We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the St Regis Princeville”

Nalu Kai Grill and Bar
Ranked #17 of 25 Restaurants in Princeville
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Description: Http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/nalu-kai-grill-and-bar/
Restaurant details
Description: Http://www.stregisprinceville.com/dining/nalu-kai-grill-and-bar/
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lunch at the St Regis Princeville”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our daughter and son-in-law took us to the St. Regis Princeville for a look at this resort and lunch. This was were the honeymooned last year. We were not able to see a room because they were all booked but here are some impressions. Princeville is on the north shore of Kauai and it most striking feature is Hanalei Bay. The resort looks out from the hillside onto the bay. The lobby is beautiful and has a peaceful elegant feel. To get down to the pool and grill you take 2 elevators down about 8 floors. There is only 1 pool and it was busy. We ordered poke at Nalu Kai as a starter and it was fresh but not so tasty. I had cheese burger with a salad side. It was very good (should be at $18). Service was pleasant but really slow. Valet parking for lunch was free.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Burnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    33
    25
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great view and service”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stopped at the St. Regis to check out the beautiful resort. We were not disappointed. We followed the directions to the pool area. Some people complain of having to take two elevators to the pool and beach area. Kauai has an island ordinance that requires buildings to be no taller than a coconut palm, under 4 stories. We enjoyed the walk to the pool area. We stopped for a light lunch and were pleasantly surprised at the service and food. Granted prices are going to be more at a resort, so I wasn't surprised. This isn't McDonalds or Burger King you are dining at. Our waitress, Candyce, was a very pleasant and energetic young woman. She welcomed us to the restaurant and made small talk with us. She seemed genuine and down to earth. I enjoy having good service, unlike our meal at a restaurant in Hanalei the other day, We ordered the four cheese flat bread and a couple of drinks. We enjoyed the ambiance and views while having a light lunch. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to family and friends. Enjoy the view and food, you are in paradise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twbagby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Food option at pool and beach”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The food options at the pool and beach were good but get old quick after a few days. The service was excellent and if you are at the beach try and sit in Noah's section. Great guy who was always hustling.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank workingjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice drink in a spectacular location”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had some nice tropical drinks in the poolside bar and shared perhaps the best hummus and chips I have ever had. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, go to the pool to sit and marvel at the beautiful Hanalei Bay. The service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loomis, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sensory Overload”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great service and what a view. The food was very good and the drinks well prepared. They use a Kauai made Vodka (Koloa) that is out of this world. The wife loved the Lava Flows.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank livingthedream55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nalu Kai Grill and Bar also viewed

 
Princeville, Kauai
 

Been to Nalu Kai Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing