place in the Hawaiian islands.

Room Tip: All the room are great but the ones with a view of Hanalei Bay are extra special....
See more room tips
Green Features: Very good environmental practices but you should also know that the resort and its staff are very involved in contributing to their local community, you can feel really good about staying here...
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JVFKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Property: Hanalei Bay Resort
Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, seekda GmbH and Agoda so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing