We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating, very isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffs at Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We vacation every year and I will not be returning to this condo. It was very musty smelling, hot, and isolated. Everything was a drive, I would recommend the other side of the island. The kitchen in our unit smelled of mold, and the fridge was very old and ran poorly. It was very warm and humid, be prepared: there is no air. We had to drive to get anywhere and the area restaurants close early. The wifi is poor, I know on vacation you should be away from technology, but I could not log in or receive phone calls. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha from the Cliffs,

Thank you for posting comments regarding your recent stay. Princeville is known for being away from it all. It is very peaceful and tranquil. The south side of the island does have more action if that is the type of vacation you are looking for. You also are correct not all cell phones offer the same coverage on the island.

If you would like to contact me directly, I would like to know what unit you occupied so that I may better address your concerns. Please feel free to contact me at 808-826-6219.

Mahalo,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a timeshare exchange and found it to be very nice. Our room had a partial ocean view and it was an easy walk to the cliffs which were beautiful - very peaceful and a great place to just relax and read. The girls in the concierge office were extremely helpful and pleasant - even when we wanted to make several changes to our initial plans!
When we booked we were a little bummed that there wasn't an easy walk to the beach or an infinity pool that looked out over their incredible ocean view - but neither one of these things were an issue once we arrived. Those things just forced us to get out and explore the variety of beautiful beaches on the island!!
For us, the lack of AC was only an issue because we were on the ground floor right by the rec center and pool. Although it's a very safe property, we weren't comfortable leaving our porch doors wide open and therefore spent more than one night sleeping in the living room since the couches were under the fans and the bed was not! It's not something that would keep us from staying here in the future, but I'd definitely request a room on a higher floor if/when we come again!

Room Tip: Due to the lack of AC definitely request a room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ldance07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha,

Thank you fro your comments. I agree we have a pretty great Concierge team. They do everything they can to make you activities something to remember. I am delighted that you had fun exploring the many beautiful beaches Kauai has to offer.

We do hope you will one day return for a visit.

Mahalo,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very helpful staff.

Other guests were friendly and helpful as well. Our condo had an ocean view but was owned by a single owner vs. part of time share pool. The time share pool tends to be more modernly furnished.

Room Tip: ask for a condo with a view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank charlesreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for comments on our staff. I agree they are a great group.
We do hope that should you decide to visit Kauai again, you will once again select the Cliffs.

Mahalo,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I would like to give the Cliffs 4 1/2 stars. It was a very nice place to stay but not luxurious. The rooms were neat and spacious. The kitchen well stocked and efficient. The pool and hot tub adequate. Would I stay here again,absolutely. Lack of air conditioning was not a problem.

Sabrina was a great help for activities around the island. If you wish to to tour the Napili Coast ask her about the private boat tour out of Hanelei.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gracieFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha,

Mahalo for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Cliffs. We think we have a pretty special place here and a fantastic Concierge team. I am glad you got to experience that as well by working with Sabrinia.

I do hope that you will visit us again here in paradise!

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had exchanged a week through Interval International and we're allocated Unit 9204. This unit had 4 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms and 5 TV's spread over 2 levels. There 6 of us staying at the unit but it was very comfortable. The lack of air conditioning didn't worry us at all. There were ceiling fans in all the main rooms. We had lovely views of the ocean and the sunsets at night. The unit was well maintained with all the facilities you could imagine including 4 Tommy Bahamas beach chairs! Had a great stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Woodienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! Our four bedroom units are great for a family vacation. I am happy you enjoyed the beach chairs. We also offer a cooler to take with you as you explore our beautiful island.

We do hope you will visit again.

Mahalo,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We happened upon the Cliffs as a timeshare exchange through Interval International and were pleasantly surprised at the spacious, well maintained accommodations. We scored a loft unit on the third floor which slept up to eight, had easy access to the BBQ grills, an amazing ocean view, and we watched magical sunrises and sunsets. Sabrina in activities provided wonderful recommendations. We thoroughly enjoyed our week.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jsundberg, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs at Princeville, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Aloha from the Cliffs,

Mahalo for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sure and share your comments with Sabrina and our Concierge staff. We do hope should you decide to visit Kauai again, you will once again stay with us.

Warm regards,

June Sundberg
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We spent the last week of our three weeks vocation here in 7303. This is a unit managed by Ahh Aloha Kauai Vacation Rentals. From the first minute of contacting them to the last minute checking out. We had nothing but the best experience here.

Knowing that we have a baby on board, they even offered us a brand new crib and a high chair set. Our five months old boy sat up for the first time in this beautiful unit, he also ate his first solid food here. Our two other kids enjoyed their loft space and we enjoyed cooking in one of the most beautiful, well equipped kitchen. They even had lots of spices and a jar of flour in the fridge. Me and my husband created unique dishes together which we will never forget.

The cliffs is a very well maintained, beautiful property. For a couple of nights we sat on the lawn and watched sunset on the bluff. They had live music from a local musician one night and we all like it so very much. We also enjoyed the pool and their bike rentals as well. We feel so very lucky to have been able to stay here and we would love to come back. Mahalo!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoneyPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.8 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.6 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,384 reviews
24.0 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
1.1 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
#1 of 12 in Princeville
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs at Princeville

Address: 3811 Edward Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5341
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Princeville
Price Range: £203 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
628 unit condominium complex on the Kaanapali coast of Maui, Hawaii. Studios up to 3 bedroom oceanfront penthouse suites. Duke's Restaurant on site, 3 pools and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliffs at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffs At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Cliffs Club
The Cliffs At Princeville Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing