We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean, everything we needed”
Review of The West Inn Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The West Inn Kauai
Ranked #2 of 2 Waimea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights in West Inn Kauai in Waimea beginning of Aug 2013 as a base for excursions into Waimea Canyon and activities in west and south Kauai. The room was on the second floor, we had to carry our luggage up stairs but that wasn't a big deal for us. The room looked new and well done with stone-tile in the bathroom and granite counter-top on the kitchenette. There were minimal furnishings, but everything we needed: king bed, nightstand, dresser, TV, air conditioner. A table and 2 chairs were outside on the covered, shared balcony. The kitchenette had a fairly large sink, a small/medium sized refrigerator with a separate freezer with ice-tray, microwave, coffee-maker, and cabinet-drawers containing cutlery, plates, a couple-glasses, a couple mugs, and can and bottler openers, dish-detergent, towels. The room was serviced once when we were there (new towels and trash taken) so I assume the house-keeping schedule is every other day, which is similar to my experience with other small Inns.

The Inn is in the center of town, a couple blocks walk from practically everything: supermarket, quick-food stands and cafes, a bank with auto-teller, a steakhouse restaurant. The movie theater is across the street (we caught a mid-week early show of a recent-release summer block-buster) and the town pier is around the corner and down the block for viewing the sunset.

the West Inn had everything we needed, and we were quite satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksanybody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

We spent a few days in Waimea after a kayak trip down the Na Pali Coast. The location was perfect for accessing Waimea Canyon, Polihale, Hanapepe and a few surf spots. The West Inn was very clean and comfortable. The rooms were brand new. The full kitchen was very nice and allowed us to take advantage of the patio and grills that were available for use. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend the West Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We were looking for reasonable hotel in Kauai. The West Inn in Waimea has nice room, great bath, kitchen and WiFi also very easy to find. If you are visiting the canyon it is the place to stay. Friendly staff, clean room but on view. After the Canyon this location is a drive to the all other location as it located at the West end of the island. Great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Was overwhelmed by the welcoming atmosphere by the staff as well as the fellow travelers. The rooms were nice, new and clean. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly atmosphere and accommodating services. I have high hopes of returning!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T, Manager at The West Inn Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Mahalo for spending a few moments to send in a review. We try our best to have an inviting laid back feel to our hotel and are so happy that our guests feel so comfortable with the condition of the rooms as well as the friendliness of our staff. Mahalo for staying at The West Inn and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Decided to spend a night in the area to make the most of a day at Waimea Canyon. Glad we picked the West Inn for the night! This hotel is clean, fresh and new. The a/c was frosty, the room and bath spacious and it had a kitchenette with frige and freezer. Had a room on the top floor. The shared balcony wraps around the hotel so you can check out the action on the main drag or take in the view over the rooftops of the pier at Lucy Wright Park. And this place has the best looking grassed parking lot I've ever seen!

Room Tip: Room 10 on the back top corner has great light and a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lark536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T, Manager at The West Inn Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The West Inn and thank you for your review. I will pass the message onto our landscaping crew as they have worked very hard to get the grassed parking area to look that good and will also let the cleaning staff know that they are doing a great job in keeping the units new and fresh. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

If looking for a place to stay on the West Side of Kauai where you're greeted by chickens and a barefoot friendly guy with a no nonsense check in, this is the place for you!
This was a great find to avoid all the traffic to get to Hanapepe for a three day senior softball tournament and the room was a wonderful reprieve to rest before the next day on the field.
There was everything you need, great eating places and grocery stores within walking distance and the local theatre is right across the street. The Shrimp Shack which was two doors down was my favorite!
If you have interests to conquer on this side of Kauai or simply want to gey away, this is the place to kick back in "country local style"!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T, Manager at The West Inn Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our brand new hotel. With all of the softball tournaments that happen on Kauai we are happy that off-island players coming to the west side have more than one option for a place to stay. It's great to be able to accommodate players whether they are playing in Waimea, Kekaha or Hanapepe. Better to spend more time practicing than driving for 1/2 hour. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The West Inn and look forward to seeing you in the future. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

We stumbled across this place on a Sunday afternoon, when all the B and Bs in town had no one at home. A new place with great rooms - big, good beds, wifi, refridgerator etc and nice lanai. A skip to the beach too. Oscar, the front of house manager was just great and very laid back - a good example being that we weren't sure if we would be checking out the following day but had to be up at 4am for a diving trip so arranged with him that if we left our bags in the room we would be coming back, which we did. Well located for seeing the South and West of the island. A word of warning though about Waimea - make sure you eat in the evening well before 9pm as nothing is open after that. Having said this the town is welcoming as are the locals. Thumbs up to the West Inn, Oscar and Waimea.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
21.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,381 reviews
22.9 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
62 reviews
22.9 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waimea Plantation Cottages
22.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Inn Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Inn Kauai

Address: 9690 Kaumualii Hwy., Box 1032, Waimea, Kauai, HI 96796
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Waimea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range: £169 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The West Inn Kauai 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly constructed in 2011, this 20 unit hotel is located in the town of Waimea on the west side of Kauai. All rooms and suites come equipped with air conditioning, free wi-fi, free parking, cable TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and more. Great location for people coming to work at KVMH, KTF or PMRF(only a 10 minute drive) or for people wanting to visit the west side attractions like Waimea Canyon, Polihale Beach, Historic Waimea Town or those taking a boat tour out of Port Allen. Great location if you are going to Waimea Canyon for the day and don't want the long drive home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The West Inn Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The West Inn Kauai Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing