We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Eco Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maui Eco Retreat
Ranked #5 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First timer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I was travelling back to Australia from the States and decided it was way past time to visit Hawaii. Maui was the island that spoke to my heart and through a mutual friend Maui Eco Retreat found me and I'm so glad it did. I felt safe to relax, explore, rest and revive my spirit, mind and body and the retreat is a gorgeous environment to do that in - loved the rich greeness of this side of the island and away from the hustle and bustle of the traffic and big resorts too.

Room Tip: If you stay on the top floor of the shared house you will be sharing a bathroom
See more room tips
Green Features: A true eco retreat - living what they teach and teaching what they live. Power use was limited but not prohibitive in fact it made me more aware of my surroundings and my impact on my environment
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    9
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
51
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I went to Maui Retreat in search of downtime and knowledge. I received that and so much more. I was constantly stunned by the beauty of the buildings and the ocean views. I loved the hike through the jungle to the private lagoon. The people were all friendly and welcoming, and Raphael was a wonderful host, going out of his way to make sure i enjoyed my stay. I didn't get to meet Kutira as she was in Bhutan at the time, but hopefully next time! If you want an experience that is both soothing and expansive, this is the place for you...

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

An Amazing experience. It is so peaceful A meditation building overlooking the ocean. It is definitely an eco-retreat. The owners are very pleasant. The accommodation were good. The smell of sandalwood permeated the dining room and the kitchen. The views from the room and gardens are breathtaking. The drive to the place is through a dirt wooded road. Was not expecting that.

Room Tip: They are all good. If you can afford it, the cottages have amazing views.
See more room tips
Green Features: True believers. Recycle almost everything. Reminders to turn off lights. Composting.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anushidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I was travelling on my own and stayed in the Hawaiian Room. The views were spectacular, the hospitality inviting and warm and the music offered by Raphael and Kutira soothing. I highly recommend this for people who are not into the condo/hotel experience.

Room Tip: The Hawaiian room provides a breeze. A definite must for those warm nights.
See more room tips
Green Features: very high and a great example of how to run a business that incorporates standards to follow
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cavelleardiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here my friend and I to be able to start the hana road early and beat the crowds. Such a beautiful place with views on the ocean. Best sunrise ever! And my favourite part was the trail down to the water fall. We did the top part to have a swim in the top pool but also went all the way down (crazy trail, needed ropes and all (already there on the trail) anyway I had a blast! My friend thought she was going to die but anyway haha. The waterfall at the end was a great reward.
Best place ever!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Indian room :)
See more room tips
Green Features: Amazing! The whole point is environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XXX2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishikesh, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Rare,precious, profound,can't begin to describe the Maui Retreat experience. We all search for our own" little piece of heaven", and this beautifully landscaped, enchanting property, in lush tropical nature,exquisitely decorated with artifacts from around the world that make you feel like you've visited all their origins in a day, gives you so much more than any luxury Eco-resort. To begin with the owners Kutira and Raphael, are two of the most creative, talented, inspiring individuals you can ever be privileged to meet.They are pure delight openly sharing their wealth of information and what they have spent the last 20 years of their lives creating as a tribute to Eco-friendly sustainable living at its best. It is rare to vacation in a spot where there are so many special treasures available inside that you don't ever want to go out of the gate. As for as scenic nature adventures the breathtaking journey down the cliffs to the sea rewards you not only with a fantastic swim in the ocean but a little further along the trail will take you to the spectacular waterfalls and pools.The intricately carved and decorated temples are the perfect spot for meditation or quiet reflection. This land is sacred; you feel its healing touch your body and soul just walking barefoot across the grass or sitting in the silent jungle areas serenaded by so many birds. For me this was the greatest gift of this magical place, you don't have to "do"anything, though there are Yoga classes and massage available. The land heals you just basking in her natural beauty and serene stillness being caressed by gentle ocean breezes..Its a place you feel grateful every moment that you found it and know that you will never be able to stay away for too long.

Room Tip: Each room is beautifully decorated in its own unique style. All have fantastic different views of t...
See more room tips
Green Features: This property has won many awards for Green Living esp.for building entirely from bamboo.They are “off the grid”;electricity comes entirely from solar panels, water is pumped up from 460-foot wells connected to an underground aquifer.generator using bio-diesel, which is fuel made from vegetable oil.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Maui Retreat was a great place to get away from it all. When we turned off the main road for the first time we knew we were someplace special. Aromatic flowers filled the breeze. Tropical leaved drooped over the roof of the car. Soon (after getting a little lost) we were greeted by the Hindu Goddess of Music at the entrance to the Eco Retreat. We were greeted by an Intern who showed us around and to our Cottage. Soon we met Kutira and Rafael the hosts and creators of the retreat. They are a wealth of creativity, generosity and experience they easily share. I can't say enough about the beauty and carefully landscaped surroundings. The views of the ocean are simply exquisite. The Thai Hale Cottage is a work of art, literally.

While you will not receive the usual amenities you get at a hotel, you do receive, comfort and serenity. We gladly traded in folded toilet paper edges and hotel soap for the cool ocean breeze and the sweet songs of the local birds. If you are prepared with what you need, (soap, shampoo, coffee and salt) you will blissfully pass each day with an abundance of adventure and fun. There are plenty of hiking trails on the property, a fun shopping town called Paia a half hour away and many beaches both near and far.

Room Tip: The entire area is very peaceful. The cottages have the best ocean views.
See more room tips
Green Features: This retreat is completely off the grid. They have a sustainable practice of housekeeping, cleaning and landscaping.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillaryheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
18.2 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
7.1 mi away
Banyan Bed and Breakfast Retreat
27.5 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eco Retreat

Property: Maui Eco Retreat
Address: 610 Huelo Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years we have tended to this land and respected the Hawaiian nature and ancient way of living in harmony with Mother Earth. We are proud of our achievements in the past 25 years consciously carving and creating out of raw jungle a template for future sustainable living. Are you ready to embark on a journey off the beaten path and discover the elegance of sustainable living? Permitted since 2009 # BBPH/0003. Our Tax ID is 063-848-6J28-01. This extraordinary place is full of genuine Hawaiian Mana which means blessings. It can be felt the moment you set foot on our lush green land. Whether you are seeking sanctuary, looking to write the next chapter of your life, or are simply on vacation, come explore sustainable living on Maui's 5-star certified Eco-Retreat, voted 'The Greenest Spot on Maui' and the proud recipient of the 'Platinum Green Leadership Award since 2013 up to this day. Maui Retreat is a 10-acre, secluded oceanfront property with amazing waterfall trails ending at a lagoon for swimming. We are completely off-grid and you'll enjoy: solar power, delicious well water, temples to meditate, create or relax in. It is simply a very romantic setting. We offer luxurious and unique accommodations. Organic coconuts on-site and tropical fruits are available when in season. Choosing our place means you automatically lower your carbon footprint. When staying with us you are contributing to the sustainable green living movement that is expanding daily. Escape the tourist-filled places. This is the old Hawaii you have been looking for: exotic, wild, waterfalls, hiking trails, lush bamboo forests next to the ocean, and yet only 15 min drive away from Haiku shopping centers and restaurants, and 25 minutes from Pa'ia. Note to Parents: We are not the perfect place for small children. Children older than 5 years enjoy learning 'living ecologically safe' and we welcome their participation in the garden. We are EXCITED to announce that as of the 1st of September 2016, after much planning, anticipation and roadblocks to overcome, the badly needed road repair and upgrade has been successfully completed. Mother Nature had definitely taken her toll on our roads! Now with the vast improvements, and thanks to a dedicated road repair crew and the help of local volunteers, the last stretch of the drive to our magical resort is now as smooth and enjoyable as it is beautiful! OPUA GUEST HOUSE The Opua Guest house contains has uniquely appointed and curated bedrooms. The shared fully appointed kitchen and dining space provides our guests a unique meeting place to sit and talk about their experiences while cooking or sharing delicious food. The kitchen bar is handcrafted from beautiful bamboo material and the large bamboo dining table hosts 8 people comfortably. LOTUS ROOM Our ground floor master bedroom is a spacious room with stunning ocean views, floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook a lotus pond. This room includes private bathroom with shower, and a large in-room closet. Sliding glass doors open to a large deck for sunning and meditation DOLPHIN ROOM Our Dolphin Room, located on the first floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Sliding glass doors open to a stunning Brazilian pepper tree, with views of the lotus pond and ocean. The uniquely designed bamboo canopy bed is perfect for couples or singles. INDIAN ROOM Our Indian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. With windows on both sides, providing views of the Haleakala crater, the ocean, and our jungle-like garden. The room is tastefully decorated with offerings from India and Tibet. HAWAIIAN ROOM Our Hawaiian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Celebrating the spirit of the islands with Hawaiian art and exotic wood flooring, and a large private deck with spectacular ocean and crater views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Retreat Hotel Haiku
Maui Eco Retreat Haiku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing