We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service was mixed”
Review of Kauai Grill

Kauai Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Kauai Grill is a comfortable yet elegant hideaway with sweeping views of Hanalei Bay and Bali Hai. The seasonal menu is composed of a wide selection of hand-crafted dishes created from flavors found here on the Garden Island of Kauai with the highest quality of meats and freshest local fish available. Simply grilled preparations accompanied by bold condiments anchor the Kauai Grill experience at The St. Regis Resort Princeville.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service was mixed”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We had a family dinner here. Our party included some seniors, so we reserved for the first sitting at 5:30. We got there at 5:28 and they literally turned us away (our party included a visibly older person for whom getting around was a challenge) and told us to come back when they were ready to open. 15 minutes later we were able to enter and be seated.

The service early in the meal was at best indifferent, but improved noticeably as the meal progressed. But kitchen timing seemed out of synch. We finished our appetizers and seconds later our entrees appeared, so clearly they'd been sitting under the hat lamps waiting for us. My lamb, ordered medium rare, was uniformly gray so I had to send that back. The replacement arrived within a minute (from where?) and was perfect. Everyone else was happy with their entrees.

Just as a note, their dishes don't come with real sides, you order them separately. I don't mind this, but do expect high levels of quality in such cases. A side of frites for $9 should be exquisite but these didn't make the cut.

Overall verdict ... 5 star prices for a 4 star meal.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fergus-and-Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    151
    121
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Amazing View and Outstanding Service”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My husband and I ate here while staying at the St Regis. We were able to make reservations around sunset, the view is absolutely breathtaking! For appetizers we tried the rice cracker crusted tuna and the grilled black pepper octopus. For dinner we both ordered the wagyu beef NY strip with mashed potatoes and mushrooms. They also have a great dessert and drink selection. The meals were very good, and the service was outstanding. It's a great place for a romantic dinner or special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChantalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Prix Fix Delicious”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

For our splurge dinner on Kauai, we hit up the Kauai grill. We've heard there are gorgeous views, but we went at night - so the sun was already down.
Enjoyed the Prix Fix menu with wine pairing. Food was delicious, fresh, and the wine paired nicely. Definitely on the more expensive side, but we truly enjoyed our dinner. Great for special occasions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Romantic, good ambiance and great food!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We wanted a view of the sunset and we got it at Kauai Grill and More! Upon our arrival we were greeted by the very nice hostess and they seated us immediately. The view is breathtaking seriously beautiful place, love the lighting and romantic feel but I can see myself coming here for a girls night out it's cheek and elegant. Our server was very sweet and very attentive. And the FOOD was my absolute favorite we started with the Tuna Ribbon and the Pork Belly- impeccable taste ! I ordered the Mero dish and it was fantastic to say the least it melted in my mouth it was cooked to perfection. The asparagus was good but the RICE- Best rice I've ever had it was so creamy and delicious! My date ordered a steak and it was cooked to perfection the sauces are a great addition to the steak. Last but not least we ordered desserts (although we don't usually eat sweets because we eat Paleo we figured we were on vacation so why not! Well let me just say we don't regret ordering desserts and it was gone within seconds! The warm chocolate cake is very tasty but the white chocolate and Yuzu Pavlova with the tai Basil Syrup was INCREDIBLE!!! Let's just say I wanted one to go! This is a hidden gem the location and view is perfect, the service was excellent and the food was absolutely worth every single dime! A must try when you are in Kauai!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katiria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A special meal in a special place”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We celebrated two birthdays with dinner at the Kauai Grill. Seating is first come, first served so we made reservations for 5:30, early enough to enjoy the lingering sunset over Hanelei Bay and the surrounding mountains, and we had a table with a good view. The service was excellent and the fresh fish was superb. Pricy wines were available, but our small carafes of house wine didn't break the budget. One person ordered the 5 course vegetarian menu and was very pleased with it. Luckily, there are many places in Kauai to get good food at lower prices, but this was a wonderful place for a dressed up special occasion.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Birdwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kauai Grill also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing