We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing into Beauty”
Review of Maui Eco Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maui Eco Retreat
Ranked #5 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Our experience of Maui Retreat was a heart dive into Maui's magical tropical embrace.
It was so healing to get away from the tourist zone and to be in a place of such lovliness and care. We were able to slowly relax into the beauty, slow pace, and peace.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank gettestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2011

We felt a part of the family at Maui Retreat center as soon as we arrived, when we arrived it was late and one of the owners graciously walked us down to our desitnation temple ''Bamboo Temple" when we stepped thru the door of the temple it took our breath away, more than we expected.... very dreamy and heavenly, nothing we had ever experienced before. He went over the map of the grounds with us a shared some personal insights with us as well. When we awoke in the morning.. Wow I cant say enough about the view, thru the picturesque window of the Bamboo Temple, as you lay in bed you could see the whales jumping splashing and playing, again a one of a kind Treat!! Very private and lovely grounds, very soothing. We always felt very serene... truly a place for retreating into your heart. Our temple was fully equipped kitchen and very spacious thru out, our bed was comfortable and a unique bamboo canopy style. Our outside shower was private and gorgeous, we always had plenty of hot water. I loved the idea that we were partaking in preserving and conserving Mother Earth, partaking, and living in a sustainable living community setting is a dream in our hearts. The retreat grounds are breath taking, so much love and generosity put into this whole heavenly place. They offer you so much beautiful music to choose from in your room and main house as well, the musice Temple is great and unique! We didnt mind the 15 min drive to town, we did not leave very much as we felt no desire to leave, we spent the majority of our 5 days on the grounds, truly and Ecstatic experience, Joufully
walking the trails and sitting on our deck viewing the ocean, breathing in the beauty and serenity.
The trail to the pond/swimming hole and waterfall is an amazing hike and a beautiful experience.
The trail to the ocean is an amazing experience as well, Breath taking views. So much beauty filling your soul up to the brim!! We found that everyone we greeted and visited with to be kind hearted and ready to be of service in any way. Truly a paradise to behold. the flowers the Trees the birds the Ocean the atmosphere, as I expressed is Divine.... We will certainly be back, we plan to spend as much time at Maui retreat/kahua institute as we possibly can. As I expressed in One sentence review above, will and is in our Hearts and Souls Forever....Heavenly!!! Kutira and Raphael are an inspiration and truly lovely Human beings, we hope you choose to stay and be with them and there Woofer family!! One of a kind Heavenly Place!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maui98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

It is now two weeks since we left the Maui Eco Retreat and all I can think about is how soon I can return. It was a life changing experience for me. Raphael and Kutira are the most loving and inspiring hosts, and what this property offers is far beyond "accommodation". The people who only see the veneer have missed what is on offer here. This is the old Hawaii. xxxxx

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tanyaByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

I lived on Maui for 6 weeks near the big resorts on the west side, so for my honeymoon, we decided to see what some call "the real Hawaii." We specifically chose Maui Retreat because it fit with our values about sustainability and allowed us to stay for 10 days at the same price you can get two days for at a resort.

Raphael greeted us and showed us a map of the property and told us their space was ours. Kutira was attentive and welcoming when we met her a day later. Both cared that we liked it there and were comfortable and enjoying ourselves. We had the room in the main house with our own bathroom and shower, something we found necessary. The room was clean and turned out for our arrival. We had our own space in the fridge and cabinets and were allowed to use the kitchen whenever we wanted. It helped us save money by having locally grown foods that we could prepare. Since this is more like an extended stay in a house, there is not daily maid service and changed linens. We thought that was great since we were going to be in the room for the time we were there and don't like waste. We also handled our own trash, but that was not an issue at all because we knew what to expect.

The grounds were beautiful. We hiked down to the rocky coast of the north Maui shore and had the space to ourselves. We also went to lagoons and waterfalls on the property where we could swim, clothing optional, if we chose. At times we had complete privacy, but even with other people, it was fine. It was a real adventure.

The location was perfectly situated at the start of the windy part of the Road to Hana and also close to the hippie town of Paia. We saw basketball coach Don Nelson, who is a locally known character, at a cafe, and just missed a Willie Nelson CD release party at Charlie's. Maui is pretty accessible and we didn't have issues leaving from there, even when we went all the way to the west side for a day.

Roosters will crow in the early morning, but you might sleep through it because the breeze coming into your room from the sea will ease you back to your dreams. The beds were very comfortable and the millions of stars in the sky were our nightlight. It is quiet, remote, and completely exhilarating to be there. It was fantastic!

Should we get back to Maui, we would definitely stay there again. It's low impact living and a real steal for being able to be in paradise without breaking our wallets!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ren5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We just got back from spending 10 days at the Bamboo Temple on the Maui Retreat. This place is one of the most beautiful and tranquil places we've ever stayed. The rates are a great value and we believe you cannot find another eco retreat for this price with all that it offers. The cottage was clean, fresh and ready for us when we arrived, even had fresh flowers from the garden. The owners and employees on the property are all friendly but also respect your privacy so most of the time you feel like you are completely alone wherever you are on the property. However, you can also always find someone if you need anything or just want to learn more about the Maui Retreat.

The Bamboo Temple has an unparalleled and unobstructed view to the ocean--we were even able to whalewatch while sitting on the bed, so don't forget to bring your binoculars! There are floor to ceiling windows looking out over the ocean and also a skylight above the bed--at night you can see the stars and in the morning the sun rises over the ocean which you can also watch from the bed. The Bamboo Temple has a kitchen as well so you can prepare your own meals if you don't want to leave (we recommend stopping at Mana Foods in Paia on the way and get some food there as they have lots of organic, local and vegetarian/vegan items). The outdoor shower is awesome as well. There are trails all over the property and also a trail down to the ocean where we found some great snorkeling--you can hear the whales singing under the water if they are around and we also saw sea turtles and lots of fish, etc.

We also loved all the ecofriendly and sustainable practices the retreat has, including solar/wind power, well water, vermiculture composting, and more. It was wonderful to spend a vacation where we could still be sustainable, keep our carbon footprint lower, and not use tons of resources. The pefect addition to our vacation was renting a Bio Beetle to drive while on Maui (www.bio-beetle.com --it is a car that uses recycled vegetable oil instead of gas!)

If you are looking for a retreat atmosphere in a secluded, breathtaking location that also adheres to sustainable practices, this is definitely worth checking out.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopshackgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We were very disappointed by the Maui Eco Retreat and feel their rates are much too high for the poor standard of lodging they offer. Unfortunately the website is very misleading: one of the main reasons we wanted to visit Maui was to stay at this place and experience a truly low impact vacation with comfortable standards of living. The description on their website proved to be empty hype and in reality, they offer very poor standards of environmentalism and cleanliness. We stayed in the Bamboo Temple, and found it stocked with non-biodegradable soaps (Tide, Kirkland Signature Shampoo/Conditioner) and a Kirkland Brand, non-recycled toilet paper. Our room wasn't cleaned before we arrived at 3pm. We found old coffee in the coffee maker, the outdoor shower was dirty, and the net above the bed was full of gecko poo. We wondered if the sheets had been changed. The land is beautiful, the property is on solar panels and septic, there are chickens that eat guest compost, and they have a well for water. We don't think these factors merit their calling themselves a "five star eco-retreat," as stated on their website. For the rates they charge, they should pay attention to all the details including clean rooms and environmentally friendly products. There was also not as much privacy as advertised: a large truck was parked facing into our windows, and the retreat owner's home is in front of the temple, partially blocking a view of the sea. On the second day of our stay, out of seven, we voiced our concerns to the owners and asked to have our money back (they ask you to pre-pay for your entire stay) so we could go somewhere else for the remainder of our time on Maui. They wouldn't give us our money back and made little attempt to remedy the situation in our lodging. Maui is beautiful and there more comfortable, clean, and authentic ecologically conscious places to stay on the Island. If you expect high standards for $180-$200 per night, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank unpasteurized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

My husband and I recently stayed at Maui Retreat in the Bamboo Temple (October 10-17th). It is located on the North Shore on 15+ acres of gorgeous property that is oceanfront high on a cliffside. There are trails leading down to the ocean for the adventuress. It is truly a beautiful place to rest, explore nature, and de-stress. It is a true eco-lodge and requests guests to adhere to electric, water and waste restriction guidelines. The people in charge were kind, friendly and helpful but also repectful of our privacy and space. At the end of spending busy days exploring Maui, we truly looked forward to returning to our little cottage. We are very happy we stayed at Maui Retreat........ we relaxed, explored, enjoyed the beautiful grounds, loved the refreshing winds, observed beautiful sunrises and experienced peace and quiet. A unique and special place.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
4  Thank AquamarineGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
18.2 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
8.4 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
563 reviews
27.5 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
242 reviews
29.9 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
479 reviews
6.9 mi away
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eco Retreat

Address: 610 Huelo Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5759
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range: £69 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years we have tended to this land and respected the Hawaiian nature and ancient way of living in harmony with Mother Earth. We are proud of our achievements in the past 25 years consciously carving and creating out of raw jungle a template for future sustainable living. Are you ready to embark on a journey off the beaten path and discover the elegance of sustainable living? Permitted since 2009 # BBPH/0003. Our Tax ID is 063-848-6J28-01. This extraordinary place is full of genuine Hawaiian Mana which means blessings. It can be felt the moment you set foot on our lush green land. Whether you are seeking sanctuary, looking to write the next chapter of your life, or are simply on vacation, come explore sustainable living on Maui's 5-star certified Eco-Retreat, voted 'The Greenest Spot on Maui' and the proud recipient of the 'Platinum Green Leadership Award since 2013 up to this day. Maui Retreat is a 10-acre, secluded oceanfront property with amazing waterfall trails ending at a lagoon for swimming. We are completely off-grid and you'll enjoy: solar power, delicious well water, temples to meditate, create or relax in. It is simply a very romantic setting. We offer luxurious and unique accommodations. Organic coconuts on-site and tropical fruits are available when in season. Choosing our place means you automatically lower your carbon footprint. When staying with us you are contributing to the sustainable green living movement that is expanding daily. Escape the tourist-filled places. This is the old Hawaii you have been looking for: exotic, wild, waterfalls, hiking trails, lush bamboo forests next to the ocean, and yet only 15 min drive away from Haiku shopping centers and restaurants, and 25 minutes from Pa'ia. Note to Parents: We are not the perfect place for small children. Children older than 5 years enjoy learning 'living ecologically safe' and we welcome their participation in the garden. We are EXCITED to announce that as of the 1st of September 2016, after much planning, anticipation and roadblocks to overcome, the badly needed road repair and upgrade has been successfully completed. Mother Nature had definitely taken her toll on our roads! Now with the vast improvements, and thanks to a dedicated road repair crew and the help of local volunteers, the last stretch of the drive to our magical resort is now as smooth and enjoyable as it is beautiful! OPUA GUEST HOUSE The Opua Guest house contains has uniquely appointed and curated bedrooms. The shared fully appointed kitchen and dining space provides our guests a unique meeting place to sit and talk about their experiences while cooking or sharing delicious food. The kitchen bar is handcrafted from beautiful bamboo material and the large bamboo dining table hosts 8 people comfortably. LOTUS ROOM Our ground floor master bedroom is a spacious room with stunning ocean views, floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook a lotus pond. This room includes private bathroom with shower, and a large in-room closet. Sliding glass doors open to a large deck for sunning and meditation DOLPHIN ROOM Our Dolphin Room, located on the first floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Sliding glass doors open to a stunning Brazilian pepper tree, with views of the lotus pond and ocean. The uniquely designed bamboo canopy bed is perfect for couples or singles. INDIAN ROOM Our Indian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. With windows on both sides, providing views of the Haleakala crater, the ocean, and our jungle-like garden. The room is tastefully decorated with offerings from India and Tibet. HAWAIIAN ROOM Our Hawaiian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Celebrating the spirit of the islands with Hawaiian art and exotic wood flooring, and a large private deck with spectacular ocean and crater views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Retreat Hotel Haiku
Maui Eco Retreat Haiku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing