We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous views, spacious, but one of the bedrooms...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedhog
CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous views, spacious, but one of the bedrooms was very musty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for a week in October and this condo suited our needs. The location was perfect. The condo overlooked a cliff and there were beautiful views from every room! Each night we were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waves hitting the craggy shore.

The condo was roomy. There were 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The condo had a washer, dryer, dishwasher and kitchen was well stocked with basic cooking essentials, coffee maker, pots/pans etc. Basically we had everything we needed.

The only complaint that we have about this condo is the strong musty/dingy odor coming from the closet in the smaller bedroom ( with one queen bed). We didn't notice the smell until the 3rd day of our stay because the maid used quite a bit of airfreshner product to mask it. However by the 5th day of our 9 day stay, the smell was so bad that we had to shut the door to that room. Since we were using the master bedroom, this wasn't a big issue for us in particular. However, for a family this would be an inconvenience as that smell makes being in the room unbearable.

Other reviewers of 3013 made the same comment months before our stay in October 2013. The root of this odor really should be remedied and I will suggest to the management that the carpet in that bedroom and closet needs to be ripped out. Air fresheners are just a 1-2 day "band-aid"on the problem.

Despite that issue with the second bedroom, we had a wonderful time and enjoyed the beautiful views from this lovely condo. Also, the complex was very quiet and peaceful. We couldn't hear any of the other residents or guests. Overall this unit is a very good value for the price of around 155 USD a night and we would definitely recommend it if you only need the master bedroom.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and very sorry that the musty smell from the closet was a problem. That is due to guests putting the beach equipment away without cleaning and drying it. We are having the carpet in there cleaned and a mat put under the beach gear, so the odor should not be a problem any more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado & California
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

5 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LiveWell2...
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bugs, bugs, bugs!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We just got back after staying here for 2 weeks. The view is great and that is about it. The kitchen is outdated, their plates and appliances are outdated too. Their blinds are hard to operate. You can tell they are cheaply made. The washer and dryer are right in the middle of the dinning area so if you are trying to relax at the end of the day watching tv or read a book and trying to do some laundry, it gets very loud.
Bugs are everywhere! My husband was busy trying to kill them off all night long. My mom had so many bites all over her body while she was sleeping, and I felt so bad for her. This is our 3rd visit to Kauai, and we've never seen anything like this.
There are no air conditions and it is hot in the summer. No fans were provided other than one ceiling fan in the living room and one in the master bedroom. There is no ceiling fan in 2nd room. Very stuffy and hot!
Because of bugs and gecko issues, I called and left a couple of messages with the manager that was provided by my travel agency, but never got the calls back. I tried to reach the housekeeper and it would pick up and hang up. I couldn't leave a message.
The condo is "ok" and nothing great. I couldn't get hold of anyone to see if we can get more soaps or other basic housekeeping services. We would have paid someone to come and clean our condo since we were staying for two weeks, but there was no one to even ask for that option.
We missed our flight and our travel agent was great and put us into another unit for the night. This condo was special! We were able to compare two different condos at Ali Kai back to back. Totally upgraded, nice furnitures, granite kitchen counter with modern appliances, ceiling fans in every room plus portable fans every where. Upgraded bathrooms with jacuzzi bath and the washer and dryer were tucked in at the corner away from the living room. We had no bug issues and we will be staying at this condo (not 3102) on our next trip!

3 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Location
2 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
We are so sorry that this rental was a disappointment to the guest. We would have been more than happy to send pest control if we had been notified...and have now had pest control treatment done. We are also more than happy to deliver floor fans if needed. Not sure which phone number was provided by the guest's travel agent, but the contact numbers provided by us in our check-in instructions were not utilized, as we don't have any record of contact from the guest, other than one question about internet access which was answered immediately. The condo has beautiful remodeled bathrooms, brand new interior paint, and other updates are planned in the near future. It's a lovely property, and we regret that this guest was not comfortable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItsTheVie...
Maumee, OH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top Notch View -Lots of space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed for 4 days and really liked this place, it's location on the north shore and the stellar ocean view. It was very well maintained and we had no problems with any of the equipment. The washer/dryer were invaluable since we got grimy on the Kalalau Trail and other area adventures. Things were also very quiet here which was great since we were looking for relaxation. It smelled a tad bit musty when we first arrived since the place was fully closed up. However, once we opened windows, we did not notice this problem again.

This unit showed some signs of wear but at this price, I just don't think you can beat it. And, there have been upgrades in critical areas like the bathrooms and we slept very well in the master bedroom. Can't beat the sound of crashing waves.

The kitchen had everything we needed and there were even some condiments for sandwiches. Beach towels were stocked and the WIFI was good. We hoped we could walk west along the cliffs down to Queens bath but it got treacherous about a half mile out as things descended into a valley and we turned back.

If the weather wasn't semi-cruddy, we would have appreciated the great view more but that is not the fault of the unit.

Based on the great value, we would stay here again if we got the chance.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view and location
Liked least: Older unit which did not have that fully remodled
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2013
We hope you get the chance to come back again, and have better luck with the weather. Next time, try the walk to Hideaways Beach instead. It will take you a little bit longer, but it's worth it...lovely beach and safer than the Queen's Bath.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSJR
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
4
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 stayed at Alii Kai 3103 for 7 nights in July 2012. I was looking for a comfortable quiet place to relax on the north side of the island with an expansive view from the lanai, and this condo delivered perfectly. The unit is on the first floor, but because it is on a cliff, the porch is elevated a bit and you have a nice view of the sea from the porch, living room and both bedrooms. The bedrooms are elevated even more, so you can leave the windows open and enjoy the view with privacy. Also the condos are designed with a curve to match the contours of the cliffs, which, for this unit results in extra privacy from the porch. Did I mention the view is great, and the unit feels private? We enjoyed sitting on the porch with morning coffee, and evening wine. Bring binoculars and you can spot sea turtles in the evenings. The sea breeze cools the condo nicely with the windows open, and the unit is comfortable, quiet and spacious. Beds and linens were excellent quality and very comfortable, the unit was spotless and the kitchen was well stocked for cooking. The condo has a full size washer dryer, and the newly remodeled master bath is beautiful! We stocked up a Costco and local farmer’s markets so we could save time, money, eat well, and enjoy a week in paradise. Be aware that the Master bedroom has 2 double beds and the beautiful bath. This was not a problem for us. Our kids stayed in the master, and we shared both bathrooms. Also, the condo entrance door has a combination, (not a key) which was convenient for us. Just remember to print out the rental papers and bring them with you!
We would love to return. Thank you for sharing your beautiful condo.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view of the sea
Liked least: no problems
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$185
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by manager
Book Now
Send Message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing