We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Maui”
Review of Maui Ocean Breezes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maui Ocean Breezes
Ranked #2 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
“Best in Maui”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I don't know of a better place to stay on Maui. It was perfect for our trip. We stayed in the Hibiscus Hideaway; it was roomy and had a great kitchen. The covered lanai overlooking the ocean was a fabulous place for meals. The owners thougth of everything. The beds were some of the most comfortable we've seen away from home. The kids had their own room with a separate entrance. It was quiet and dark at night; the stars were wonderful. The wind in the bamboo was especially nice. The location is out of town but centerally located enough to get to all of the places we wanted to see on Maui. We would highly recommend Maui Ocean Breezes and definitely stay there again. Because we booked fairly late, the owner asked us to wire money ahead. This worked out fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    24
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
122
150
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We enjoyed a peaceful wonderful 2 week stay at Maui Ocean Breezes. The suite was very bright and clean and had everything we needed (cookware, lots of towels, a blender!)
It was the perfect place to stay with our twin 5 year olds as there was a huge lawn to run around on and lots of secret nooks to explore. They especially loved the pool (not many rental homes have a pool in Hawaii). We also took advantage of the yoga hut. Thank you for all the fresh fruit from your amazing property. We will miss the smoothies we made from fresh coconut, banana, lilikoi and avocado!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank peggyharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Loved my stay...very lovely, relaxing and restful. I loved the outdoor pool - salt water. Beautiful views, beautiful gardens and great meditation/yoga hut. I was comfortable and happy the whole time! Thanks for an amazing vacation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahmessier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2011

My visit to this property was great and lived up to the descriptions and expectations stated. We stayed in the main home (Retreat) and it was wonderful from start to finish. Regina made us feel so welcome and was there for anything we inquired about. The property is serene and all that you need for a home away from home feel.
This location is ideal because you are away from all the hustle and bustle but central on the island so you can access everything available to you with a rental vehicle. The highways are very well maintained but if you want to do some trekking I would suggest upgrading to something in the SUV market.
If your wanting to explore or stay in for the day you would enjoy yourself regardless with this location. Full Kitchen, large open space, laundry on site, beautiful pool, amazing view, relaxing property.
Christina

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SASH320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I have visited Maui before, this was the first time we stayed at Maui Ocean Breezes. This was the absolute best vacation ever - loved the beautiful location and the cottage was great. You are able to experience more of the real Maui, you feel like your living in your own home - everything was there, just unpack and you're ready! The small towns of Haiku and Paia are close by and have great restaurants and grocery stores (be sure to eat at Colleens in Haiku, you can't go wrong, great food and service). The beaches are close, but of course nothing is very far in Maui. We were able to travel and explore the entire island each day. Be sure to leave a day or two to just relax at Maui Ocean Breezes, it's quiet, beautiful views, wonderful salt water pool and all kinds of flowers, plants and fruits grow. You walk outside your front door and it's the real Hawaii. Our Hostess ReGina brought us fresh fruit and handmade soaps, she was helpful and made our stay very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jolenedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I visited Maui some 5 years ago and stayed at a hotel on the southern coast. This time, I did considerable research on the TripAdvisor site and decided to stay at this vacation rental with my partner for two weeks last month. After almost 24 hour of flying time from northern England, it was most refreshing to drive late evening through coconut trees and fragrant breeze straight into our cottage. The beds were ready with crisp linen and there were no checking-in formalities. An undisturbed and quite night was what we wanted and that is exactly what we got. The morning after, we woke up to the full glory of nature in a paradise setting. We took a round of the impeccably maintained property with verdant lawns and tropical fruit trees. The manager, Regina, is quite a sweet lady and it was wonderful for her to bring some bananas and papayas straight from trees onto our table. We were told that they don't use any chemical pesticides there and the natural sun-ripened fruits were indeed a treat. There was a family staying in another cottage and their children were having whale of a time in the blue-bottomed swimming pool. Twilight periods were remarkable for a myriad of sky lights and colours. During our stay, there were rainbows on most of the days (even though there were no persistent rains) and we were lucky once to see a full 360 degree circle of a rainbow, albeit for a brief period only. The extraordinary feature of this property is the romantic quiteness and tranquility. Its ambience makes it special. Nobody including property manager disturbs you and you in turn learn not to distrub others. And yet it is not some isolated cottage -- high-speed internet, tv, washing machine are all there and the shopping market is not far.

Although the property is advertised as vacation rental, it is as good as a resort on the coast and at a fraction of their cost. I would recommend it highly and am already planning to come back in a year or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Swaying Palms studio at Ocean Breezes was absolutely perfect for us (a couple in our 50s) and we had an extremely relaxing and invigorating 7 day break there.

The studio was ideal with all the amenities you’d expect plus it was wonderfully decorated, absolutely spotless and had been given an added flourish of fresh fruit and flower petals for our arrival which was a lovely touch. The rest of the property was equally splendid - the garden and grounds are extremely well maintained and immaculate as was the pool.

When we first showed up we were warmly welcomed by Regina who showed us around and explained where everything was and how everything worked and advice on the local attractions etc. She is very helpful and friendly, in an unobtrusive way, and was on hand throughout our stay when we needed advice or just a chat and even supplied us with fresh coconuts from the garden.

Ocean Breezes is in a superb setting on a slope which provides a clear view of the ocean framed by palm trees (which did sway!). It is ideally situated, just off the northern end of the road to Hana, only a short drive from the local shops and restaurants in Paia and Ho’okipa and Baldwin beaches but is secluded, away from the tourist crowds and is very, very quiet and peaceful. Although the cottage and apartment on the property were also occupied during our stay - because of the layout it really felt as though we had the place to ourselves.

It really was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had and has helped us rediscover some of the simple pleasures of life like just sitting on the porch taking in the view and watching all the birds during the day and stargazing late at night (ideally with a chilled glass of wine or a cold can of Maui Breweries Big Swell IPA to hand) - absolutely marvellous - and if you are looking for a relaxing break away from it all in idyllic surroundings I couldn’t recommend it highly enough and many thanks to Anjali and Regina.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_T844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
21.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
13.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,048 reviews
26.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
144 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Ocean Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Ocean Breezes

Property: Maui Ocean Breezes
Address: 240 N Holokai Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5977
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the views of the Pacific in front, the dormant volcano in the back, the accommodations are set in organic tropical gardens with fruits, flowers and two baby goats. A Perfect " Home away from Home " for couples as well as families with small children. Offering 4 accommodation choices, each with ocean views, kitchen , ensuite bath, high speed WiFi, cableTV, Shared guest laundry, 40 ft salt water pool and a meditation/yoga hut. 15 miles from the airport on the ocean side of the road to Hana and close to cafes, shopping, beaches, waterfalls in the towns of Haiku, Paia and Makawao. A convenient location for exploring most of Maui's attractions. We are eco friendly and do not use artificial scents or harsh chemicals. Our electricity is powered by the sun. The year round temperature between 65 to 85 degrees Fahrenheit and ocean breezes eliminate the need for air conditioning, All rooms have fans and two windows bringing in pristine air. It can rain at night or in early morning which freshens up the air. There are always rainbows after the rain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Ocean Breezes Hotel Haiku
Maui Ocean Breezes Haiku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing