We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice peaceful week”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Makai Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makai Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Princeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Surrey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice peaceful week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Makai Club in Princeville. The resort is of 4 Wyndam properties that are all linked with either a short walk or drive. The Makai Club is the smallest of the 4 properties. The staff were very friendly and allowed us to check in early which was a real bonus as we had been travelling for a number of hours. The condo we had was a 1 bedroom property which was large enough for 2 people. The bedroom is very big with plenty of storage space. In the bathroom you have a washer dryer with detergent provided. The livingroom/kitchen had a flat screen TV, large sofa and a dining table large enough for 4 people to sit around. The kitchen area is large and has all the appliances that you would have in your kitchen at home. The resort itself does has a pool area which is quiet small if you have a large family. The other resorts do have larger pools if required. The resort is a pleasant walk from both the ocean and the shopping/restaurant area in Princeville. When you check in you are given a key card for the foodland supermarket which will allow you to get a discount on most items.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
13 Thank B_A_Traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    69
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
89
134
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We just came from staying at a timeshare in Waikoloa on the Big Island and finished our time here at the Makai Club cottages. This is our first time staying in them since the renovation, and we were pleasantly surprised. The fact that they are stand-alone meant no worries about when we can run the disposal or washing machine for fear of disturbing others. It was so spacious and comfortable, plenty of room for us to spread out and make ourselves at home. A full size deck with furniture off the back was so much nicer than the tiny balcony lanai we had at the other place. Our unit was very clean, and we just loved the big flat screen TVs.

Granted, it is not a place to stay if you want a grand view, but we have been coming to Kauai for a number of years and we know what the ocean looks like. The peace and tranquility for us outweighs a view of the ocean. Full size washer and dryer, cooler for picnicking, dual shower in the master bath, patio table out on the back deck for morning coffee, walking distance to the ocean and beautiful views,...all of these details added up to make the Makai Cottages a highlight of our Hawaii trip this year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We were here 3 years ago and this place was ok at best. For a family with 3 small kids, having your own stand alone cottage is nice (less noise for others).

With the major renovation the rooms are actually quite nice. Granite countertops, tile showers, new furniture and decor, new appliances, everything. There are 42 inch flat screens in each of the 2 bedrooms and a 60 inch flat screen in the living room with blue ray disc player....very different then 3 years ago.

The cons in my opinion are:
- No direct beach access (but that is true of all places in Princeville as its on a cliff)
- No ocean view - in fact at best you have a view of the Makai Golf Course greens (not bad, but not theist glamorous view). At worse you see other cottages, maintenance building, or roads.
- Most boring swimming pool of all the Wyndham resorts on Princeville.
- Sound carries extremely well throughout the cottages for some reason.
- No doors on the toilet rooms in the bathroom - problem if you have a 1-year old always running around.

Pros:
- Classy, clean, renovated place to stay with LOTS of room (cottages at least - haven't stayed in other rooms).
- the pool is boring, but you have pool access to all 4 Wyndham resorts in Princeville when you stay here. Our kids like the Bali Hai and the Ka'Eo' Kai pools the best. The other one is the Shearwater which has an amazing view, but not as kid-friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank drhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We got unit 301 of Wyndham Makai Club Cottages. In Princeville, it's an okay location but no views, either Bali Hai or water.

Huge place but the windows are just screen and wood louvers. No sound proofing. Very noisy if you have neighbors (kids), cars in the morning. As we were from the east coast, we were up early anyway.

Fine location for getting out around the north shore. Kauai is a daytime location anyway.

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if you can get rooms farthest from the road. Cars will wake you up at 6:00 AM. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoyoteHowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vashon, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Our unit was a modest one-bedroom condo, but the recent renovation to the complex we were in helped make our stay most enjoyable. Upon our arrival, the staff greeted us warmly and continued to make our stay very pleasant. I had asked about certain island activities on Kauai, and the staff made every attempt to help me find them. The unit was spacious, clean, and well-appointed. We slept very well, even with the free-roaming roosters crowing at the break of dawn. There was a swimming pool fairly close to our unit and a great hot tub with hot water, not the tepid kind found in a lot of places. We used the hot tub more than we ever have in other resort areas. We walked to several places from our unit, including to the St. Regis Hotel Bar.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IloveParis40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I'll start out by saying that I'm a time share week owner here, but we bought the ownership having visited the resort first, so we really mean it.

Makai Club has multi-story condos and houses. We only stay in the 2-bedroom, 2-bath houses overlooking the Makai golf club. These are recently refurbished and very nice, especially compared to a hotel room, no matter how upscale. The two bedrooms and two bathooms are both large and comfortable, not like a "master" and "mini" area. There is a large modern kitchen and braqnd-new laundry facilities. A shopping center is five minutes' drive away, so stocking the kitchen is easy. Good restaurants are nearby for eating out.

The one thing that might inhibit some people is that there is no heating or air conditioning. Since the temperature in Princeville tends to be between 71 degrees and 75 degrees year-round, the main issue can be too much humidity, which is mitigated by a pretty steady breeze.

Room Tip: Choose the cottages, not the multi-story condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ecblisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Me: Current Wyndham Owner

Pros: Spacious, clean, some newer amenities, has all the amenities a timeshare condo needs inside the unit. Housekeeping staff helpful. Wi-Fi Internet also great.

Cons: 1) Older unit, minor odor/musty smell upon arrival from the moist/warm climate (after opening the wood shade window air vents, this seem to improve). 2) Hounded by the timeshare/parking pass lady for three days (several messages, hand messages on door, etc.) to attend the timeshare presentation/free breakfast. One needs to be direct when picking up the erroneous parking pass and upon arrival to the parking pass greeter, treat these folks like a dog ; "NO!" "Parking Pass Lady,Presentation, NO!". Parking Pass YES. Good girl."

Good to know: 1) Crash the timeshare presentation by the pool ---- If you're a younger owner like I am (in my late twenties but told I look like I am 18 at times), you can visit the 'free breakfast' by the pool where the suckers who are roped in for the timeshare presentations are stuck at. Eat, drink, and take some items back to your room! The sales folks, whom in my experience are more concern about grabbing a slice of a retiree's savings account, thought I was someone's kid/grandchild attending with them. 2) If it's your first visit, be prepared for the higher grocery prices at the local store with exception of the local Hawaiian fruits The Redbox movie counter was still $1 :-) . 3) Roosters! No need to bring an alarm clock; roosters will wake you up! Kauai is infested with them.

Overall, a great place to stay aside from the minor nuisances associated with Wyndham ownership ---- dealing with staff that are trying to sell you 1)more points that you don't need at full retail value, 2) attend high-pressure presentations, 3) encouraging you to buy local trip packages through them so that they can make generous commissions, etc.).

.

Room Tip: Most rooms have decks. Unfortunately, the tropical vegetation and trees have grown to a point where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank southpugetsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
1.2 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Club

Property: Makai Club
Address: 4180 Lei O Papa Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5111 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Makai Club 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makai Club Resort is the perfect setting for both a cozy romantic getaway or a relaxing golf vacation. Located on a beautiful tropical hillside, alongside the championship Makai Golf Course, the Makai Club is truly the perfect place to begin your Hawaiian island adventure.Nicknamed the “Garden Isle,” Kauai is often said to be the most beautiful Hawaiian Island. There is certainly something to be said about Kauai’s North Shore, which is home to incredible sunsets, rich tropical foliage, and the breathtaking expanse of the Pacific Ocean stretching out to the horizon. The Makai Club resort welcomes you to experience with us the natural beauty and adventure that we have enjoyed for so long on the island of Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makai Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Makai Club Hotel Princeville
Makai Club Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing