We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT STAY!”
Review of Makai Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Makai Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Princeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Wow! This place was great! We stayed here for our honeymoon this past April, and are eager to go back! We loved the style of the rooms, we had very large space to stay, cook, hang out, and even had a back deck to eat out on. The ceilings are high, and we never needed AC because there are many windows for a cross breeze. It's a very quiet resort, perfect to relax, and right next to all the best beaches and attractions. Everything is conveniently located in this general area. The staff was wonderful, check in and out was a breeze. They even helped us book a few tours and attractions on the island, which were great. A+

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Leigha F,
Thank you for choosing the Makai Club for your honeymoon! We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and your stay was everything you wanted it to be. We will be ready to welcome you back on your anniversary, or any occassion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just spent a week at Makai Club. Room was clean and very comfortable, pool and Jacuzzi were small but both clean and well maintained. BBQs at the pool area in great condition and clean and equipped with tongs, spatulas, & brushes. The staff was very warm, helpful and friendly and we felt they genuinely cared and took pride in providing great service. Only downside was our unit # 910 had a bit of road noise during the day (gated at night).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conrad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Conrad P,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Makai Club! We do our best to ensure each experience is the best that it can be. We hope that we will see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

had a great visit, liked Hattie's intro and help, Al's welcome late at night, very clean and quiet, modern, great location …… couldn't be better. Nice one bedroom unit. very very good………………………………………….

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brushpile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi brushpile,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and we're glad you loved our location. We hope to welcome you back to Hawaii again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The day we arrived at the Makai Club, we were exhausted after traveling 5373 miles. We were greeted in the office by very friendly smiling faces and an "Aloha". Check in was a breeze, and seeing how tired we were they got us off to our condo in no time at all,

The next morning they had an informative meeting at the pool. I was a little nervous after being at some places that try to force timeshare sales on you while you're on vacation. That didn't happen.
Instead, a group of us were met by smiling faces (staff & guests) who provided information on activities on the Island. They had different guests from some of the activities on hand. Again, no pressure at all. We decided to do some of the activities and all we had to to was tell the Makai Club staff which ones we wanted to do, and they set everything up for us. Flawless.

Throughout the stay the staff was there if you needed something, and left you alone to enjoy your vacation if you didn't. An amazing stay...MAHALO Makai Club Staff!

Room Tip: Not really sure for helpful hints in choosing a good room. We were on the 2nd floor, had a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Todd_Linda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi Todd_Linda2014,
Thank you for reviewing Makai Club Cottages. We're thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our little meeting letting all of our guests know what is happening around the resort and the island throughout the week. We hope you had a great time exploring and we look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you're visiting Hawaii!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you are looking for perfectly located condo in Princeville for a reasonable price this is your place. Lovely garden views and a wonderful staff. The true feeling of aloha permeates all the employees. Loved staying there and will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi Beth H,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're thrilled you enjoyed our location, the garden views and our wonderful staff. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I took this opportunity for a week away to celebrate our 35th anniversary. We enjoyed the clean, quiet, comfortable accommodations and grounds very much (unit 710). The unit was well maintained and had good appliances, etc. We appreciated that it was a very private setting since our condo patio faced to the wooded area which we gave us quiet nature as well as friendly birds to enjoy. Although quiet and private we were very close to activities and had no problem driving to activities, shopping and resources nearby. We would welcome the opportunity to return to the Makai Club anytime!

Room Tip: It was nice to have a room that looked out to a private, wooded view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank SmilingTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi SmilingTraveler2014,
Congratulations on celebrating your 35th anniversary! We're honored you chose Makai Club Cottages to celebrate. It's wonderful to know that you both found our accommodations comfortable and our location great for shopping and activities. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed for three days last week, our main objective was to enjoy the island and also to hike the Kalaulau trail. We were prevented from hiking by the rain the first two days, and we thought it would be impossible to do it on the third day as we were checking out. Talking with the women (can't remember names, sorry) at the desk, they helped arrange a scenario where we could get a hospitality shower after our hike and quite frankly went out of their way to help us work through an item on our bucket list. Without their kindness we could not have done it.

The property is not the Ritz, but our condo was perfectly adequate, has a great location, I would heartily recommend this property to anyone. We would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We had a top floor, it was very nice. We did not experience the restaurant or the fitness center, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lakeshark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi Lakeshark2,
Thank you for reviewing Makai Club Cottages. We're thrilled you enjoyed your three day visit and found our staff very helpful. We're glad you were able to take a hike during your stay! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
1.2 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
23.3 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,811 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Club Resort

Address: 4180 Lei O Papa Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5111 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Princeville
Price Range: £159 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Makai Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makai Club Resort is the perfect setting for both a cozy romantic getaway or a relaxing golf vacation. Located on a beautiful tropical hillside, alongside the championship Makai Golf Course, the Makai Club Resort is truly the perfect place to begin your Hawaiian island adventure. Nicknamed the “Garden Isle,” Kauai is often said to be the most beautiful Hawaiian Island. There is certainly something to be said about Kauai’s North Shore, which is home to incredible sunsets, rich tropical foliage, and the breathtaking expanse of the Pacific Ocean stretching out to the horizon. Please note a Daily Resort Fee of $15 plus tax will be collect at time of booking. The Makai Club Resort welcomes you to experience with us the natural beauty and adventure that we have enjoyed for so long on the island of Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Makai Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Makai Club Hotel Princeville
Makai Club Resort Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing