We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect !”
Review of Maui Ocean Breezes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Ocean Breezes
Ranked #2 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We've been around the world. We travel for business and pleasure. We like to stay far from tourists traps and act as locals when we discovers new place, without sacrificing the comfort. In short words, we like to feel like home... And this is ALL what you get as Ocean Breezes... Period... Buy a ticket, rent this place, get a tan, quit your job and stay there forever ! ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I have stayed here regularly for seven years, and have always found it clean, inviting and in a serene setting. The salt water pool is a welcome change from chlorine, and it is a close drive to Up Country small towns.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank attheairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Anjeli, Ken and Alex the new caretaker Seem to always be working on the property, but if you need something, they are gracious and prompt in helping you.
The grounds with the view of the sea, and the nice-sized clean pool are major pluses. We rented the apartment and it is well-stocked with utensils, dishes, etc. And there was a weber grill (with supplies). food is expensive in Hawaii, and this gave us the opportunity to eat several meals in, without having to drive to the nearby restaurants.
I was with my college-aged daughter, and the privacy that I would appreciate more if I was with a girlfriend or contemporary, made for some nights when we would be under-occupied. But still, compared to the hubbub of the touristy parts of Maui, I am glad we were here.
BTW, this is the country, and if you have major problems with things that crawl (ants) or fly toward your bright iPad screen at night, Maui Ocean Breezes may not be for you. Your loss!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syncomm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our family (two adults and two teenagers) had the most wonderful stay at the Maui Ocean Breezes in Haiku this past summer. Laura made us feel extremely at home and was totally supportive. We got in just before Tropical Storm Flossie made landfall and we felt wonderfully snug and secure while we watched the storm. Laura made sure of our safety and comfort including checking in on us after the power went out for a short time. The property itself is astonishingly beautiful and the accommodations are really perfect. We had a few special requests that Anjali very graciously responded to and every request was very thoughtfully addressed. We loved being in Haiku--it was central to everything and had an authentic feel to it. The birds on the property deserve a special mention as well if you are into seeing birds--thanks to the flowers and other natural features of the property (that is lovingly attended), there is a wonderful variety of birds that you can enjoy watching while having your morning tea or breakfast. We enjoyed some of the delicious and refreshing organic limes and bananas from the property's own trees. We were very nicely taken care of during our entire stay and would love to return! This is an absolute gem and is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I chose Maui Ocean Breezes because of Anjali, the owner. Her customer service is outstanding. She is prompt, thorough and courteous and made the reservation process simple and easy.

The Whispering Bamboo cottage on the property was amazing. You didn't even have to get out of bed to enjoy the sunrise and ocean views. The cottage is close enough to everything (10 minutes to 1 hour depending on where you're going) but without the usual "resort" crowdedness and craziness. If you're looking for a wonderful place to relax but also enjoy all of the variety that Maui has to offer, Maui Ocean Breezes is the perfect place to stay.

If you enjoy eco-friendly environments, this place is a plus because they recycle and have organic fruit on the property that they share with their guests.

Room Tip: I like my space so even though I was traveling solo, I rented the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for two weeks with four kids at Hibicus Hideaway and Swaying Palms Studio. We appreciate privacy a lot. There were two more guests at the property. We felt very comfortably as there was enough privacy among all guests also due to the .

Well maintained and spacious property, swimming pool with salt water, fully equipped kitchen, working wi-fi. Enjoyed the Mediation hut.

The caretaker was very attentive and helped us promptly when we were in the need of medical treatment. We were also served with locally grown fruits.

Nice starting location for various trips.

Recommended if you seek a quiet place,with excellent views, see photos.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StanPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I stayed in the "Retreat" for two weeks and loved every minute.
Extras of a salt water swimming pool and a meditation shack on a large private property were real pluses. Free fresh fruit grown on site was yummy.
The site is very central to everything, not more than an hour drive from all tourist sites.
WiFi was a must for me and worked great.
Comfortable, clean, and quiet. On site caretaker was very attentive with a wealth of information as well. We highly recommend Maui Ocean Breezes!

Room Tip: This site is really nice and far better than a hotel or condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
7.4 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
767 reviews
21.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
18.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
240 reviews
15.6 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
26.7 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Ocean Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Ocean Breezes

Address: 240 N Holokai Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5977
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range: £173 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the views of the Pacific in front, the dormant volcano in the back, the accommodations are set in organic tropical gardens with fruits, flowers and two baby goats. A Perfect " Home away from Home " for couples as well as families with small children. Offering 4 accommodation choices, each with ocean views, kitchen , ensuite bath, high speed WiFi, cableTV, Shared guest laundry, 40 ft salt water pool and a meditation/yoga hut. 15 miles from the airport on the ocean side of the road to Hana and close to cafes, shopping, beaches, waterfalls in the towns of Haiku, Paia and Makawao. A convenient location for exploring most of Maui's attractions. We are eco friendly and do not use artificial scents or harsh chemicals. Our electricity is powered by the sun. The year round temperature between 65 to 85 degrees Fahrenheit and ocean breezes eliminate the need for air conditioning, All rooms have fans and two windows bringing in pristine air. It can rain at night or in early morning which freshens up the air. There are always rainbows after the rain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Ocean Breezes Hotel Haiku
Maui Ocean Breezes Haiku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing