We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected”
Review of Makai Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Makai Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Princeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I got this 2 bdrm, sleeps 6, property through my timeshare with Westgate Resorts for $199! We stayed 20-27 Jul 2014. What a great deal! First time on Kauai and enjoyed it. Flew my mom, sister and nephew from Oahu and my daughter & I joined from Cincinnati. Recommend ariving at Lihue Airport during the day. We arrived at 10 pm and Makai Club Resort is a 45 min drive. If you can get a resort closer to the airport, I'd recommend it. There are a ton of resorts as you leave the airport but trying to find Makai Club at night was hard because the further you drove, the less street lights there were, especially as you arrived into Princeville, the city the resort is located. Luckily, I rented a car with a navigation system (as my phone's mapquest wasn't working properly) and it took it us straight to the Makai Resort, where a gentleman was waiting for us to check in. The parking lot at the Makai Resort was not lit so the gentleman had to shine his flashlight on our cottage so we knew which one it was. It was pitch dark. Upon entering the cottage, which appeared small on the outside, it was quite roomy & comfortable inside. Two bedrooms with separate changing areas & bathrooms, extra pillows, flat screen TVs in each room (bedrooms and living room), full kitchen with microwave coffee pot (with 2 coffee starter packs of Kauai coffee (decaf, for some reason), blender, cookware, dishes, silverware, dish soap, etc.; separate washer/dryer with one detergent packet (.50 for extra packet). Dining area, balcony outside each room, to include living room (that had covered table/chairs for outside dining). There was an orientation the next day, that provided briefings on the different activities available on Kauai, each from a local company rep. A guest drawing allowed 5 families to win something. We won a buy one, get one free helicopter ride along the coast of Kauai, to places where you cannot get to by foot. Because I had my elderly mother with us, who wouldn't ride a helicopter, we exchanged our helicopter ride with another family, for the boat ride (again, buy one, get one free). My mom didn't want to leave land, so we didn't use the boat ride incentive, after all. Another evening, there were free pupus and mai tai drinks at the pool, to welcome guests & to get to know your neighbor, since it's a small resort. That was enjoyable, as they had non-alcoholic drinks for my teenager. My family toured Kauai on our own, visiting numerous beaches, caves, waterfalls, local restaurants & shops. Since we had a full kitchen, we cooked breakfast and most dinners in our kitchen, but if you plan to do this, don't shop at the nearby Foodland. It's the most expensive Foodland in Hawaii, we were told. It was true. For 5 of us, we spent $45+ for breakfast at Burger King. We never did that again. Venture 30 min out towards the airport and you'll find Safeway with more reasonable prices and selections. There was a local luau on uur last day, sponsored by the Canoe Club, for a reasonable price, and we were going to go, but had overbooked ourselves, so we bowed out. Makai Club Resorts is nestled on a golf resort that also has a tennis club. I played 2-4 hrs of tennis 2 days and got a free extensive tan! :D. Tennis clinics cost $15 for 1.5 hrs & then players invited me to play doubles and singles. What a great time! I borrowed the pro's racket and there was a nice tennis shop, with good deals but you can find cheaper ones on the economy.

The Makai office staff is very responsive. I asked for extra pillows and washer detergent and they were delivered almost immediately. Also, one morning, one of the cottage families was having a loud conversation at 3 am. It woke me up and then I was up for the day. I let the staff know and by the time they went to check it out, the family went inside & it was quiet. Quiet hours are 10 pm - 8 am. I really appreciated this. The staff should be commended for being very responsive.

The maid only comes once, on Wed, if you're on a week's stay. You have to clean up on your own or request extra towels, etc. if neede, but this was not a problem, since I read it in the guest manual.

My one complaint: AC. My reservation listed AC as one of the amenities. That was incorrect. The staff explained that AC is in their smaller rooms, not in the 2 bdrms. Fans ran non-stop for us, as the temps got into the high 80's. One day after playing tennis outside, I had to jump in the Makai Club pool, to cool off because the fans just didn't cool me off. A few times after being out all day, touring the island, and upon entering the lodge, I would have liked to feel the AC. I didn't use my curling or straight iron on my hair because it was just too hot and sticky to use. With a nice resort like this, I would have preferred to have AC.

Other than the AC issue, this trip was well worth it and we would come again but would probably opt to stay closer to the airport, where most shops are located.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good but I would choose one with AC, if you don't need 2 bdrms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi Polygal,
Thank you for providing us with all your feedback. We're delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations. It is also good to learn that you enjoyed many of the guest amenities provided and that you participated in some of the activities hosted. We apologize for not providing you with an AC unit during the time of your stay. We do hope you come back soon for another great vacation!
Mahalo nui loa,
Julie DaRonco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    70
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
93
137
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We recently inherited a week at the Makai Club Cottages as a timeshare, and just made our first visit. The Cottages are nice and spacious, with a lot of cross breezes in lieu of air conditioning, but the kitchens get very very hot. We did all our cooking outdoors on the beautiful gas BBQs, which are nicely equipped.

The pool is clean and has both sun and shade on the deck. We used the concierge to book several things to do, and she did a great job. We also borrowed snorkeling gear at a very good rate from the concierge.

About 1/3 of the cottages face the golf course and those are really the best. Some of the others face a parking lot or overlook the pool, which can get noisy during the day. We did not see any of the 1 BR condos, so I can't comment on the facilities though I hear they have air conditioning.

Room Tip: Cottages on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TWCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hi TWCarey,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the Makai Club. We are thrilled to know that you found our location spacious and enjoyed many of the amenities offered. It is also great to hear that our staff was able to help you book some activities. Hope to see you back in the future!

Mahalo nui loa,
Julie Daronco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Loved this hotel. We booked it through hotels.com for a great price. We were not sure what to expect....we were pleasantly surprised! One bedroom, living room (with a pull out bed in couch), kitchen, two flat screen TVs, balcony, and a nice bathroom. Overall it was a great space and pretty property. The room had nice amenities and did not nickel and dime you to death. The north shore of Kauai is gorgeous and this is a great base camp and place to relax. The pool is small but quiet and quaint, loved it. Request rooms in 500, 800, 900 buildings as they face the mountains rather than parking lot. Room decor had a great Hawaiian vibe. We stayed in 902, and the staff was friendly. We wanted to stay longer...we will go back.

Room Tip: 500, 800, 900 wings looked great, faced mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aquarose67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Aquarose67,
Thank you for reviewing Makai Club Cottages. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rates convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you're visiting Hawaii for a much longer stay!
Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in April 2014. We did pay for an upgrade to get a cottage but it was beautiful and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We bought fresh fish from a store accross from Walmart and used the grill by the swimming pool. They provided us with beach chairs for the duration of our visit. Early in the morning we hiked to almost every waterfall there was, in the afternoon we were at the beach snorkeling or on a wake board and did sunset at a different beach each night. The island is small enough you can drive it easily. We stayed on our budget thanks to having a fridge and being able to pack lunches and cook meals in the condo. They even allowed us to check out a little later since our flight out wasn't until after 9:00 p.m. When we return to this island we will definately stay here again. The rooms have been updated and they are very clean. WE LOVED IT! We also loved this side of the island. We will be back!

Room Tip: If your not satisfied with your room, be patient, they will be able to upgrade you to a cottage. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoriIsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello LoriIsom,

We want to thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed getting an upgrade to a cottage. It is always great to hear that our guests are exploring all the nearby locations and having a wonderful time with their families. We can't wait to have you back with us!

Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weehawken, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Wow! This place was great! We stayed here for our honeymoon this past April, and are eager to go back! We loved the style of the rooms, we had very large space to stay, cook, hang out, and even had a back deck to eat out on. The ceilings are high, and we never needed AC because there are many windows for a cross breeze. It's a very quiet resort, perfect to relax, and right next to all the best beaches and attractions. Everything is conveniently located in this general area. The staff was wonderful, check in and out was a breeze. They even helped us book a few tours and attractions on the island, which were great. A+

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Leigha F,
Thank you for choosing the Makai Club for your honeymoon! We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and your stay was everything you wanted it to be. We will be ready to welcome you back on your anniversary, or any occassion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Just spent a week at Makai Club. Room was clean and very comfortable, pool and Jacuzzi were small but both clean and well maintained. BBQs at the pool area in great condition and clean and equipped with tongs, spatulas, & brushes. The staff was very warm, helpful and friendly and we felt they genuinely cared and took pride in providing great service. Only downside was our unit # 910 had a bit of road noise during the day (gated at night).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conrad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Conrad P,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Makai Club! We do our best to ensure each experience is the best that it can be. We hope that we will see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

had a great visit, liked Hattie's intro and help, Al's welcome late at night, very clean and quiet, modern, great location …… couldn't be better. Nice one bedroom unit. very very good………………………………………….

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brushpile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdaronco, General Manager at Makai Club, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi brushpile,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We're appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and we're glad you loved our location. We hope to welcome you back to Hawaii again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
1.2 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
720 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Club

Property: Makai Club
Address: 4180 Lei O Papa Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5111 (Formerly Wyndham Makai Club)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Makai Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makai Club Resort is the perfect setting for both a cozy romantic getaway or a relaxing golf vacation. Located on a beautiful tropical hillside, alongside the championship Makai Golf Course, the Makai Club is truly the perfect place to begin your Hawaiian island adventure. Nicknamed the “Garden Isle,” Kauai is often said to be the most beautiful Hawaiian Island. There is certainly something to be said about Kauai’s North Shore, which is home to incredible sunsets, rich tropical foliage, and the breathtaking expanse of the Pacific Ocean stretching out to the horizon. The Makai Club resort welcomes you to experience with us the natural beauty and adventure that we have enjoyed for so long on the island of Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Makai Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Makai Club Hotel Princeville
Makai Club Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing