We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware no A/C & Do Not Believe You Don't Need It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed in a spacious 3-bedroom, 3-bath unit on the first floor. When we walked into our unit we were gasping from the heat and humidity. It was 86 F outside and I'm guessing 100 F inside, and all the windows were opened. We ran around looking for the thermostat to turn on the A/C and there wasn't one. Apparently, we were treated like royalty since the master bedroom had a portable A/C unit and we learned the smaller units don't even have that. Luckily, no one else traveled with us or we would all have been sleeping in the master bedroom. When we asked why no A/C we were told you don't need it in Hawaii, then I'm confused why the resort installed a portable A/C unit in the MB. Hmmmm. The resort staff brought us two fans but it only pushed around the uncomfortably hot air. The unit above us on the second floor props their front door open all day and evening long and we heard someone say, "It has to be 180 degrees in here", so we know we are not alone in our discomfort.

The pool is unique with a sandy area by the walk-in entrance and a beautiful waterfall and hot tub. The other resort pool is closed d/t construction of a new Clubhouse. The resort does not have many amenities but most people, including us, are gone most of the day soaking in the beauty of Kauai.

Nice kitchen with granite and full sized appliances. Do not expect ANY housekeeping, including clean towels unless you are a gold or platinum club owner. There is a washer and dryer in our unit but I wasn't expecting to launder towels during my vacation. This is a bare bones resort compared to our home resort where we have daily housekeeping and responsive concierge service.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor or you'll be very uncomfortable from the lack of A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbieMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Bali Hai Villas is a great place to stay while on Kaua’i!

Located in Princeville, the Villas are convenient to the north coast beaches, such as Hanalei Bay, Ke’e Beach, and Tunnels Beach. Along with the beaches, there are many dining options in Hanalei. Small grocery stores are available in the area. Accessing the more commercial areas around Poipu will take about an hour.

The weather was pleasant during our stay, so our family did not mind the lack of air conditioning. I heard the trade winds change in the winter, taking away the cool breezes.

The condo was clean, and had everything we could need, even an ice chest to use for picnicking. The unit was not brand new, but attention was given to keep the room in top shape.

Like other time share condominiums, the main goal of the staff is to sell you a new time share, or upgrade your existing one. The first morning we were invited to an informational breakfast hosted by the in-house concierge service. While portions of the presentation were helpful, the main goal was to get you to go to another meeting to discuss your time share. If you refused, you were not given the discounts on the tours and packages they had spent the last hour telling you about. All of a sudden, the prices were not great. We were able to say ‘no’ and were not bothered for the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: By staying at the front of the Complex next to the main entrance, we did not hear many chickens in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We just returned from a week here the end of Sept. This resort is very low key, but absolutely impeccably maintained. We love Princeville. Hanalei is such a fun little town for dinner and it is just minutes away. We are owners here so we were very impressed with all the recent upgrades going on. The new clubhouse promises to be an upgrade from the old one. Missed having the second pool which is closed during the clubhouse project, but the other pool is very nice too. Love the chickens...they are noisy in the morning but that doesn't bother us. Don't do the owners update unless you are up for a timeshare sales pitch! We love this place and our plan was sufficient but they always want you to upgrade. Beware! Beyond that, the resort itself and the staff couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Bali Hai Villas are very nice. Right now they are building a new resort office/club and one of the pools is closed down but the other pool wasn't crowded and it was nice. We stayed in building 15 and it was OK except the roosters will wake you up before daylight and keep crowing until well after sunrise. If you are looking for a place with air conditioning, this isn't it. It was often hot and humid in the early part of the night and then got better later on. I guess you get used to it but I doubt most vacationers are ready for the humidity. Our clothes never felt completely dry. The buildings are built very close together so keep your conversations to a low level.

Room Tip: To get away from the roosters, stay as close to the front of the property and as far from the wooded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We originally went to the Bali Hai 3 years as a rental. We found it to be very well maintained, always clean and enjoyable. The staff is wonderful in the care they provide to guests. We were so impressed, we bought a 2 bed room unit and now go there every year. The location on the north end of Kauai, the close by light house and bird preserve all add to the wonder of the vacation.

Room Tip: If you like to stay up and party, choose a room close to the pool and BBQ area. If you would like s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Hi Robert,

Thank you for providing this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and have chosen to come back every year. It’s good to hear that you were taken great care of by our friendly staff. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We are currently staying at Bali Hai as a 7 day RCI exchange. Our condo is lovely, cannot even tell if it is renovated unit or not. Perhaps they do it piecemeal, as our walls are all freshly painted, not a mark anywhere, new carpet and new furniture as pictured on website. Just no granite counters.
I like the lower level as it is cooler, but, with fans and sliders open, we have never been warm, actually chilly at night and early am. And our lanai is completely private, just lush landscaping, can sit out in pjs with coffee in am, no problem. That is a great bonus as I notice most lanais are pretty public. I was worried with some previous reviews, we also have a gold crown home resort, but have no regrets about chosing Bali Hai, would return, which we likely will. And, we told Wyndham we did not want to attend any sales appt, and they never called or bothered us about.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adirondacksailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Bali Hai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for providing this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the unit lanai. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We just got back from Kauai, and spent a week at the Bali Hai in Princeville. We are owners so we were very happy with our 2 bedroom 2 bath unit. Our unit is in building 9, so our lanai faces like a garden area. We had our breakfast every morning on the lanai, and it was fairly private. We did go to the pool a couple of times, and really enjoyed that. Every morning we would head out for a walk after breakfast, one morning we came upon Queens Bath which was on my list of to do's, but didn't realize it was walking distance, it's fairly steep, and I wouldn't do the hike after it has rained. We made a good decision when we decided to purchase a timeshare at Bali Hai.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zorzetti1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.9 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
17.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
23.7 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
1,811 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
0.3 mi away
The Cliffs at Princeville
The Cliffs at Princeville
#2 of 12 in Princeville
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Bali Hai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Bali Hai Villas

Address: 4970 Pepelani Loop, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5348
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Princeville
Price Range: £139 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Bali Hai Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyndham Bali Hai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Hai Villas Hotel Princeville
Bali Hai Villas Kauai
Wyndham Bali Hai Villas Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing