We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff; no soundproofing between units”
Review of Makai Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Makai Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Princeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great staff; no soundproofing between units”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The staff was lovely and helpful in every respect but this property has porous walls. The tiny elephant herd above us was us at 4-5 am every morning, stomping around and waking us up. I am typing this review in the early am because they were at it again this morning. Between the randy roosters crowing all day and most of the night and the ellies upstairs, it was hard to get enough sleep = no vacation. Plus, this lovely couple upstairs is now YELLING at each other right now. The staff asked them to be courteous and walk softly but that apparently has had the opposite effect. If you are going to stay here, get a top floor unit.

Room Tip: Upstairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Kim K,

We apologize that we were not able to get the situation resolved with the guests above you. We certainly do our best to ensure all guests are happy...and quiet! We appreciate your valuable feedback and will work harder to ensure this does not happen with other guests. Because of your comments, we are reminding guests of our quiet time after 10pm, and if the situation does not get better, we are utilizing our security team to resolve the issue. We have found this has helped immensely, and resolved noise issues immediately. We hope that you will give us another chance and come back to Makai. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure that you will have a quiet and wonderful vacation!

Mahalo,
Julie Daronco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    75
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
103
143
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What can I say except that we loved our stay here. Great views of the mountains with ocean waves in the morning being heard on our deck. Are cottage was just like walking into home, so relaxing.Everything you need. Fast friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Wayne K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Makai Club. We hope to see you back on the island soon, and will save another cottage to watch the mountains and the waterfalls!

Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We recently spent a week at the Makai Club. The unit was nicely appointed and was a great base for island exploration for destinations north and southeast on Kauai. Each day we day tripped exploring different quadrants of the island. The highlight of our week was an all day boat trip to the Na Pali coast recommended by Susie, their concierge. She was aware of an incoming weather pattern that would have made access difficult later in the week. She found us the last two seats with Blue Dolphin Charters before the storm came in and encouraged us to do the trip. We not only experienced the beautiful coast, the weather cooperated and we made it to Niihau to take in a scuba dive, a place that is hard to reach in summer let alone in January. Thanks Susie for the amazing memory.

Enjoy an are morning or sunset walk to the beach via a public beach path next to the St. Regis and come back via the old Club Met property back to the Makai Club.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrison_Innkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Harrison_Innkeeper,

We appreicate your complete review and the tip on the path through the Old Club Med property. And I will pass on the message to Susie. The Na Pali Coast is a special and wonderful place that should always be part of someone's trip to the Garden Island!
We hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just got back from Princeville today. I feel like a week of hard earned vacation and a lot of money was wasted staying at the Wyndham. I wish I had not joined RCI and will quit as soon as my foolishly deposited weeks have gone by. I could have stayed at the beautiful Marriott in Kauai, which I did last year, for less money when you add up all the fees, and had an ocean front room at a first rate hotel.

Room Tip: stay at a town closer to the airport....better beaches and lots of restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Makai Club Resort, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Aloha Cindy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. Please be advised ocean view units must be requested prior to your reservation check-in date and often times require more points when confirming the reservation. We strive to provide a home away from home to all our guests with satisfactory facilities and accommodations. Again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, BC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed recently at the Makai Club Cottages in Princevile, Kauai, & loved our accommodations in the quiet of a small wooded valley area. Adjacent to the Makai Golf Course, about a dozen cottages are all stand-alone, well-equipped, & very roomy, with a rear deck overlooking the valley. Our two-bedroom, two full bathroom cottage was very roomy, clean, with a full kitchen for cooking, if needed. A private pool & hot-tub were on the property for cottage guests only, with beach equipment available to guests.
There were no signs of any 'pests' as noted in other reports, so the problem has apparently been rectified.
It is a resort we would definitely recommend, and likewise return to of going back to Princeville,

Room Tip: Select the area for your vacation, select a trust-worthy site to review the choices of accommodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Robert P,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Makai Club. We were glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and you were not visited by "pests'. The Makai Club recent went through a large management change in October. We have been working consistently to ensure our guests do not have pests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I booked this through an RCI exchange and spent the week of 11 Oct-18 Oct, 2013 at the Makai club. Wyndham vacations called us about three weeks ahead and asked if we had any questions ref directions, rental cars etc. At that time I requested a top floor unit, based on what I've read here, and we were delighted to find out that's what we were given upon check-in. We avoided the parking pass, activity/timeshare desk by saying we wanted to get unpacked and freshen up first. We never did make it back and didn't have a parking pass the entire time which never became an issue.
The unit was a very comfortable one bedroom, clean and well appointed. It had everything we needed to cook all our meals except for a frying pan. We loved the high quality blender and made fresh fruit smoothies almost every morning. Very nice BBQs at the pool area that we used twice. Loved having a washer/dryer and they provided enough soap for us to do a number of loads. The televisions were very nice, flat screen models and the air conditioning was a welcome relief in the afternoons. We were quite surprised how dark it got a night and how vocal the roosters were, at all hours.
This resort is perfectly situated to explore the north coast of Kauai and the Princeville area. We went to Lihue a couple of times and the traffic can get a bit heavy through Kappa with some construction in a few places. We walked all over Princeville and after a few glasses of wine wandered into the Saint Regis to see how the other half lives. It is stunning but way outside our price range. All in all the Makai Club is a great place to stay and experience one of the most beautiful neighborhoods in the world. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter and further away from roosters
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deafdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Deafdog,

We appreciate you taking the time to write such a complete and wonderful write up on our review of our resort. We want you to be aware of one big change at our resort. We recently went through a management change and we no longer have a sales team, so there is no need to avoid the activity desk! We have a full time concierge team who is here to ensure our guests have access to all the fun things to do in Kauai. There are no timeshare sales, or tours at the Makai Club. Please come back to see us soon!

Mahalo Nui Loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I read many reviews after booking through RCI and had thoughts of worrying, but this was just going to be a place to stay while we ventured out on the north shore.

the best review input I had was to ask for an upper level condo, the next was to ask for #704. We got this particular unit after I made the call 3.5 weeks earlier (even they say not to call until 2 weeks prior) This unit overlooks the mountains, a jungle forest below and to the west for bits of the sunrise which we love. There is AC in both livingroom and bedroom, the maintenance came up promptly when we had an issue with the DVD player and the AC (the fan-only got turned on by accident), the kitchen allowed us to cook all dinners at home from local purchases from costco, farmer's market and fish market and the breeze is lovely with all the doors and windows open. We have not had an issue with bugs- not even mosquitoes which may be due to the height or location of the unit. It is moist this time of year so I expected much more.

the kitchen is small but fully functional with a gas stove; some of the furniture looks dated but not anything to complain about, the bed and pillows are very comfy and while the shower is low volume, it is spacious. We have a pool at home so that was not a draw with the ocean 5 min away in Hanalei, but if that was important to you this is NOT your place. It is smaller than our backyard pool.

we were able to check out DVDs from a sister resort for free- but found the choices better at the red box at food land and at the big save in Hanalei for $1.20/night

If this unit is not available (which the gal at the front said was the most popularly requested), units 609 and 710 look like they would have nice views also- but that is only my perspective from the outside looking up. They will not guarantee any place over the phone but I was pleased they had my request and over the top happy when it was filled.

This is so close to Hanalei, Foodland in Princeville Center and in the middle of the north shore that it is a perfect location- for us anyway. No complaints.

Room Tip: If this unit is not available (which the gal at the front said was the most popularly requested...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retrieverlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
1.2 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,308 reviews
23.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,771 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Club Resort

Property: Makai Club Resort
Address: 4180 Lei O Papa Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5111 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makai Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makai Club Resort is the perfect setting for both a cozy romantic getaway or a relaxing golf vacation. Located on a beautiful tropical hillside, alongside the championship Makai Golf Course, the Makai Club Resort is truly the perfect place to begin your Hawaiian island adventure. Nicknamed the “Garden Isle,” Kauai is often said to be the most beautiful Hawaiian Island. There is certainly something to be said about Kauai’s North Shore, which is home to incredible sunsets, rich tropical foliage, and the breathtaking expanse of the Pacific Ocean stretching out to the horizon. The Makai Club Resort welcomes you to experience with us the natural beauty and adventure that we have enjoyed for so long on the island of Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Makai Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Makai Club Hotel Princeville
Makai Club Resort Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing