We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“It's all about the view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sealodge at Princeville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sealodge at Princeville
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's all about the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just returned from our 2nd trip to the Sealodge condos near Princeville on Kauai. Although our condo itself was more functional than luxurious I would stay there again in a heartbeat for the exceptional views provided by the cliff top location. Just stunning!

Room Tip: Top floor of D building is quiet and private although there are a few stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marteau59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    96
    43
    23
    18
See reviews for
58
229
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove, Utah, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have read the other reviews and believe most accurately describe the Sealodge condos. My advice...read ALL the reviews and decide for yourself if this works for you. For us it was perfect! And just remember EVERY unit is different!

We stayed in unit D5 on the second floor (stairs are a bit steep...15 of them...). We were looking on VRBO originally but ended up renting thru a company. www.parrishkauai.com. They rented it out in behalf of the owners and have 3 units that they rent out at the Sealodge. It turned out to be an excellent choice for us as we had a misunderstanding about something at the unit and they bent over backwards making it right with us. We felt like they would have backed us up on any issue we were unhappy with. They were a great source of information about the island also.

Our unit the view could not have been more spectacular! We loved everything about the view from the bedroom, lanai, and the dining room windows. The unit was perfect for us as a couple and caught the breeze all the time. The condos definitely feels like an 80s condo in Hawaii...but we didn't mind. The disadvantage is the floors are thin and you can hear movement upstairs. The Sealodge is at the end of the road though which made it nice for quiet...no traffic. Also, they have some people actually living in some units so they encourage quiet hours from 8:00 pm to 7:00 am--which we appreciated greatly.

My advice...I would not do a ground floor unit or a unit by the pool because of noise and security...you have to have the windows open to stay cool. There is no air conditioning in this unit...which we did not feel we ever needed--but windows open does let noise in. We enjoyed hearing the waves and breeze and an occasional rooster....but bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper!

Again, find out all you can about the actual unit you are staying in...all are different...make sure you see pictures and that you see what your view is out your window. Also, ours provided shampoo, paper towels, dishwasher soap, etc. Also beach chairs and binoculars.

The BBQ is just a place to put charcoal but is a nice little secluded spot...wish they would put a propane grill there.

The beach here isn't much but we had fun snorkling the shallows and then spent other days exploring all the other beaches on Kauai. The drive further north is so fun and short...we did it every day hitting different places along the way.

We did have a few sugar ants around the sink...I have actually just made it a policy of whenever we arrive at a place to immediately load the dishwasher with all dishes we will use and turn it on...we then use the dishes out of the dishwasher and have no worries about critters in the cupboards. We also keep ALL food...even dry goods in fridge. This is just one of those things that come along with a tropical island...

The washer and dryer in this unit was very handy and I washed our own towels and dishcloths halfway thru the week.

We really ended up really happy here. We couldn't have been more pleased with our view of the beautiful ocean and would stay in this unit again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: An ocean view room is a must! Top floor units would be the most quiet...bottom floors less private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

You couldn't ask for a better view than this lovely condo! Furnishing a little dated ("like my grandma's Florida condo in the 80's"), but very comfortable. The unit was perfect for a couple. The many windows set up a cross breeze that cooled the unit down perfectly. The lanai was windy, but the sitting area facing the ocean was almost as good as sitting outside, without the wind and rain! The snorkeling and beach gear was very convenient.

On the negative side, there was no coffee, no sugar, and no soap or shampoo for the shower. Also, the sheets were very musty/ mildewy. Maybe this is because they hadn't been used recently (the air was very humid and everything had a dampish feel), but I suspect housekeeping got impatient and put the sheets back on before they were completely dry. Fortunately with the quiet in-unit washer and dryer it was easy to wash the sheets, and subsequent nights were more comfortable!

Bottom line, we would stay here again in a second: this is a great budget condo with a great view, but a few more basics would be welcome (coffee!!).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just read a bad review on this unit. My wife and I stayed here recently, and couldn't have had a more different experience. We felt compelled to write a more balanced evaluation.

Sealodge in general is a great collection of eclectic condos on the cliff top overlooking the ocean. The views are spectacular day and night. It's also quiet, being located on a dead end street.

Unit F4 is on the first floor (NO stairs), next to the pool. We enjoyed the proximity, and swam there almost every day. If there were people at the pool, and we wanted privacy, we simply put down the blinds. However, there is a fairly tall wall around the pool, so it wasn't much of an issue.

It was hot in the condo at times (weather was over 90 degrees), so we opened the windows, and used the floor and ceiling fans. That, with the fairly constant sea breeze, worked fine and kept us comfortable.

The unit was clean and tidy. Some of the furniture was slightly worn, but nothing unexpected in a rental unit. Everything we needed was supplied, including beach chairs and towels, cooler and freezer packs, BBQ tools, and all the kitchen equipment we needed. Washer and dryer were in the unit.

We only communicated with the owners via email, but they were prompt with their replies, and even gave us advice on restaurants and local beaches.

We felt the price was very fair for what we got, especially in Hawaii. We would recommend this unit without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

This place is off the hook! Quiet in unit laundry. Almost 180 deg view of ocean inside unit. Property is beautiful and clean. There is a Secret beach trail that's not too daunting like reviews say. Small but has everything needed for a relaxing stay! Also the last plus is it has top of the line cooking utensils is knives and kitchen is fully equipped if you like to cook.!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We just got back from a 3 night stay in Sealodge F9. It was an okay place to stay, but nothing special. The location in Princeville is nice due to proximity to north shore beaches and the price was ok for $130 a night. The unit is on the top floor, which is nice because there's no noise above you, but bad because it was extremely hot in there with no air conditioning (just 2 fans). There is wifi now (previous reviews stated there was not). Overall, the furniture and amenities were just a bit older and worn. We had friends staying in Sealodge C3, which was MUCH nicer and more modern amenities. Definitely would look for somewhere else to stay (maybe a different unit) next time we are in Kauai...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CalBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is a great condo it is 2 bedrooms 1 queen with twin beds up stairs and a window bed down. Two full bathrooms. The grounds are clean and the area is quite. The pool is small but refreshing. The beach at the st Regis is great parking is free at the resort such a nice change. Just tip nicely! The pine beach or hanalei bay beach is a great little beach too but if you need shade bring an umbrella. We will for sure be back here next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princeville
0.5 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
1.4 mi away
Hanalei Bay Resort
Hanalei Bay Resort
#1 of 4 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
1.5 mi away
St. Regis Princeville Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hanalei Colony Resort
Hanalei Colony Resort
#1 of 1 in Hanalei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliffs at Princeville
Cliffs at Princeville
#1 of 12 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ali'i Kai Resort
Ali'i Kai Resort
#3 of 12 in Princeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sealodge at Princeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sealodge at Princeville

Property: Sealodge at Princeville
Address: 3700 Kamehameha Rd, Princeville, Kauai, HI 96722-5342
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Princeville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sealodge at Princeville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breath taking views. 1 Bedroom 1 bath with a sleeper sofa. Sleeps 4. The unit has recently been updated with new kitchen and bathroom granite counter tops, new appliances, fresh paint , tv and much more. You will not be disappointed. Sealodge beach is a 5 minute walk down the hill. Swim, snorkel, and watch whales from your private patio. Historic Hanalei town is just a 10 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sealodge at Princeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sealodge At Princeville Hotel Princeville
Sealodge Kauai
Sealodge At Princeville Kauai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing