We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel choice on Lanai!”
Review of Hotel Lanai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lanai
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best hotel choice on Lanai!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

There are two Four Seasons resorts on the Isle of Lanai, great hotels...but I wouldn't choose either over the Hotel Lanai. The owners and staff are super friendly. The on-site restaurant: superb. This is the place the locals go to celebrate special occasions, and rightly so. There is a fun little bar, a great wine list and a menu to write home about. Simply outstanding!
Our room was large and comfortable. The bed may well be the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. This place is right in the center of Lani City. You can walk to everything, but the island's shuttle will take you to the two Four Season hotels, the airport and the ferry dock.
This hotel is outstanding, but it won't break the bank. Nice continental breakfast is included. Great coffee and whatever that juice is, it's addictive. At about half the price of the other hotels on Lanai, this is the one to pick.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms. I don't see how you could go wrong. Make sure to eat in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogusmalarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    65
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
21
117
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We loved our accommodations and wonderful service at the Hotel Lana'i! It felt like we were really experiencing history in a lovingly cared for, nearly 100 year old plantation built by James Dole for his Dole pineapple company executives. We had a shared balcony, which we used every day to curl up in our wicker furniture and relax. Our little hotel provided a wonderful breakfast with homemade granola cereal, fresh fruits, quiche, pineapple smoothies, coffee, and tea... one of the best "continental" breakfasts we've ever had! The Lana'i Grill restaurant was incredible... we had dinner there twice and enjoyed bacon wrapped scallops, mahi mahi, and filet mignon... yummy food with great service + presentation! We loved being able to walk into Lana'i City and explore the town, lunching at Blue Ginger, and having dinner at Pele's with one of their many beers on tap. We would definitely come back to this lovely hotel. Thank you, Mike, Sara, Bart, Teresa, and all the rest of the friendly staff. You really made our 25th wedding anniversary very special!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -WGBH-311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is the old Dole Plantation building where the workers could enjoy themselves.
The building is in good condition and the rooms are quite comfortable, but there is very little privacy as you can hear your neighbors talk, the walls are so thin. There is an active bar and restaurant on the premises and that is equally noisy until it closes. This is closed on a Monday and Tuesday.
The hotel is very conveniently located in Lanai City with all the retail businesses located about the grass square in front of the hotel.
A shuttle service provides, for a fixed one time charge, service to all three hotels on the island as well as to the airport and ferry. This runs every hour until 4 30 when it is every half hour.
Every one on the island is very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: There are two rooms with their own external access on each wing of the hotel. We did not see inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StewLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at this wonderful property to celebrate the new year after a hectic 2013. What a great way to start - relaxing, friendly, no TV, a taste of old Hawaii. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are like a flashback to the old plantation times with wooden floors and Hawaiian quilt spreads, and so much more reasonably priced. The complimentary breakfast is yummy, although you are only a short walk from the "town" and other great choices. And the hotel restaurant is absolutely fabulous! Dinner there nearly every night of our stay and not one bad meal. It was a fantastic way to start 2014. We'll be back for sure.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harding, PA 18643
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Staff at Hotel Lanai are fantastic & know what the Aloha Spirit is all about. There was not one person there that wasn't kind, considerate & helpful. Their dinners are better then the Four Seasons and half the price.

Room Tip: You are up in the mountain so it is wonderful to sleep in any of their rooms with your windows wide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

If you are like me, you will quickly tire of Maui and the endless resorts that are all alike. The best part about Maui is it's only a short ferry ride over to Lanai. Options are limited for hotels, but if you are escaping resorts anyhow then you're the type of person who would enjoy Hotel Lanai. A true step back in time, the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and comfortable and have everything you need (as long as you don't "need" TV!). My only regret is the restaurant on site was not open, but they made sure we knew this when we booked. If you have a choice on dates be sure to go when it's open. We enjoyed walking around the town park with towering Norfolk pines right across the street, and visiting the local museum in the former Dole Pineapple Headquarters next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ontheroadsince64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I could be the reviewer from hell for this resort... as I was raised in hawaii and have 40 years of Hawaii and international hotel management experience...but i am not. I am a huge fan.
Our recent vacation to Hotel Lanai was simply outstanding. It is a wonderful repurposing of an old guest quarters for Dole Pineapple. The location in Lanai City is very convenient, with regular shuttles available. The architecture of the hotel reminds me of my old house in Hilo and truly captures the ambiance of old Hawaii. While the architecture and facilities of Hotel Lanai are traditional, they are spotlessly clean and well maintained. The owners and staff of the Hotel have seized every opportunity to add luxury and comfort where it can be done without compromising the ambiance of the Hotel. The beds and linen are great. And there are so many touches of authentic Hawaii throught the Hotel. Yes, parts of the building are a bit rustic, but that adds to the charm of the place.
Be sure to ask for rooms 1, 2,9 or 10 to enjoy a comfortable lanai that is a part of only these rooms. Something wonderful about having a lanai, at Hotel Lanai on the isle of Lanai... while there is no view from the lanai, it was fun to watch the sun set behind beautiful norfolk pines with a refreshing gin and tonic in hand.
Check out the restaurant too. Our party of four enjoyed the mahi, sea bass and venison. All were well prepared and delicious. Like all of Lanai (except the bigger hotels) the restaurant oozes a laid back vibe that is perfect.
If you want to taste a bit of the magic of old Hawaii be sure to include a night or two at the Hotel Lanai. It is a remarkable diversion from the antiseptic and cliche chain hotels throughout Hawaii.
A quiet rest in Lanai from the rest of your multi-island trip is akamai!

Room Tip: Rooms #1,2,9 or 10 for the porch/lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mahalomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
20.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
466 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 32 in Lahaina
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
330 reviews
18.2 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
531 reviews
15.6 mi away
Marriott's Maui Ocean Club  - Lahaina & Napili Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lanai

Property: Hotel Lanai
Address: 828 Lanai Avenue, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Region: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lanai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the towering Cook pines is a small country inn with ten plantation-style rooms and a private cottage called Hotel Lanai. It is a historic landmark, built in 1923 by James Dole as lodging for his pineapple plantation executives. Inside Hotel Lanai is a beautiful restaurant and bar, the Lanai City Grille, with award-winning cuisine. Tourists can relax in the cool breezes, enjoy the quiet atmosphere, and appreciate affordable accommodations. Complementary continental breakfast is provided to registered hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lanai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lanai City
Hotel Lanai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing