We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Almost every year for the past 10 years my wife & I have spent a week getaway at the Haiku Plantation Inn.
.
Sandy's hospitality has always been wonderful, and she has some great insights into where to go and what to do on Maui

Sandy's 5 guest rooms are all clean and well furnished. The breakfasts are outstanding, and it is a special treat to spend time with people from all over the planet.

We'll see you next years, Sandy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vplite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    23
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
95
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenox, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Let me start by saying we are New England innkeepers with 14 guest rooms, and we have been at it for 15+ years. We are currently staying at Haiku Plantation, and we are thoroughly enjoying ourselves. We know that most people are staying at faceless hotels on the beach, thinking they are getting a Hawaii experience. Nope. We are staying in an 1870s authentic plantation cottage, hosted by a woman whose goal is to provide the perfect guest experience.

Firstly, she encourages an informality which makes the place seem like she is hosting family. Yet all the amenities you need are readily available: WiFi, guest fridge, etc. As you would want (expect) from an innkeeper, she is a fountain of information - restaurant recommendations, hiking, best beaches.... At breakfast, most of the guests were unabashedly using her to help plan their days around Maui. For a personal touch, Sandy heard that my wife and I were celebrating our 35th anniversary, and when we came back to our room last night, we found two personalized small bottles of champagne and a heartfelt note congratulating us.

My wife was especially impressed with Sandy's taste. Familiar with the challenge of filling numerous guest rooms and public spaces with stuff...we felt Sandy has done this magnificently. Every wall, every surface, has something of interest to discover.

The place is immaculately clean. The grounds are landscaped beautifully. The WiFi works. The breakfast (which falls within Maui's limited breakfast rules) was plentiful and well-thought out.

The other guests (from Wisconsin, Oregon, Florida and Germany) were conversational and pleasant.

Bottom line, we KNOW how a good place should be run - as our inn has garnered 700 TripAdvisor reviews. This place does it right.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is the best place to just lay back and relax. It's small and intimate (only 5 rooms). Sandy is the most considerate hostess. She does her best to make sure everyone is comfortable and well fed for breakfast. When Booking.com screwed up her reservation book, she gave up her own rooms and slept in her car for a night, so the weary travelers from Germany would have a place. Be careful if you go through Booking.com, if possible, go directly to Sandy's webpage.

Room Tip: We've stayed in all of the rooms over the years. Each one is decorated a little differently, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenK4443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was fortunate enough to have a brief stay here during the rainy season just a few weeks ago. The home is delightfully filled with treasures & tchotchkes. Since it was pouring rain and I had no car, the owner transported me to dinner at one of her fave restaurants. While at the inn, I took 23 photos of the place. The front yard has a lovely labyrinth in the shape of a heart.
Each room has it's own color & decor, all Hawaiian in theme, of course. Mine was the Plumeria Room, which I highly recommend due to the expanse of windows.
Travelers from all over the world were there and breakfast was always an interesting chat!
This owner is helpful, caring, attentive, and just plain fun! I was there absolutely alone...and not lonely for one moment!
You will NOT be sorry you chose this place for your stay!

Room Tip: I liked the Plumeria room due to the windows...two walls of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zaka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This B & B had the most beautiful energy and was.... perfect!!

Truly difficult to explain in words ...but this home is more than just a B&B. There is a very powerful, healing and loving energy on this property that I am so grateful for experiencing. I love that it has a true warm, homey feel and isn't so modern and cold. This unique warm and cozy feel still was very spacious and clean. I could feel the love and care that was put into every decoration in the home and even the surrounding land and property.

Staff were very welcoming, accommodating and friendly.

Every morning I would practice yoga on the grass beside the heart labyrinth... A perfect beautiful location to start my morning practice. Then eat a fruit breakfast while sipping tea on the peaceful patio.. it was a perfect start before heading out on my road bike, hike, beach or whatever adventure came for the day.

The location is perfect if you are looking for space to focus on you... self care, connection and rejuvenation. Literally right next door is the Temple for Peace where Shelly offers Colonic Hydrotherapy and down the street is Three Treasures for massage with Chinta & Ricardo- (beautiful talented people). This location is surrounded with a loving community and for that, it is even more special. There are many beautiful hikes near by and the beach is a short drive away.

Im ready to move in!

Thanks Sandy, Patrick, Wes & Haiku Plantation Inn!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I stayed at this B and B for a few days. It was great. Close to the beach, including Jaws (One of the best surfing places in the world). Minutes away from the small town of Paia.
The Bed and Breakfast was very clean. The room was spotless. The continental breakfast was very good. There is a hot tub outside that we used at night looking at the stars. It is amazing how dark it can get in Maui. You can see so many stars while enjoying the tub. The owner, Sandy, is friendly and knowledgeable of Maui and all the fun places to visit. I would highly recommend this B and B to others and would / will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo_G_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila, CA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a place that grows on you. The more you feel battered by the avalanche of tourists on Maui, the more you appreciate this island of peace. You are immersed in the Maui of olden days, and you get tons of historical information from Sandy, who appears to have seen it all. Even some of the film crew of the Descendants stayed here.

All the rooms are different, so pay attention to your needs. We stayed in the Plumeria room, light, airy, with a view of the lush garden. The bed was good, the bathroom was large, but the shower stall was old and needed to be replaced. Breakfast was OK, if disorganized and late. You basically serve yourself, but you get used to it. People who stay here are not the beach crowd type, they are more interested in the real Hawaii and enjoy discussing their discoveries. We had really pleasant discussions with other guests around the breakfast table and in the lovely living-room.

All in all, I recommend this B&B to people who like history, peace, and a beauty that comes from time. I never had any problem with the chickens even though they were around because I would much rather deal with them than overbearing tourists. Chickens were freed by the hurricane and went feral. It's the same all over the island and all over Kauai. They are now part of nature.

Room Tip: The Plumeria room is the most expensive, but the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MauiTravels, Owner at Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Aloha, just to clarify.... the guests referred to were actual lineage family members and not film crew from the movie mentioned... just wanted to correct that comment. They were kind enough to share photos of the Kauai property filmed in the movie, which was very interesting for everyone.

Breakfast: It is served via buffet and since people do gather to talk and visit in the mornings possibly this guest felt it was disorganized but on the contrary. Over the years we have found that this actually works best, via buffet. Here in Hawaii , many people including guests learn Maui Time quickly, a relaxed routine as they say.. slow down. Our guests tend to trickle out for breakfast and forcing people to sit exactly at 8 am or one specific time really does not relate to the comfortable and relaxed atmosphere we have here. So coffee is ready at 7:30 am in the kitchen and guests can enjoy that as breakfast is prepared and set out on the buffet. Since I have an open door policy, guests sometimes come into the kitchen and chat while breakfast is being put out and feel comfortable enough to ask occasionally for something specific that was not part of that day's menu. I always try to oblige. There are several tables where one can relax and enjoy conversation or if privacy and quiet time is what you desire, one can sit on the front Lanai or in the back ohana table. We are casual and promote a sense of being at a home with family and friends. We want our guests to feel and experience what living in Hawaii is really like. Breakfast is often a social time where guests talk and share their excitement of their previous day's excursions or their plans for their trip. Maui, has so much to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
24.5 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
9.7 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
15.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nalu Kai Lodge
Nalu Kai Lodge
#3 of 6 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast

Property: Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast
Address: 555 Haiku Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5884
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui's original bed and breakfast inn, located in the beautiful North Shore and Upcountry. Historic 1870's home, lovely guest rooms with baths, 2 tropical acres, near beaches, rain forests, crater summit, and all activities. Affordable accommodations, highly rated within guide books and travel magazines. Maui's truly Hawaiian destination sharing the Aloha of Maui. Each guest room is decorated in vintage Hawaiiana style complete with white fluffy towels and complimentary bath products. Continental breakfast included,wifi,free parking. Use of beach equipment: chairs, towels, boogie boards, ice chests, umbrellas. Permit #BBPH2009/07 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui b&b
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Hotel Haiku
Haiku Plantation Inn: Maui Bed And Breakfast Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing