We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing vistas of Waimea Canyon”
Review of Kukui Trail

Kukui Trail
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Most amazing vistas of Waimea Canyon”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Wow! We randomly stopped here toward the end of our day at Waimea and Koke'e Park just because we wanted the pleasure of staring at the Waimea Canyon one more time. We walked the very short and easy Iliau Nature Trail and took in some simply stunning views of Waimea. There was no one else there and I think this stop-over may even be preferable to the tourist-heavy Waimea Canyon Lookout. The views are just as good, if not better. There are also many beautiful flowers here and didactics highlighting the native flora and fauna. But, truly, this place is ideal for just parking it and taking it all in. I wish that we had stopped here for that day's lunchtime picnic. There is no parking lot. It's just one of the spots where you pull off the road, but it is well marked.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alli-gators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing scenic vista of Waimea Canyon”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Just 30 seconds into the start of this trail you will see spectacular views of Waimea Canyon. The trail is a bit challenging for anyone with knee problems but a great hike that is well worth doing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AbbintheATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Citrus Heights, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Quite a view!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We hiked only about half of this trail today because it is in pretty bad shape, needs maintenance. We saw wild goats and the Waimea Canyon views are excellent, but the trail footing is treacherous after the first half to three quarters of a mile. We turned around at the mile marker because we did not want any sprains or broken bones. Even so, the views are awesome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GLADSENIOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great views of canyon!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This is a strenuous 2.5 mile descent into the canyon (approx 5 miles round trip). If you want canyon views this is a great trail to do. Be prepared though, there isn't much shade cover for at least the first 1.5 miles. I have done this trail twice, both times I backpacked, but that isn't necessary. Just remember, you are hiking straight down, and then straight back up. The second time I hiked just down the trail and then hiked the Waimea Trail, along the river below and hiked out of the canyon to Waimea town (this way is about 14 miles). If you are looking canyon views instead of a rainforest view this is a great hike to do. Also, both times I've hiked it I ran into LOTS of mosquitos once I got below the tree line....don't forget the repellent, you need it for the second half of the hike!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank atlstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kukui Trail also viewed

 

Been to Kukui Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing