We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations”
Review of Maui Ocean Breezes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maui Ocean Breezes
Ranked #2 of 8 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our Expectations”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our family of four adults rented the Ocean Breeze Retreat and the Swaying Palms Studio. Both exceeded our expectations for comfort and beauty. After a day of adventure on the island we looked forward to grilling on the porch while taking in the sweeping views of the ocean. Everything was great from the refreshing breezes at night to the pleasantly furnished and extremely clean accommodations. The little extras, like available coolers and beach chairs helped us manage our outings. It is obvious this property is well loved and cared for and that Anjile takes good care of her guests. If we are ever back in Maui we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmjgallegos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    24
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
122
150
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

As a former resident of Maui, I wanted to stay in a place that has all the best of what this wonderful island has to offer, while having a peaceful and refreshing experience. The Swaying Palms Studio fit these requirements precisely.

Nestled away on the North Shore of Maui (about 10 minutes from the historic town of Paia), the Maui Ocean Breezes property is the perfect blend of accessibility and privacy. The property is great for those who want the feel of Hawaii while being away from the throngs of tourists that conglomerate together on the West side of the island.

The weather for our trip was amazing. Coming from below freezing temperatures in Portland, we were blessed with 7 days of upper 70s to low 80s. As this property sits above the ocean on a spacious bluff, the trade winds were ever present, cooling and refreshing us. As someone who is allergic to chlorine, the saltwater pool was a delight to swim in.

As a couple, the studio had everything we needed. We especially appreciated Anjali's design touch, making us feel like we were in an underwater tropical aquarium. The fresh plumeria flowers were a beautiful, welcoming touch. I also appreciated the meditation/yoga space. It was a wonderful place to come first thing in the morning to welcome the day.

Alex, the on-site manager, was extremely helpful and accommodating. He welcomed us on our arrival and showed us the amenities that the property had to offer. Throughout the week, he also checked in, and dropped off some fresh fruit that was growing on the property (including local apple-bananas and avocados, yum!) I also overheard him giving tips to another couple staying on the property as to where to rent surf equipment for their stay.

When we left Maui, we travelled to Big Island for another 3 days, and stayed in a standard hotel. Having that immediate contrast really showed how much of a personal touch Anjali puts into these units to make your stay impeccable. I can't recommend this more highly.

Room Tip: Studio was quiet and perfect for two
See more room tips
Green Features: There is recycling onsite (which isn't that common for Maui).
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark Christophe... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have stayed at Maui Ocean Breezes twice now, and I love it. Anjali is wonderful. I would highly recommend Maui Ocean Breezes to anyone that wants a quiet, kid friendly getaway. The salt water pool is simply delightful as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

If you are looking to experience the beauty and peace of Maui, this is the spot. The units have a great arty vibe, the views are wonderful and the location is just right. After grocery shopping at wonderful Mana Foods in Paia supplement with lemons, apple bananas, oranges and whatever else is ripe from the property. Rest well in a comfortable bed in spotless accommodations. Get loads of info from Ken, if he's around, and warm energy from Anjali. Make sure to head to Haleakala for a sunrise (dress warm) and stay to hike and enjoy the silverswords. Take your time on the Road to Hana spending some of it at the less visited stops, especially Waianapanapa State Park to see the black sand beach, lava tube, sea arches, freshwater caves, etc. Head all the way to O'heo Gulch and take the back way home if comfortable. Explore upcountry, stopping at Komoda Bakery in Makawao for a cream puff before visiting Kula and it's beautiful church on the Pacific side before eating at Grandma's Coffee House with really good food at really good prices. Keep traveling south to the winery where you can have great food from the property like a fab elk burger. Stop every time you pass Hookipa Beach near MOBreezes to view surfers and many turtles. Visit Napili and Kaanapali beaches in West Maui (really good apps during happy hour in old school Seahouse Rest). Spend some time at the South Shore beaches for snorkeling (Ulua was good). Plus so much more.............
One caveat in regard to your stay at Maui Ocean Breezes is you will need to pick up the most basic of purchases such as salt/pepper, kleenex, etc, as these are not provided. Otherwise, all good!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeasart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenDeSure, Owner at Maui Ocean Breezes, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We are very grateful for the the precious time taken to write this wonderful and very informative review... we will stock the requested items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Maui Ocean Breezes B&B: Fantastic ocean views through very large windows making for a bright, airy and spacious interior. Located on the Ocean side of the Hana Highway, peaceful and quiet, away from traffic, appropriate both for business (excellent WiFi and cell-phone reception, and a large table), and for couples or families (full kitchen facilities).
The salt water pool was incredible, and we had it to ourselves most of the time, if you do not count a couple of small Koki frogs, which we rescued from the salt water every morning. We cooked some delicious Haiku beef on the BBQ, walked the grassy grounds, and ...cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Upstairs suite is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelagic-Age
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed in Maui Ocean Breezes in the Whispering Winds Studio for a week. When we arrived to check in it was dark so when we woke up the next day to walk around the grounds it was stunning! The ocean view from our patio and the grounds was amazingly beautiful. It is very tropical and the owners provide you with a fresh fruit basket upon arrival. There are many areas where the owner has outside yard art which she calls her shrines to Maui. So nice! There is a salt water pool with a fountain to swim in, and a yoga meditation room that overlooks the ocean. My husband and I loved walking the hill on the street outside the property. It is located in an area of Maui that is not touristy, and reminded us of how Maui used to be before it was developed. The owners are wonderful hosts.

Our studio room had everything we needed and it is very artsy inside. We ate most breakfasts there outside our unit overlooking the ocean on our patio. The weather is so nice as it is up mountain a bit so there are cooling ocean breezes and the rain makes the area very tropical and green. The only noise at night are the palms trees swaying, and the song of the birds in the morning.

It is about 10-15 minutes to a great surfing, windsurfing, and kiteboarding beach Hookipa. We saw turtles there! There are other beautiful beaches close-by to enjoy with white sand and turquoise water. It is also close to three towns Hookipa, Makawao, and Paia. We enjoyed checking out the restaurants and shopping there. I swam in a waterfall about 5 minutes away from our unit and they also have fresh juices for enjoyment just outside the waterfall.

If you want to be away from the crowds and yet close enough to drive everywhere on the island this is your place. It was very hard to leave our Maui home and we loved it.

Room Tip: Go to there website as we stayed in the studio but it was just two of us. They have other rooms avai...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are very green. They recycle, compost, and reuse. They don't use pesticides but we didn't see any bugs when we were there.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGoddess61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Our stay in Maui Ocean Breezes was wonderful! It was quiet and the only noise we could hear were the singing birds in the morning. It's in a great location away from the main tourist areas and the views are extraordinary - sea view on one side and views of the volcano on the other!

The pool is a refreshing treat first thing in the morning and after a day out exploring and we enjoyed using the barbecue every evening.

We live in the UK so were unable to send the deposit by cheque but were able to do a bank transfer directly to Anjali's Hawaiian bank account. She was always quick to respond to our emails and to confirm that she had received the money. This was very reassuring!

Using Maui Ocean Breezes as our base, we were able to drive to Hana (with many scenic stops and swimming holes on the way, and ate Aunty Sandy's Banana Bread in Keanae- delicious!), we had a tasty lunch in Paia (Cafe Mambo), drove around the West Coast (interesting single lane road for part of it!), went to the beaches (Ulua was great for snorkelling) and also had a couple of early mornings to drive to the Harbours for boat trips to Molokini and Lanai which meant we saw some wonderful sunrises. We also drove to the top of Haleakala Crater and stayed for the sunset which was extraordinary!

One recommendation would be to think ahead in terms of grocery shopping so you don't have to drive out of your way to get dinner! We had trouble finding the shops in Haiku and parking in Paia is not always easy so we sometimes drove 30 minutes (each way) to the Safeway in Kahului.

Thank you Anjali for providing such a wonderful place to stay!

Green Features: There wasn't any information on what could be recycled and composted and we couldn't find the compost bin. Having this information available would be helpful. Also there were ants in the kitchen that were not a major concern to us but there are eco-friendly ways to deter them from staying.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTimsingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
21.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
13.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,047 reviews
26.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Kuau Inn
Kuau Inn
#1 of 3 in Paia
143 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maui Tradewinds
Maui Tradewinds
#1 of 8 in Haiku
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Ocean Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Ocean Breezes

Property: Maui Ocean Breezes
Address: 240 N Holokai Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708-5977
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the views of the Pacific in front, the dormant volcano in the back, the accommodations are set in organic tropical gardens with fruits, flowers and two baby goats. A Perfect " Home away from Home " for couples as well as families with small children. Offering 4 accommodation choices, each with ocean views, kitchen , ensuite bath, high speed WiFi, cableTV, Shared guest laundry, 40 ft salt water pool and a meditation/yoga hut. 15 miles from the airport on the ocean side of the road to Hana and close to cafes, shopping, beaches, waterfalls in the towns of Haiku, Paia and Makawao. A convenient location for exploring most of Maui's attractions. We are eco friendly and do not use artificial scents or harsh chemicals. Our electricity is powered by the sun. The year round temperature between 65 to 85 degrees Fahrenheit and ocean breezes eliminate the need for air conditioning, All rooms have fans and two windows bringing in pristine air. It can rain at night or in early morning which freshens up the air. There are always rainbows after the rain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Ocean Breezes Hotel Haiku
Maui Ocean Breezes Haiku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing