We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view, the view, the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ekena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ekena
Ranked #3 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The view, the view, the view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

We arrived from "The Road to Hana" adventure a couple hours earlier that our 3 PM check-in time due to the rain which limited our out-of-car experiences. Robin welcomed us with a friendly greeting and indicated our place was ready. For the next few hours, my wife and I sat on the deck soaking up an incredible view. With the 150 degree oceanview and the lush mountainside vegetation, we couldn't get enough. Perhaps, the "no visitor" policy stems from abuse of a great room and view that invites a party. (Another Hana B & B owner experienced a similar situation.) Although we were aware of the need to bring food supplies to Hana, we didn't anticipate the number 4 rated "B&B and Inns" would not have coffee or a continental breakfast. Also, only hand soap was provided. We would agree with a previous review that cited a need for curtains on the parking lot side of the house. Being owners of a house in the tropics, we are well aware of the constant need for maintenance (e.g.deck doors did not lock.) Ekena is showing its age.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. This place is beautiful, breathtaking. We were in awe when we saw the floor-to-ceiling windows and doors that all opened to the most gorgeous and lush view. We loved having a glass of wine and watching the rain fall from our lanai. A hammock hung there would be wonderful!
Ekena was one of two places we stayed in Hana. We do have a couple of aspects that would make us probably not choose to stay there again. One is privacy. There really isn't any. The caretaker lives next door and is always around; we felt sort of like we were celebrating our anniversary with our mom and dad. Second, there are no blinds to pull at night. While none are needed on most windows, one on the kitchen window that faces the parking lot and where the caretaker is often wandering around would be nice. We didn't feel like the place was really "ours" while we stayed there. We felt like we had to keep our voices low and couldn't really relax and take it all in. We were also given a small pamphlet to read "at our leisure." We excitedly took it out to the lanai to read and found that it was basically a rule book; such as "no visitors allowed." They did also have a piece of paper on the counter listing local sites which was nice. We saw that another reviewer described the caretaker as "brusque." We have to say that we agree. While she is perfectly polite it does seem a bit forced and her parting words to us were a semi-nasty comment regarding tourists; we drove away with a "hmmm" feeling.
It is truly a beautiful place and nice as an option given that there are not a ton of places to stay in Hana, but not entirely for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank life_love_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isetorp, Manager at Ekena, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to review us. We certainly do appreciate your 4 star rating and are always happy to see guests’ faces when they walk in and see that incredible view open up in front of them. We are sorry that you felt that the house was not as private as you hoped it would be. I could list the many ways that we are one of the most private homes in Hana, but the bottom line is you did not feel that while you were here, and I am sorry that you were disappointed with any aspect of the property. Your stay was very brief so I must have been very busy the one day that you were here. Fortunately, I know that your gorgeous ocean view across the front of the house was not interrupted since no one can walk on that side of the house as the land drops off steeply just below the balcony. I am sorry if you felt I was anything but welcoming. I actually remember that, amongst other things, we briefly talked about the beautiful part of Idaho that you live in. It is always my goal to have happy guests that leave here feeling thrilled with their choice of accommodations and looking forward to coming back. Your last comment about a “semi-nasty comment regarding tourists” left me totally bewildered. We have met and hosted thousands of people over the past 20 years from all over the world and without a doubt, the vast majority of them have enriched our lives and touched us in so many ways. We are very appreciative of the people who choose to stay here and I am sorry if you did not feel our appreciation. Again, thank you for acknowledging the beauty of Ekena. Mahalo, Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is the place to stay in Hana. First of all, if you are considering staying in Hana, DO! This is a very special part of Maui and this place at Ekena really is special. The view is so beautiful and just surrounds you, with lush green. There is just a feeling of endless space and peace. I loved just gazing off the balcony. We rented Jasmine house and would love to try and see the next level up, but maybe next time. We were very happy with Jasmine. There were 4 of us and we all felt like we had enough space and what a lovely kitchen and dining area for our evening meals. I have no complaints whatsoever and Robin and Gaylord are very accomodating and available, yet there is not a feeling of invasion whatsoever. We did think occasionally that the couch could be a bit more comfortable, and some of the furniture a little dated, but that is not really important to the overall feel of this home. I am still closing my eyes and imagining the view that we experienced for 3 days. It is a place one could stay and have a retreat, but it is also the perfect place to just meander and explore Hana and area. Expect it to be buggy, humid and tropical and let yourself to be open to the benefits of staying here. Rent this house and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdithNanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ORLANDO, FL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

First, I have to say that if you are debating renting this home, debate no further. It is far better than the hotel in the area. Not to say that the Travassa hotel is subpar, but this home is amazing. From our arrival at the home and greeting from the mgrs dog Raz, to Gaylord, the house mgrs conversation and accommodating attitude, we loved every minute. The home has breathtaking views, is spotless and fully stocked w everything you could need. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. We spent the last few days of our honeymoon here and it was like heaven.. floor to ceiling Windows all around and a massive deck w gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. Rent this house.

Mike and Claire

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We highly recommend staying at Ekena (we had the Jasmine house) if you are staying overnight in Hana. It is a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay, and the views of the hillside and ocean below are gorgeous. The house is spacious, has every convenience, and immaculately kept. The owners and their pets are very friendly. You will wake to birdsong and greet the morning on your own deck looking out at the water and clouds. Be sure to do your grocery shopping in Kahului or Paia first. Good for couples and also families.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kraspberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were looking for an out-of-the-way place to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We were referred to a different property in Hana by some friends who had stayed there, but that place wasn't available during our time frame. The owner referred us to Ekena, and we're so glad she did. This place was perfect! We had a 180-degree view of the ocean as well as a mountain behind us. You can see the ocean from almost anywhere in the house because nearly the entire back is made of sliding glass doors. The caretakers were friendly and welcoming. They maintained a low profile but were always there when we had questions or needed something. Razz their dog was our best friend during our visit to Hana.

The house was immaculate and well appointed. We brought our own food and cooked all our meals there. The kitchen was fully equipped and met all our cooking needs.

Hana is the perfect place to go if you want to see beautiful sights but don't care to be around crowds of people. We had multiple outings where an hour or more went by without seeing anyone else. The rugged beauty of Hana and the surrounding area will take your breath away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanrRater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isetorp, Manager at Ekena, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Aloha and thank you for sharing your enjoyment of Ekena and Hana. They are special places and we never tire of hearing how much people enjoy their time in Hana and this peaceful home. We congratulate you on 25 years together and hope that you can celebrate many more special occasions here at Ekena. Mahalo, Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Ekena sits on a hill and is surrounded with lush tropical vegetation surrounding the large home. We stayed three nights in the lower level in the “Jasmine” home. The views are just as breathtaking as the top level home. The photos displayed on the website really doesn’t do the place justice. It was one of those places when you walk in and say "Wow".
This the first time we rented a home in Hana because we were bringing my 16 year-old niece and 11 year-old nephew to celebrate their birthdays (their first time to Hawaii) so this was the perfect place. The home is huge and has an amazing wraparound deck with floor to ceiling windows. The bedrooms and bathrooms are located at opposite ends so very private. It was nice to have a washer and dryer in the home. We didn't do much cooking but the kitchen seemed to be well equipped with what you need. I also enjoyed our meals on the large wood dining table.

I should say that the whole place is very private and you don't really have any neighbors blocking your view. You can walk down the steep driveway and just be amazed of the beautiful and unique tropical greenery that surrounds the home. It's very quiet and all you hear are the tropical birds chirping away which is lovely to hear. We had no problems falling asleep! The amazing thing is that the owners only rents one level home at a time so it give you complete privacy.

Robin was very nice and considerate host. She had recommended a place down near the driveway for pizzas. We stopped by the grass covered hut that sold fruits/vegetables and also the "World Best Banana Bread" (which was ok) and they also had homemade pizzas baked in a homemade pizza oven. We got fruit and bread (assortment of fruits, jams, and breads compared to others in the area) and put in our order and then drove to the Hasegawa store to buy groceries. I was curious how they were going to do take out pizza as we drove back to pick them up. Well the best surprise was to find our pizzas wrapped in banana leaves with a hibiscus flower adorning the middle. Now that is GREEN! By the way, the pizzas were delicious.

Mahalo for a wonderful memorable stay.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank p0rt0bell0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isetorp, Manager at Ekena, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed all the beautiful sights, sounds, and tastes of Hana. There is probably no place else where you could get a take-out pizza wrapped in banana leaves and adorned with a hibiscus! Also glad to hear how comfortable and pleased you were with the Jasmine home and that your family has such great memories of this part of your vacation. We will always be happy to have you back. Mahalo, Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
3.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
3.6 mi away
Hana Kai Maui
Hana Kai Maui
#2 of 2 in Hana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
27.1 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
5.5 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
20.1 mi away
Peace Of Maui
Peace Of Maui
#2 of 2 in Makawao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekena

Property: Ekena
Address: Off Hana Highway, P.O. Box 728, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Ekena Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing