We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice uncrowded hike!”
Review of Koloiki Ridge Hike

Koloiki Ridge Hike
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nice uncrowded hike!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I loved the feeling of being able to take the kids on this hike, it flanked a golf course then came to a beautiful view of the island of maui as you were perched on a cliff. It was about 5 miles round trip, well marked, but a bit far for the kids. Still, well worth doing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kyrahanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An easy but beautiful walk.”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Whether starting from the Lodge at Koele or from where the Munro Trail meets the highway, this rather easy walk takes a person through a variety of mini ecosystems. It provides scientific interest as well as beauty. The views from the ridge, itself, at the far point of this walk, are, indeed, grand!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EggplantCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The trailis clearly marked and the view at the end is spectacular! It was a nice workout - we did it in just over 2 hours with our pokey 8 year old.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TKIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The first 2/3 of this hike are okay. Some of it follows the Munro Trail which is a dirt road. Once you branch off the road and head toward the ocean and the lookout the views get better with every step. I missed the last marker, #20, and my 5 mile hike turned into a 7 mile trip but I don't have any complaints. Along the way I saw a lot of deer and two sheep. That extra mile was through some prickly scrub brush and I wouldn't do that part again without long pants. Make sure you bring water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Harder than we thought...”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was a 5 mile hike. Scenery was beautiful and the end made it worth it. My husband wore slippers and that was a mistake. Take plenty of water...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cs-clover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Koloiki Ridge Hike also viewed

 

Been to Koloiki Ridge Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing