We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views”
Review of Ali'i Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ali'i Kai Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We spent last week at the Ali'i Kai Resort and had a wonderful time. Shana was extremely helpful, check-in was a breeze. The unit was very dated, but that being said, it was extremely clean, comfortable and spacious. We had more than enough room for 2 couples. They had nice extra touches like tin foil and Saran Wrap, made it easier to wrap sandwiches. We also had a cooler! Shana even helped us with an app for our camera on our iPhone : ) This was a great place to spend a week on a beautiful island. MAHALO!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sue a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    53
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
55
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The property is beautiful! We arrived late and one of the bathrooms didn't have a shower curtain. Left a message and the next day it was there. The office hours are great if you work there but not if you are on vacation! The location is great for the North shore area but rest of island is 1 to 2 hours away. Not too bad though cause the views on your drive are amazing. The room is clean but needs new washer and dryer. They are working but a bit slow. The bigger room had a sunrise view, the smaller room has a small view of ocean and the pool. No hot tub at pool but clean. There is no AC but didn't need it. The fans and temp was fine. The trail to the beach is goat worthy. I did not chance it. Lots of beaches with in a few miles. End of October could not snorkel on some northern beaches as the waves and current are dangerous! But still beautiful! You will see lots of Turtles, rosters (lots) and farrow cats on Kauai. There are too many great views and things to see on this island. If I do this again I would book direct with Ali Kai and get a better room at this location. Time share is a hit and miss on quality. The people in office the one time we saw them were very nice and let us borrow a couple of beach chairs on our last day. This was not provided for in our room. There are no spices in room or condiments. You supply all this. They did supply dish soap and cloth washing soap 5 packs, 2 beach towels and 4 towels. The chocolates were a nice touch. Go to the St Regis for sunset view. The upper bar was great but the service down below for dinner was awful. Food was good. Princeville is gorgeous but if coming during winter I'd go south as waters are safer. Beaches are not as beautiful. Aloha and have fun!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

As we drove into the complex my husband said "we can't afford this"! Alii Kai is tucked away in a beautiful private well groomed community along the cliffs. Our privately owned unit #7204 was more than enough for just the two of us but we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary so opted to travel alone. Princeville is a great area to stay in. Yes, it did rain some but did not bother any of our 10 days on the island. There is a lot to do on the north part of Kauai if you choose to. Hanalei, Queens Bath, Kilauea lighthouse, Kalalau Trail, Beautiful beaches - Hanalei Bay, Tunnels, Anini and Ke'e. Hanalei is fun with shopping, restaurant and bars. Princeville Ranch and airport are very close by. There is a lot to do in driving distance. Even the south shore isn't that far of a drive. We drove to Waimea Canyon, Spouting Horn and the Salt Ponds.
The kitchen was nice. Could use some more gadgets pans and such but we made out ok. The refrigerator took a little while to cool down but worked fine. The washer and dryer is small but adequate. The bed was super comfy and the ceiling fan worked great over the bed. There are wonderful ocean breezes throughout the unit, no AC. The living room was a little warm at times and could use a ceiling fan.
The pool was clean and well taken care of. There is a gas grill and a library of books at the pool.
The beach equipment wasn't great. We did not use the snorkel equipment. There are umbrellas and they came in handy.
Condo is near some nice golf courses. My husband rented clubs from Kauai Golf Clubs. They dropped off and picked up from the condo. Great service.
St. Regis is close by and a great place for the sunset and happy hour.
If I had to pick something negative - it would be that the floors of this unit are beautiful bamboo but are noisy. I woke up early every day and felt I had to walk lightly. Hopefully we did not bother the people downstairs. One other thing is there are paths outside that look as though they go somewhere. They don't from what we found. It is just cliffs and ocean. One couple tried but came back covered in mosquito bites. Also, outside the unit it got busy with sight seers and workers taking their breaks. Glad we were on the second floor.
At this time of year the sunrise and sunset are obstructed but I did get some nice photos. Best place for sunset photos is Ke'e Beach. And I heard near the Kilauea lighthouse is nice too.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Alii Kai and would definitely return. Thank you.

Room Tip: End unit was large and sunny but busy with sight seers and workers on break. No AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We just came back from the beautiful island of Kaui. This property is located in gated community "without the gate" that's what we called it. Not very far from St Regis Hotel. We stayed at the condo in building #6 and there was only one floor which was great, view of the ocean was amazing, you feel like you are right on Na Pali Coast, and we were on top of the cliff so we could see amazing greenery too. The breeze from the ocean at night was amazing. If you are looking for location walking distance to the beach this is not it because closest beach was about 10 min drive. Community is quiet, calming and you can relax here. Princeville is a very upscale and beautiful area, but if you like adventure and doing excursions a lot of companies that provide them are towards south parts of the island, if you don't mind the drive or are not interested in excursions this community is great. Hanalei is not far from here and there are great shops and restaurants there.

Room Tip: Deffinetly stay at the condo with ocean view, the sound of the ocean at night is so amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank W0rldTravelers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at this resort for seven days in August. The room was on the second floor and had a balcony overlooking a very pleasant, well-manicured back yard with a view of the mountains and a bit of the ocean in the distance. We saw a rainbow over the mountain on most mornings. The condo was well equipped with everything one would need to prepare a meal or (except the food, of course). We had a small, stacked washer/dryer which was adequate. There is a pool on the premises, along with a hot tub. Our room did not have air conditioning, but with the ocean breezes, it was quite comfortable. We liked it here a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank freebird250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
567 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Yes, there are soom rooms along the clift line with very nice views of the ocean. You're not very likely to get one if you aren't an owner or a regular and book a year in advance.

We booked here for one week but after one night, we decided we could afford to move to another hotel, so we did. We had magnificant views of parking lots, front and back. The buildings are two story but even without elevators the second floors are the only ones worth considering. The second floor units are, incidently, all booked a year in advance. The first floor master bedroom front wall is all glass and offers a great view of the public sidewalk three feet away. With the curtains open there is no privacy for first floor units. There also is no air conditioning so you need to leave the hurricane windows open for ventilation but that doesn't work very well since the drawn curtains cover the window openings. Without air conditioner "white" noise you are able to hear every foot step made on the floor above.
The furnishings were actually very nice. The small tv was in the living room, nothing in the bedrooms. The bathrooms were very small, almost an afterthought.
Princeville is a nice rural area not terribly far from the old hippie colony, Hanalei. But other than 70's charm, lots of green and some nice beach in Hanalei, the only things Princeville has to offer are peace and quiet, golf and more rain than any place else on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Shana was lovely, and she placed us in a location that had beautiful west facing mountain views. However, when we arrived at 4pm the sun was blasting into the living room through the screen. We searched for the air conditioner and after finding nowhere to turn it on, called for help. The gentleman said he could send up a fan. There were ceiling fans in all the rooms, but they were not getting the job done. All the windows had louvers at each end, but when you open the drapes, the air flow was obstructed by the curtains. I had to put chairs to hold the curtains away from the breeze that was there. There are only 18 units and it would behoove the owners to add air conditioning to the units. Shana was gracious enough to call around to the Grand Pacific family of resorts and find us another condo that was acceptable. Thanks, Shana.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Judi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hanalei Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
The Cliffs at Princeville
#2 of 12 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali'i Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali'i Kai Resort

Property: Ali'i Kai Resort
Address: 3830 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5340
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Princeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ali'i Kai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a bluff overlooking the splendor of the Pacific Ocean, Ali'i Kai Resort is surrounded by tropical landscape neatly decorated with lush gardens and exotic Hawaiian flowers. This Princeville resort offers spacious two-bedroom, two-bathroom condos for weekly stays. Discover the spirit of Aloha on Kauai and welcome the romantic sunsets from private balconies, relax by the pool and join any of the fantastic island activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ali'i Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ali`i Kai Hotel Princeville
Ali'i Kai Resort Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing