We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Made camping in Maui a breeze!”
other travellers have booked this property
Camp at Waianapanapa State Park in Hana
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Camp at Waianapanapa State Park in Hana
Camp at Waianapanapa State Park in Hana
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Camp at Waianapanapa State Park in Hana
Camp at Waianapanapa State Park in Hana
Camp at Waianapanapa State Park in Hana
3 Mile Nature Trail at Waianapanapa State Park
Legend of Waianapanapa at Princess Popoalaea
Steps down to the fresh-water cave pool
Go for a swim at the fresh-water Cave Pool at Waianapanapa State Park
Lava Tubes up the street from the park
Black Sand Beach at Waianapanapa State Park.  Water shoes recommended!
campground
Complete Camping Set for 2
comfy queen size air mattress and many other items included
Have a restful night under the Hana nigh sky!
An adventure to remember!
Camp at Waianapanapa State Park in Hana
Camp at Waianapanapa State Park in Hana
Camp at Waianapanapa State Park in Hana
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
knorris21
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Made camping in Maui a breeze!”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Michella was easy to deal with and helpful with pickup and drop off times. The gear it self was perfect, the tent easily fit two of us and kept us dry during some overnight rainstorms. The guidebook was a nice surprise and led us to some of the lesser known sites on the road to Hana.

Just a heads up that if you’re camping at Waianapanapa there is a bit of a walk from parking to your site. The sites are also not private or individually bookable, it’s basically a field where everyone sets up tents. Cooking facilities are also limited, a few old grills and shared picnic tables. That being said, the park is gorgeous and we ended up meeting a bunch of great people while cooking dinner so it was a blessing in disguise, just not what we were originally expecting!

All in all this was a highlight of our 10 day trip, would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia T...
Wellford, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great way to stay the night in Hana”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The road to Hana is long with many hiking opportunities. This was a great way to divide up the trip into two days. Everything was provided. Make sure you arrive before dark to set up and take bug spray. We really enjoyed the national park scenery and trails.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMaduro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked 2 nights with Maui Camping King to stay in Hana. Communication was great from the start, Michella was very helpful and advised that we needed to get a camping permit. Picking up the equipment was seamless, she was very flexible and Fabio was punctual. The equipment was in great shape, most of it seemed new. We had no issues with it - it rained one night and we stayed perfectly dry. Returning the equipment was just as easy. Fabio was great to deal with. Super friendly and gave us some helpful tips. I highly recommend using Maui Camping King for all your camping needs on the island! Mahalo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
La Grange
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service! Wish we had time for 2 days!”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Michela, was wonderful. She met up with us a day early so that we could get an early start for our drive to Hana. Was very happy with the condition of the equipment! Everything was there as described, never seen a used tent that was so clean. Very well organized, sheets smelled nice and clean. We had a little bit of rain and stayed nice and dry. We had friends traveling with us, they chose to stay in a $300 a night room in Hana and it was covered in cockroaches. We dealt with a few mosquitoes. Woke up with the sunrise and enjoyed the park. Michela, was easy to contact, and when I forgot to return the book she was willing to drive to our hotel and pick it up in the office the next day. This is my first rating would give 5 stars, but will not allow me too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemswirls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, but not waterproof!”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I really wish I could give four stars, but the tent wasn't waterproof, and Hana is a wet area, so for me that was really disappointing. Having said that Michella was great, especially at being in touch leading up to the trip, so arrangement to get the equipment was easy. And it's an awesome idea if you love camping because bringing everything on the plane is a pain. One thing I would have liked was already frozen freeze packs for the cooler - not having them made the cooler pretty pointless. I did love that everything was totally spotless, so clean. Overall my "yes" to recommend this is based on if they can upgrade to a waterproof tent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thank you for your feedback! To clarify, all our tents are waterproof but if I remember correctly, this particular guest camped for 2 nights under heavy rain, and mentioned that they chose to put the tarp inside the tent as opposed to under it. One thing to note is that we have a refund policy that allows you to cancel up until prior to pick up of the equipment should the forecast predict rain. - Read on to see other reviews of guests who experienced rain and complimented how waterproof the tents are. - In regards to the cooler, you have to buy ice as we do not provide 'frozen freeze packs'. All super markets here sell ice. - Thanks again and aloha!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua G...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunrise was worth $1000 a night”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Camping gear was clean and in great condition. Perfect for two adults.

The night we stayed in Hana had a lot of rain and none made it's way into the tent. Getting down to the black sand beach over an hour before a single other person arrived was quite stunning.

I have already recommended this to friends visiting Maui and hope they contact Michella and book a trip. Michella was also very accommodating on drop off and pick up of the equipment.

Thank you for one of the biggest highlights of our vacation!

Josh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crisi C
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing camping experience! ”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The campsite is absolutely breathtaking right on the coastline and within walking distance to black sand beach and several hiking trails. It was made even better with the equipment we rented from Michella and Fabio! The tent is super easy and quick to set up. The only real downside was that cooler didn't keep things cool for too long but there is a general store about 10 minutes away in Hana where we were able to buy ice the second day. Michella was very accommodating with pick up and drop off times. Overall an amazing experience, I wish we could have stayed a couple extra days!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing