We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cherry shave ice is the best!!”

Kauai's Best Shave Ice
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Princeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cherry shave ice is the best!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Traditional Hawaiian shave ice. They have both shave ice and ice cream and milk shakes. Super yummy. The cherry shave ice is the best and they are so big that one cone feeds 3 people!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SassyTraveler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
223 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great service with a beautiful smile”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The shaved ice here is great. The size is HUGE and their selections of flavors is good. The cherry was my favorite but I am boring. We had a Chinese plum flavoring (it had a Hawaiian name but cant remember) and it was really really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jadejoann4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, California, Usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Kids loved their Shaved Ice. Don't make the mistake of calling a snow cone. They don't like that. The young lady working the stand was very friendly and gave us some pointers on things around the island. One is big enough for 2 kids to share. We didn't know this and I got one for each kid...we threw most of it away. I got a smoothie made with tropical fruit. They also have fruit juices as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Uintas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great shave ice !”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This shop offers very authentic shave ice, but be prepared to wait. Hours of operation seem to be sporadic, and service is less than speedy. BUT, who cares? You're in Kauai! The quality is VERY good, ALL-NATURAL flavors, ( no chemicals ). The staff is personable and their product, ( as stated on their shop window), is something they take pride in providing. Bottom line: hope they're there when you get a hankering for a shave ice . Be prepared for a wait to get your "ice" , and ENJOY !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The shaved ice was very delicious and the serving portion was more than I expected. It was on my list of things to try and I was not disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank twinmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kauai's Best Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Kauai's Best Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing