We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, like stepping back in time”
Review of Hotel Lanai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lanai
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Built in the 1920’s, this hotel maintains a historic feel. The rooms are basic, but small details like original doorknobs on the door, woven mats on the floor and handmade quilts on the bed make for a delightful stay. The big windows which look out onto the garden in front are a constant reminder that you are in a tropical paradise. If you are hungry in the morning, perhaps head over to the Blue Star Ginger Café, as the continental breakfast is pretty sparse, and in a fatal flaw, uses fruit trucked in from the mainland rather than local island-grown fruit, of which there is plenty. However, the baked goods do seem to be homemade and are quite good. It is a great location, right in Lanai City, however you do have to take a shuttle to the beach. As a tip, unlimited shuttle access is an extra $30/day, but I think you can also just pay $10 to ride the shuttle, and even if you have to pay per ride (but the $10 might cover the entire day), you will probably come out ahead. The Four Seasons Lodge at Koele is walking distance, and it is really fun to just walk through the lobby and out to the gardens. The lobby is sort of Indiana Jones-esque, with high wood ceilings, high-back chairs with coffee tables made out of huge logs, and two fireplaces. The restaurant has venison on the menu, and the garden is also the start of an amazing 5 mile roundtrip hike to Koilokoi Ridge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbyrdCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lanai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was our third trip to Lanai, and second stay at Hotel Lanai. We love watching the town go by from our lanai. The members of the staff and management are all very welcoming. Continental breakfast was a great way to start our day. Dinner at the restaurant onsite is not to be missed; plan to have part of it for lunch the next day!

Room Tip: We love the lanai rooms!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pattic777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

An older building but fairly well maintained surrounded by Norfolk pines. Located a few steps from "Lanai city" which is really only encompasses about three square blocks. Our room was simple with not a lot of amenities. Shower leaked on to floor. Personally, we can live without TV for a while so it's not a big thing for us. Walls are paper thin. A honeymooning couple in the room next to us kept us up most of the night. Thank god they were there for only one night! As I said the walls are thin; doors opening/closing, people coming and going,etc. You can't beat the location though. Very expensive restaurant within the building with average food. Nice staff who are willing to go out of their way to help you. Shuttle at your front door. Lanai is a unique place worth exploring. Would stay here again but request room with private balcony next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

As a result of an awesome deal on Hawaiian Air, my boyfriend and I found ourselves forced to go to Maui during a lovely winter on the mainland...it was a great decision!! We decided to explore the nearby island of Lana'i and we were not disappointed. The other lodging options are both Four Seasons resorts, so if you want to spend a night or two on this beautiful little island, then definitely book a room at Hotel Lanai. The hotel is small (only about 10-12 rooms) but comfortable. Our room was right by the lobby, so you could hear the music at night, but it never really got loud or disruptive. Of course there was no TV to drown everything night, but that was actually a draw for us.

The hotel offers a continental breakfast in their lobby, which you can eat on the porch or back in your room. The front desk helped with everything from arranging a Jeep rental, and providing beach/snorkel equipment, to calling up the Four Seasons on the beach to find out the weather! The island does have varying climates, so this was especially helpful! All of the staff members were friendly and nice.

The hotel is right in front of the "main town" which is about 4 blocks! A bit shocking for a city kid, but a welcomed, refreshing experience. The town has a grocery store with numerous supplies and snack options (perfect for a beach picnic), as well as some cute stores, local art, and food options. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent, definitely the best on the island. We also visited some of the local places, which were generally good. The free shuttle bus to either Four Seasons hotel stops right in front of the hotel, and ran from early in the morning to late night, with hours posted in the lobby. It was a great option for the beach, as well as checking out parts of the island, and hopping over to the other hotels for a late night drink.

To really get around to some of the other beaches and amazing landscapes, definitely rent a Jeep! It was worth it to have it for just a day, and the staff at the front desk was able to give us recommendations based on the weather to pick which day to rent.

All in all, it was a great stay and we had an amazing time on our own little private island.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great little property located right in the heart of Lana'i town. Although there are two Four Seasons hotels located on the island, this is the place to stay to really get the true Lana'i island experience. Rooms were very comfortable and well-appointed and they have the best restaurant on the island by far, the Lana'i City Grille.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thednadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hotel Lanai is truly your home away from home. Even prior to entering the building, we could sense the feeling of Ohana (family) surrounding the hotel. The entire staff was gracious and truly treated us like we were part of their family, staying at their home. The rooms were excellent and the restaurant was incredible. The hotel was conveniently located in walking distance to the shops & restaurants in the heart of Lanai city. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Lanai over the other two hotels on the island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at this property for 3 nights and it was a delight. No TV, telephone and no hassles. The restaurant was nice, but try the local eateries around the park for a great local flavor. Be sure to rent a 4 wheel drive vehicle and go to some of the isolated beaches. It is a rough long ride to get to them but well worth it. If you like fancy or glitz this is NOT your place. If slow and easy is the pace you want Hotel Lanai is it.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a shared porch overlooking the town center.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Southernadvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
20.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
484 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
376 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
539 reviews
15.6 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club  - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lanai

Address: 828 Lanai Avenue, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Region: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range: £95 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lanai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the towering Cook pines is a small country inn with ten plantation-style rooms and a private cottage called Hotel Lanai. It is a historic landmark, built in 1923 by James Dole as lodging for his pineapple plantation executives. Inside Hotel Lanai is a beautiful restaurant and bar, the Lanai City Grille, with award-winning cuisine. Tourists can relax in the cool breezes, enjoy the quiet atmosphere, and appreciate affordable accommodations. Complementary continental breakfast is provided to registered hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lanai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lanai City
Hotel Lanai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing