We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very unique!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wai'anapanapa State Park

Wai'anapanapa State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$385.95*
and up
Small-Group Road to Hana Luxury Tour and Helicopter Flight
Ranked #1 of 32 things to do in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waianapanapa State Park is on the road to Hana, Maui.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“very unique!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stopped here on our road to Hana trip. It was neat to walk around the black sand. Although the sand is very difficult to get off your feet. Painful! We probably should have given ourselves more time here. We got here later in the day and left quickly because we wanted to check out the seven pools.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jfdalbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    249
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Some of the best beach hiking and scenic views around. The ocean is just gorgeous here and the black sand beach is really breathtaking. Don't miss out on doing the short hike to the caves, very serene and calm.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

It was free to get in. The hiking trails were well marked and the views made the visit well worth the time. This is an exceptionally nice state park, well developed, with nice well marked trails. We stayed in Hana for the week and regret not going to the park before 10am when all the tourist begin to arrive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 700Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bamboo forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Worth the trip and the hike! Nice park facilities. Pools a bit crowded but fun refreshing to swim in!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank BillO554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This park is why we never made it to Hana :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We arrived here a couple of weeks ago at about 10 AM and it was so beautiful we never went further down the road. It was a spectacular day and an absolutely beautiful setting. On a Thursday we were one of the first to arrive, not sure where the crowds were.
We lingered with a glass of wine and a picnic lunch. I thought it would be a great place to camp (if I was young again)! Grills, picnic tables, bathrooms. Nice!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GLWEBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wai'anapanapa State Park also viewed

Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Wai'anapanapa State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing