We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good visit this time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not a good visit this time!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I am a huge Four Seasons fan, they are my preferred hotels worldwide, and I've stayed at many all over the world. There is so much to love about the brand. However, a recent stay at Koele was a huge disappointment! I won't go back until things improve.
The Lodge at Koele is magnificent, I especially love the huge open "living room", and having come from Maui, it felt wonderful to have a fire going and the temperatures at Koele are much cooler, so be forewarned, bring long pants and a sweater.
Upon check in, our room, which was in the main living area, and an upgrade that I had to beg for, which is my huge pet peeve about Four Seasons, procuring an upgrade seems to be something I am unable to do, even though I have frequented their hotels for over 20 years. But, in this case, I lucked out and was given a big room with a wood burning fireplace. However, the air-conditioning wasn't working and the girl who escorted me up had no idea how it worked. The room was uncomfortably warm. I needed a nap, so I opened the door and windows and later asked to have the air-conditioning looked at. The maintenance man said that the "chiller" had been turned off and he went to some area above our room and turned it on.
Next evening we returned to our room to find "meat Locker" temperatures. I turned the a/c off, it was impossible to adjust at the thermostat for some reason. However, nothing worked and the cold air kept coming. At midnight we were so uncomfortably cold we phoned the front desk. A security man brought us a space heater and four blankets. We turned the heater on, put some blankets on the bed and were eventually able to sleep.
At breakfast on my first morning there, I order an egg dish, which was on the breakfast menu, it came with added mushrooms, though these were not listed as part of the ingredients in the dish. I am allergic to mushrooms. I had eaten a few bites before I saw the offenders and had some intestinal issues for part of the day.
The next day was Easter Sunday and after church we returned to the hotel, looking forward to their Easter Brunch. We found that the "brunch" was a set menu of three courses. I asked if I could have just the eggs, which was one of the choices and the server came back to say that the chef said that he could not do this, that I would have to pay for all three courses ($60) if I just wanted the eggs. The other option was their lunch menu, which didn't have eggs as an option. I asked one of the staff if he could intercede with the chef to see if I could get some kind of egg dish and he came back and said that I could have Eggs Benedict, which wasn't the Ahi Eggs Benedict which was on the special menu. That was fine with me.
I waited ONE HOUR to receive the egg dish. At no time did our server come to our table and tell us what was the problem in the kitchen. I am now wondering if I was being "punished" by the chef and made to sit and wait for my eggs?
I was told that I would be hearing from the Manager, but of course, I didn't. I much prefer to air my grievances DIRECTLY with a hotel, before I write a bad review, I feel that this is the fair way to handle things, but Four Seasons doesn't seem to care and doesn't appreciate a good customer, at least they don't appreciate me! A recent email asking me to fill out a review was deleted by me. Why bother?
Be forewarned also, you CANNOT USE THE POOL AT THIER SISTER HOTEL IN MANELE BAY. This is a new rule. You most likely won't use the pool at Koele, because a) it's not very inviting, and b) the weather is usually too cold.
This was my third stay at Koele, I have had consistent problems with the level of service in their dining room on all my stays. I would say it's the only Four Seasons where I have not had a good experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 06222012a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    71
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
134
440
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Gentle, quiet lodge with Carnegie Hall symphonic music drifting from its lobby greeted us on our arrival. Courteous, helpful staff met all of our needs as we registered. Fresh pineapple/lemon juice was offered as we took care of checking in. Enormous first floor room was delightfully decorated with beautiful window treatments and comfy bed. Bathroom was roomy and well apportioned . We rented a jeep early on day 2 and drove to Garden of the Gods, a little tricky because of the rains the day before. Red hills and floating rocks covered the ground leading to vast cliffs and sparkling blue ocean. Returned to the Lodge for a yummy lunch; then proceeded to the Shipwreck Beach area. Take a camera with a telephoto lens and watch for the sea turtles that are chomping on the green seaweed that covers many of the rocks at shore break.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a spa day at beautiful Manele Beach Hotel. Shuttles run back and forth between Four Seaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringaroundtherosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Although I have stayed at the Lodge at Koele, each time brings a wonderful new wonderful experience. This stay was no exception. We had a wonderful time. Each staff member made our stay a great one. My grand daughter (2 years 8 months) had a wonderful time riding a horse. Stable personnel were wonderful with her and she smiled all the time. Still talks about her ride and wants to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Very quiet place so no noise to keep you awake. Beautiful setting. I always a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian W, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Aloha,

Mahalo for returning to the Lodge at Koele and sharing your most recent experience with us. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and that your grand daughter also did. We will be sure to give the team at the stables kudos for your recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

A Hui Hou,

Ian Williams
Hotel Manager
Ian.Williams@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertville, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a must stay if you have time and a multiple island trip in mind. It is a very laid back, relaxing experience. The staff is great and the grounds are amazing. You have access to both Four Season results with a shuttle to and from. The temperature at the Lodge rarely gets above 75 and then you can be shuttled to the Beach to enjoy the sunshine and the ocean with temps in the mid 80's. If you are a golfer, call first. The Manele Bay course is open but the Lodge course is being refurbished and is closed currently. The Lodge has tennis (rebound ace surface courts and is experimenting with a grass court. Horseback riding, and opportunities to explore the area are readily available through the concierge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Amazing service and quiet luxury, like authentic Hawaii used to be.
Service is the best!
This hotel in the quiet cooler area of the island, close to Lana'i City, where you
can get a meal or visit the Dole Museum. If you are looking for lots of sun and wild nightlife, this is not the place for you.
This hotel is best for Couples and Golfers, I'd not recommend it for families.
Activities: putting course, hiking, swimming, golf (extra $$$$$), snorkel (included),jeep rentals ($$$$), and horseback riding($$$$). For a romantic evening , take a horse drawn carriage ride and dine at the Lana'i Grill (in the Hotel Lana'i) at sunset.
Food is pricey but service is great. Warning - Golf course is closed, being redesigned, expect some noise from the work being done.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a larger room, and get a better view (gardens or sunset), downstairs rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna4boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have stayed many times at Koele, but this is the first review I have written. We are Hawaii residents and this is our favorite weekend getaway to relax and recharge in an environment that provides such. From the moment you arrive, you experience great service that Four Seasons is known for. Upon arrival at the hotel, you are greeted with flower leis and welcoming staff. The lodge is classically beautiful, surrounded by very complimentary landscaping. We enjoyed taking walks around the grounds. The food and beverage is excellent, using the freshest ingredients and many local products to create unique as well as standard menu items. You also have the option of dining at the Four Seasons Manele Bay hotel as there is a shuttle between the two properties. The pool is a nice and peaceful place to relax and also enjoy the jacuzzi in the early evening on a cool night. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well appointed. We loved having the windows open for cool, fresh air at night. Housekeeping does a good job keeping the rooms nice. Everyone we met at the hotel was friendly, helpful and showed the spirit of "aloha". We hope to see you again.
Mahalo Nui Loa for everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Wonderful place for total relaxation. Peaceful and beautiful. Attention to detail by the staff is amazing. One of our favorite places to visit in Hawaii. Enjoy the property, take a hike, rent a jeep and tour the island, sit on the front porch during happy hour and watch the sun set over the trees.

Room Tip: do not need to upgrade. all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
16.5 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
313 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
17.5 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Property: Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is currently closed and is undergoing an exciting renovation program. We look forward to sharing details on our project and opening date in the future. Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing