We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must See Black Sand Beach. Best to Visit in Summer.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wai'anapanapa State Park

Wai'anapanapa State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$385.95*
and up
Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waianapanapa State Park is on the road to Hana, Maui.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,249 reviews
832 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,501 helpful votes
“Must See Black Sand Beach. Best to Visit in Summer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The first time we visited in the rainy season, the skies were overcast and there was not much activity but it was the first time we saw a black sand beach so it was still special to us. However, on our most recent visit during the summer dry season, the skies were clear and the intensity and contrast of the colors of the black sand and cliffs, deep turquoise water, bright green foliage and the occasional puffy white cloud was simply stunning. In addition to the natural beauty, there were a number of sunbathers, surfers and even some diving from the cliffs which all combined to make an idyllic scene.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,045
    249
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place to Stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Waiʻānapanapa State Park is two miles northwest of Hāna and is a great spot for hiking, viewing ancient sites, visiting a black beach, and much more. Waiʻānapanapa means “glistening water” or “water flashing rainbow hues” and this area certainly fits that name. Photographs are not able to translate the brilliance of the turbulent water in this area.

Paʻiloa Beach is the black beach at Waiʻānapanapa State Park. The beach is made up of small, smooth, water-rounded pebbles.

Just up the hill from Paʻiloa Beach are two large caves that have pools in them. One of these caves is named Waiʻānapanapa, “glistening water,” and again it this cave meets up to its name. The legend of Waiʻānapanapa caves can be read on a large sign at the trailhead.

Just under a mile down the trail south of the park is Ohala Heiau, which is a Hale o Lono type heiau or possibly a koʻa (fishing shrine).

Plan an entire day for this park if you want to try to see everything.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiTravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, the Lone Star State
Level Contributor
326 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Yes! Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Visiting this park was one of the highlights of our Hawaiian trip. We packed a picnic lunch and ate it overlooking the beautiful beach. Out of all the picnics I've taken in my life, this one tops them all.

You must walk down to the black-sand beach. I've never seen a beach quite like it. The waves are so powerful that it's hard to stand up in the water. I didn't wade out too far, it was more entertaining to watch everybody else get knocked over!

The cave to the side of the beach is eerie and wonderful. You'll have to duck down pretty low to get inside it, but it's an unforgettable site. The lighting is dim and you can hear the waves and the wind rushing all around you. Awesome....

When you're ready to go home, there is a nice restroom where you can shower and wash all the black sand off your body.

I highly recommend this park.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank HappyPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“lots of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

My girls loved the black sand beach & the caves. We spent about 45 minutes here exploring the caves & the beach. Well worth the stop when you are on the road to Hana. My girls would say the caves were one of the highlights of the drive!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Family0fTravelers_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

caves, hiking at its best, black sand beach, lava tubes arches its all here spend the day soaking it in when you go to Hana find a overnight cabin and stay so you can take it all in theres a lot to see and even 2 days is not enough what a wonderfull place, you wont find anywhere elese on earth thats the same this was not built for tourists as an attraction but put here by God so everyone who comes can enjoy, try the biggest avacadoes youve evr seen the sweetest mangoes and papayas there is,

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wai'anapanapa State Park also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Wai'anapanapa State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing