We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our Stay 2011”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I have read the reviews on tripadvisor.ca and can only say I am dissapointed of the two reviews of the people who say they had a bad stay at The Haiku Plantation Inn B&B.My wife and I spent ten glorious days ther in October 2011 . Sandy, was THE best host anyone could ask for . The breakfast was always fresh with local fruit ,some of it fresh off the trees on the property.The Avocado's were as big as a softball and so fresh, I didn't know they cold taste so good.
As far as the spectacular old house and the so called bugs, well the bugs in the room as far as I could see were little Gecko's that disapeared as soon as you turned on any source of light or when the sun came out.
It is unfortnate for the two groups of people with the poor reviews had come to stay while Sandy was away dealing with a family loss, and one of the largest storms on record had just ended after two weeks of torenchal downpoor knockig out power, internet and phone service ,which made it impossible for Sandy to contact any body or to even know people were trying to call her or the B&B .
Please read all the reviews for this B&B and you will soon understand that out of all the reviews, it can't be as bad as they say it is. AND IT IS NOT We enjoyed it so much we are hoping to spend our 45th anniversary there in February 2014.
I have in no way been soliceted to write this review. I just think the others were so wrong that I felt compelled to write this. Give this B&B a try .I am sure you won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    23
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
95
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The Haiku Plantation Inn is a charming bed and breakfast in Haiku, a less tourist-y area of Maui and a great place from which to drive the Road to Hana and visit Haleakala National Park. The communal areas and rooms have a lot of character, and the included breakfasts are fantastic. The woman who runs the bed and breakfast is lovely and offers helpful recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLR529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Quebec
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed for two days in this relaxed B&B, in April 2012. Sandy was very accommodating and resourceful. I dearly recommend the place but not if you are looking for some fancy place. It is not; and it is not meant to be (and the price goes accordingly). I dearly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lelecabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a lovely experience during our stay in March. Rainy weather made for peaceful nights listening to the rain fall on the banana and palm leaves outside the window. Roosters crow each morning, and for this country girl it felt like home...but in Hawaii!
Sandy is great and it was nice to share stories with our fellow guests. The home and grounds are beautiful and well-kept. Nothing is perfect in a 100+ year old home set in a rainforest, but if you want sterile, air-conditioned and zero character, go to a hotel. For us, this was perfect and we can't wait to stay next year and the next...

Room Tip: The Plumeria room is nice with lots of windows and a good breeze, but close to the roosters. If that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Sandy was there greet us when we arrived, and bid us adieu when we were off on our journey to see other places in Maui.

We stayed at Haiku so we were close enough to the Haleakala sunrise trip, getting up at 4.15am to arrive at the Crater around 6.15am and the last one in for a parking spot! It was freezing and invigorating to be there amongst around 100 others.

We were also close enough to do the Road to Hana (which is quite doable even for those who are used to driving on the opposite side of the road). The thing was when you got to Hana, I expected to see a Big Welcome you've reached your destination ... guess it's all about the journey and the beautiful scenery you'll see along the way.

For a meal and a drink, you could drop by Paia which was only 5-10 minutes away. Very convenient!

We were very happy with our stay ... I was initially concerned about the "noise" which I read about ... what noise? From memory I did hear roosters crow but that wasn't enough noise to ruin my holiday. The room were comfortable, the breakfasts were filling, and the hostess was accommodating.

If you are looking for a place to stay which gives a Hawaiian vibe, this is the place. So Sandy more success to you!!!

NB the other couples/family also had a very comfortable stay. Haiku Plantation Inn gave out a vibe of "one big happy family"

PS I be posting photos in a short while.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luveely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiTravels, Owner at Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Aloha and mahalo. We do believe in taking the time to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. We want you to relax and enjoy all that Maui has offer and realize just how valuable your stay is not only to us but for our island. We appreciate all the kind words and friendships we make along the way here at the Inn. We hope you all love Maui as much as we do and make wonderful memories and if we can be a part of those fabulous moments, we have done our job well.

Please just let us know if we can assist while you are here or prior to your arrival.

We just have the best guests!

Mahalo again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makawao, Hi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I send all visiting family/friends to the Haiku Plantation Inn as the owner is great, the place is great, the grounds are great! (And I have no room for guests.) I was shocked to read the terrible review from "twolargedogs" as everyone I've sent there has absolutely loved it and loved Sandy, the owner. This is a 150 year old (or more) historic plantation house and it's lovely. I've been there inumerable times and have never noticed anything like "twolargedogs" talked about, obviously, or I'd never send my family and friends there...nor would they all love it. As a Maui resident myself, I know that after a lot of rain (which we had in March) mold happens...we all know that and clean it properly and accordingly afterward.Also, when we have big winds (like we did recently), phone land lines go out and there's nothing that can be done about it until downed lines are found and repaired by the telephone company. I also happen to know that the owner is almost always there, but had to make an emergency trip to the Mainland and normally does not have a "fill in". I would discount that review and pay attention to the other reviews, personally! I fully intend to keep sending family and friends there! (I do NOT, by the way, get any compensation whatsoever for sending people there. I send them there because I know they'll be happy there! I have other friends on Maui who also send people there for the same reason.)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I was so happy to stay in this beautiful old redwood home. It is just beautiful. The beds are so comfortable, sleeping was a pleasure. I was in Maui working and have stayed at numerous hotels on the island. However I really wanted quiet and a comfortable bed. That is exactly what I got and then some. The bathroom was clean and elegant. The room had a beautiful antique sleigh bed with the best mattress ever. And the decorations in not only my room but the whole home were so tasteful and authetic hawaiian. I am not sure what the other people were talking about ripped screens and mold, but I never saw any of this and I had to put things into the refrigerator several times. The grounds are absolutly private and beautiful. I recommend if you want a beautiful quiet place to stay, stay at the Haiku Plantation Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suez777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiTravels, Owner at Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your perspective and honest comments. We do have a lovely home, which is over 150 years old and that is the charm of staying with us. A clean, vintage home, which is truly the oldest standing home on Maui which you can enjoy a lovely stay and experience the real Hawaii.
We do work hard for our guests daily, as well as on the house and grounds to bring a sense of home and comfort to our travelers. Unlike most bed and breakfasts we allow the guests more freedom to explore the home and also use of the main kitchen and not just a microwave and fridge. Mahalo again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
24.5 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
9.7 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
15.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nalu Kai Lodge
Nalu Kai Lodge
#3 of 6 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast

Property: Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Address: 555 Haiku Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5884
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui's original bed and breakfast inn, located in the beautiful North Shore and Upcountry. Historic 1870's home, lovely guest rooms with baths, 2 tropical acres, near beaches, rain forests, crater summit, and all activities. Affordable accommodations, highly rated within guide books and travel magazines. Maui's truly Hawaiian destination sharing the Aloha of Maui. Each guest room is decorated in vintage Hawaiiana style complete with white fluffy towels and complimentary bath products. Continental breakfast included,wifi,free parking. Use of beach equipment: chairs, towels, boogie boards, ice chests, umbrellas. Permit #BBPH2009/07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui b&b
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Hotel Haiku
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed And Breakfast Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing