We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true slice of paradise!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Tradewinds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Tradewinds
Ranked #1 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true slice of paradise!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

What a beautiful and relaxing place to stay in Maui!!! My husband and I stayed 5 wonderful nights in the Tradewinds Suite at Maui Tradewinds. It has been almost a week since we returned to the mainland and we cannot stop smiling. Bev and David are the most gracious hosts and are such special people. We appreciated their knowledge of Maui, their respect of guests' privacy and all the thought they put into every single detail to ensure we felt welcome.

The suite has the most beautiful view, an extremely comfortable bed, laundry facilities (including detergent!), kitchen facilities and a full bath. Not only is there all of this, but also an outdoor whirlpool to use while watching the sunset and an outdoor shower (which was awesome!). The suite had so many nice extras (shampoo/conditioner, nail clippers, suntan lotion, towels, etc.) so there was no need to overpack.

Maui Tradewinds is very conveniently located so that we could go to different places on the island. This allowed us to go to Mt. Haleakala, Kihei for snorkeling/hiking, a drive on the road to Hana, participate in a luau at Lahaina (Old Lahaina Luau - totally recommend!), and walk around Haiku and Paia. We enjoyed all these activities, but also enjoyed coming "home" to our suite where we could rest in the hammock, grill out, and just relax on the property with a view of Mt. Haleaka and the ocean. Bev grows the most delicious passion fruit and bananas on her property - you do not want to miss out on it.

I highly recommend this special place to everyone who plans to go to Maui. It exceeded our expectations. When we have the opportunity to return to Maui, we will stay at Maui Tradewinds. Thank you David and Bev for your gracious hospitality. Maholo and Aloha!

Room Tip: Make sure to talk to Bev on the phone before you leave. She will be able to share with you what Mau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne12775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-and-Bev, Owner at Maui Tradewinds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your visit, and your kind words. We're glad you got to explore so much of the island, but we're especially happy that you looked forward to "coming home" to Maui Tradewinds after a day out. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
178
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

There really is no way to describe how truly wonderful our stay at Maui Tradewinds was for us. We stayed in the Starwind Cottage for 4 nights. We loved every moment there, from watching the sunrise over the trees and listening to the birds while waking up to hearing the soft sounds of the jungle while watching the stars come out at night. It was all so perfect. It's also a great place from which to explore the whole island. We drove the Hana Highway, headed down to the resorts in Wailea (40 minutes), explored the funky town of Pa'ia, and made it up to the Haleakala crater but still had time to enjoy the beautiful home. Bev was a great hostess. It was definitely like staying at a friend's house. They provided everything we needed and more. You will not be disappointed in this stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-and-Bev, Owner at Maui Tradewinds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review. When guests genuinely feel at home here, we've fulfilled our purpose as hosts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Cal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was our second week-long stay in the Starwind Cottage at Maui Tradewinds and we couldn't have been happier. The cottage is a stand-alone structure with two bedrooms linked by a very large living room/dining room space with floor-to ceiling windows for great views of Haleakala and the ocean. The private deck with a hot-tub is the perfect setting for night-time stargazing which is spectacular due to the limited light pollution. We spent hours relaxing on the deck in the early morning, too, when the first rays of sun light up the valley. The only sounds are roosters and other birds. The surroundings are beautiful with dense foliage and many fruit trees and vines.
Bev and David are wonderful hosts and give their guests the space to unwind and relax but are also around to answer any questions or for restaurant or sightseeing recommendations. Upon our arrival, Bev handed us a crate with a few dozen passion fruit that she picked herself that morning. They stock the cottage with snacks and drinks but those are easily supplemented by a short 10 minute drive into Pa'ia and the Mana Market. The kitchen is fine for cooking but there are also many restaurants within short driving distance in Haiku, Makawao and Pa'ia.

Maui Tradewinds is the perfect place to return to after activity-filled Maui days. It's the right place for independent, self-sufficient travelers who enjoy seeing a part of Maui most tourists miss.

We look forward to returning next year.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drmarclevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-and-Bev, Owner at Maui Tradewinds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It was great to see you again, and we're happy that you enjoyed your visit at least as much as the first time. Night-time star gazing can be spectacular when there is no cloud cover. The Milky Way stretches all across the sky, and we sometimes see satellites passing overhead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanna City, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I recently celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary on Maui. Our hosts at Maui Tradewinds (David & Bev) could not have better provided for us on our 12 day visit to their wonderful Bed & Breakfast. If you are looking to "Chillax" along with doing "touristy" type stuff, you only have to drive minutes to do most anything in Maui. This is a place you will never forget! Don't know what heaven is like but this could be heaven on earth.
Thanks again to Bev & David

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-and-Bev, Owner at Maui Tradewinds, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
It was a pleasure to see you for the third time, and have an opportunity to become better acquainted. Congratulations on continuing to grow your marriage over 40 years. Hope to see you on your 50th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Maui Tradewinds was everything we had hoped it would be and so much more. Our home above the trees was just amazing and the view was incredible. We loved sitting out on the deck and just taking it all in every day. We also loved the bath and how it felt like you were right in the garden area. David and Bev were outstanding hosts and we honestly felt like we were coming home every day after our adventures. We couldn't have asked for anything better and absolutely loved our private hideaway. We can't wait to come back! Mahalo!!!

Room Tip: This is a small bed and breakfast. We stayed in one of two accommodations on the property. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank No1owlsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-and-Bev, Owner at Maui Tradewinds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We're happy that you felt like you were "coming home" after a day of adventure around the island. We also appreciate the photos which you posted. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We could have written the review that was just posted by RXRPA, including the 25th anniversary as the reason for the trip. We concur with everything they wrote.
This was our first trip to Maui and we were not interested in the resort or hotel experience. In fact, we stayed our first night in Kanapali in a really nice hotel and were glad to leave it so we didn't have to hear the neighbors visiting or hear their television!
The Maui Tradewinds Suite is like living in your own private tree house! It was secluded, but we were able to get around in our rental car just fine. Away from the business of the resort areas, you feel like you really are living in Hawaii amid the flowers and the birds.
We hadn't realized all the amenities that came with the suite, and would never have thought to ask that little things like q-tips and nail clippers (!) be available, but they were. Think: beach chairs, beach goggles, boogie boards, fins, and more!
The hosts told us they wanted us to feel as though our friends gave us a house in Maui for a week, and that's exactly how we felt. Bev and David are available for help and conversation, but you are "on your own" if you want to be.

We took advantage of the Haiku Bicycle Company's excursion up Haleakala for the sunrise and rode bicycles down. From Maui Tradewinds, it's only a five-minute drive to the bike center, which is great when you need to be there at 3am! It's also only five minutes from St. Rita's if you want to make Mass.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite, but looked at the cottage and that looked amazing as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NandR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-and-Bev, Owner at Maui Tradewinds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your kind words, and for appreciating the unannounced extras which come with the accommodation. The list of things which are provided has gradually grown, based on what our guests have requested over the past sixteen years. Bev tries to make it a complete home, so guests only need to bring their clothes and personal toiletries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Aloha to our hosts Bev and David! We are home now back in Pennsylvania (sad face) but the memories of our 25th anniversary at Starwind Cottage will be cherished for many years to come. The actual cottage is as beautiful, if not more beautiful, than the pictures on the website. Believe the reviews you are reading here because this is a "must stay" (unless you prefer the hustle and bustle of urban hotels). The views of both Mt. Haleakala and the ocean from the hot tub on the deck are superb and couldn't be more relaxing - we couldn't get enough of it. It was just what we needed. The cottage is very private and off the beaten path - which is exactly what we were looking for. There's nothing like sitting on a deck in a private hot tub with outstanding views as the sun is setting, followed by bright stars as the night wears on.

Bev and David are close if you need them but you'll hardly see them or anyone else if you don't want to! They are there to make your stay as wonderful as possible but are very respectful of your privacy.

The beds were extremely comfy and for the 9 nights we were there we still can't believe we never used the air conditioning (the master bedroom has an air conditioner). We were certain we'd need it but the design of the cottage and the fresh ocean breeze kept the nights plenty cool to sleep without it.

This was everything we hoped it would be - and MORE. After showing the pictures and describing it, I've already been asked by two different people for the Maui Tradewinds website (a friend and a colleague) and both said they are planning on going to Maui in the next year or so and will now very likely stay here if it's available.

Bev and David - we'll be back (with another couple) - but it won't be soon enough. Thanks for everything.

Rick & Cindy

(Tips to people who stay here: Take a look through the information Bev and David leave for you. It wasn't until the day we left that we realized there is a grocery store not far away in Haiku instead of running into Kahului. Also, while there are many waterfalls on the road to Hana, don't miss the falls that are closest to the cottage called Twin Falls - only about 4 miles away in the direction of Hana. There are several falls and pools along trail at Twin Falls with the furthest being about a 3/4 mile hike but it's well worth it.)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RXRPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-and-Bev, Owner at Maui Tradewinds, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review, and we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We're pleased to hear that the actual experience surpassed your anticipation from the photos on our website. Of course, we want the website to have appeal, but we'd prefer that the reality exceed our guest's expectations, rather than the other way around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
22.1 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
25.4 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
10.9 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
14.5 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
5.6 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Tradewinds

Property: Maui Tradewinds
Address: 4320 Une Pl, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5368
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic honeymoon/vacation retreat on Maui's beautiful north shore. Have the best of both worlds by staying away from crowds and commercialized development, yet conveniently situated for exploring the entire island. A rare combination of gracious island lifestyle, unspoiled natural beauty, and privacy. Experience breathtaking views, brilliant rainbows, sunsets over the ocean, and your exclusive Jacuzzi, tropical garden, kitchen, and luxurious sauna/bath. Free, self-catered continental breakfast. Free WiFi and long-distance calls to U.S. mainland and Canada. Free parking. Highest ratings by respected travel authors, including Frommer's and Best Places to Kiss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Tradewinds Haiku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing