We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ourstanding”
Review of Hanalei Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanalei Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 May 2014

What a magnificent place in the middle of paradise! The gardens are so beautiful and they attract a huge range of birds. Of course there are always the hens and roosters coming to visit and we were lucky enough to see all the new babies. The spa and pool make you feel like you are in the jungle. Such a relaxing place. But there is also lots to do. Several tennis courts as well as easy access to the beach with the option of being picked up by a cart to climb the hill if you have worn yourself out swimming, surfing, canoeing, etc. etc. Your choice.

The rooms are comfortable and currently undergoing renovation. It will be even better when completed. The design for the new entry area and restaurant is spectacular. Views in every direction. What an outstanding place to spend a week or two.

Room Tip: There are rooms with wonderful views over the bay, but we enjoyed our garden room close to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We arrived at the HBR under misty skies, which made our first sight of the Bay and surrounding mountains look like a magical scene out of a fairy tale. The views were even more astonishing when the skies cleared.
HBR has everything you could want to spend quite a while here.We were only here a few nights but all agreed we would have liked to spend the week in this setting.....
The unit we stayed in was huge and very well kept. Service was excellent. Ryan was so helpful with his golf cart when ever we need a lift to the beach, or even just the pool.
The beach is the same one used by the Princeville Resort. It's very lovely.
The entire resort was beautifully kept. It is a very fine place to stay on the North Shore.

Room Tip: Ask for a condo on a high floor facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistyblue528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family of 5 (3 children 10, 10 and 7) just spent a week in April 2014 at Hanalei Bay Resort in Kauai. The view of the bay and Bali Hei are spectacular and the grounds of Hanalei Bay Resort are lovely and well kept, however Hanalie Bay Resort is going through MANY renovations and rebuilding at the same time, taking away from the "resort" experience.

We knew in advance that the restaurant would be closed, however we we were not prepared for the entire resort to be under construction. The what looked like a lovely lobby with waterfalls was closed and under construction and there was an UNIMPRESSIVE "temporary" lobby in a condo unit. When I asked about the lobby and restaurant, the staffed seemed uncomfortable in answering, as apparently it has been "under construction" for 5 years. The pool "bar" was gone and under construction. We could see there once was a pool bar, as the stools are still in the pool. There was no where within walking distance to get a drink or bite to eat at this "resort" - except your own kitchen. The pool bathrooms were gone and under construction - instead there were 2 brightly colored plastic port-o-pots for the pool and tennis courts to share. Gross. The fitness center was closed, too.
• The property is large and VERY hilly.There was only ONE person driving a golf cart for the entire guest population at Hanalei Bay Resort, meaning there was a 8-25 minute wait to get anywhere (beach, to your parked car, etc) - which meant that we walked 9 out of 10 times because we couldn't wait for the Golf Cart.
• The paved beach path down the hill has NO LIGHTS AT ALL on it - completely dangerously PITCH BLACK up the STEEP hill, through the jungle trees after the sun sets. We watched the sun set on "our" beach next to the St. Regis and had a hard time even finding the path to get back up the hill or to wait for the golf cart. The golf cart stop at the beach doesn't not even have a light - not even a candle , solar light, or tiki torch. A "resort" needs to have some safety lighting on their beach path.
• The main pool is lovely. However, it is dangerously dark for children (or anyone) in the evening, with just a few VERY LOW wattage lights in the water and nothing on the surrounding deck. There are 2 tiki torch lights by the hot tub, but none near the pool.
• There is a lovely lawn seating area on the bluff where guests gather to watch the sun set. Looks like they started to build a fire pit, but that isn't completed or functional yet, either.

This place has the potential to be an AMAZING RESORT - just hard to categorize it as a resort right now, as it does NOT have resort amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lukenriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband, our kids aged 15 and 12 and myself stayed for six nights in Units 4221/2 last week. We are from a coastal part of Western Australia and are used to gorgeous ocean views and sunsets, however we were blown away by what we saw from our balcony on arriving at the unit. It was the most beautiful view I've experienced and could not get enough of it. We also loved all the little birds and chooks (Aussie for chickens) running around on the ground below. The unit was beautifully presented but not precious and we all felt quite at home in it. The kitchen has all new appliances and is well equipped. Beds are very comfortable. The unit is perfect for a family with teenage kids..they used the snorkelling equipment, boards etc and appreciated the wifi and dvd's! Unfortunately I injured my foot while on holidays, however the resort offers door to beach pick up service in a golf cart so I could easily get to the gorgeous little beach every day. We loved the Hanalei Bay area..some lovely restaurants and shops (but not too many), gorgeous beaches, and scenery. My son who is a keen surfer found some very good waves in Hanalei Bay. We also went horseriding at Silverleaf ranch and took a helicopter ride from Princeville airport (just 5 mins away)...the scenery was spectacular. We enjoyed a lot of time at the pool which is gorgeous. I would love to come back and stay when the bar/restaurant is opened and other facilities finished which are being worked on at the moment. Thanks also to Joan the owner of the unit who was extremely helpful when we initially booked right through to the end of our stay. A truly amazing holiday and I hope we will be back!

Room Tip: Would highly recommend Units 4221/2 for families travelling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jebett, Owner at Hanalei Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

How blessed am I to have such wonderful visitors from all over the world enjoy my island home and love it as much as I do. Thank you so very much for your kind words and letting others know you had a wonderful stay at Hanalei Bay Resort and the North Shore of Kauai. I will keep you updated on the opening of all the new facilities like the lobby, fitness center, gift shop and of course the much anticipated reopening of the bar and restaurant.
Hurry back. Bali Hai is calling.
Joan
owner 4221-2

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great location in Princeville and easy access to beaches and Hanalei Bay area. Our condo was perfect and we had a great view of the bay itself. The facilities were under construction but that did not matter as very thing we needed was still accessible. We would defiantly stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We spent a week in unit #6302 in the beginning of April 2014. The unit is a little dated, but overall it was very clean and more than adequate for our visit. There were a few areas that could do with a little TLC but not a problem. Kitchen was very well equipped with mostly newish appliances. The view is exceptionally good of Hanalei Bay and mountains. The lanai was a fantastic place to sit and watch the sun set! I have read the reviews about the pool being fantastic. It's ok, not great, but again, is more than adequate. It would be nice if the pool area had a bar/snack area etc. Hopefully when the renovations are done, they will provide this. I'm sure they would do great business! Would love to return when the restaurant is completed! Were were told by locals that it was a great place for dinner/cocktails.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxandhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We first came here 25 years ago & fell in love with the location, gardens, & pool. We also liked the affordability. Since then time has taken its toll. But I am pleased to say many of the rooms have been updated beautifully. The lobby will be back on line in June & they hope the Bali Hi restaurant will open in August. This trip we stayed in 3303 with a spectacular view of the bay. You will want the Guava building if you can get it for this view. The pool is still magnificent & the gardens only look better. Stays are still a bargain because of the renovations but a booking in August or later may still be a steal.

Room Tip: Any of the Guava building units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KahunaVentura_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanalei Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanalei Bay Resort

Address: 5380 Honoiki Road, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Princeville
Price Range: £199 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hanalei Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha Guests, Mahalo for choosing Hanalei Bay Resort. We’re delighted to have you as our guests! Lush, relaxing, and as comfortable as your own home, our Princeville accommodations offer all the perks of a vacation rental along with award-winning service from our friendly staff. Located on Kauai’s North Shore, Hanalei Bay Resort captures the island’s beauty inside and out. A Daily Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Please note repairs to a select group of lanais will be taking place January 5, 2018 through April 27, 2018. You may notice a minimal amount of noise between 9:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. Monday – Friday. Every effort will be taken to reduce the sound as much as possible and respond to any concern. Once again, mahalo for your understanding and cooperation during this emergency repair work. Warmest Regards, Resort Management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hanalei Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanalei Bay Hotel Princeville
Hanalei Bay Princeville
Hanalei Bay Resort Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing