We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very ... Very basic”
Review of Aloha Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aloha Cottages
Ranked #8 of 9 Hana B&B and Inns
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very very ... Very basic”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Pros: Very comfortable beds, cheap, room for 3 without surcharge, no cleaning fee, clean at first glance, nice location and view from upper unit, very close to ocean, sweet landlord, upon close inspection I found no dangerous looking spiders, bedbugs, or ants indoors, beautiful fruit plants everywhere.

Cons: Wasp nest at entrance, 50 year old stove actually shorted and burned a welding hole in the pan with 3 foot sparks, screens all have wide gaps around edges and some holes letting in many mosquitos, filthy (like 2 years of dust) and cobwebs in the corners and over the doors. Termites and little mosquito looking nats came in thru the gaps in the windows. I actually had to go around cleaning them just to feel comfortable (that said; it was well swept and clean in the main areas), tub had about 100 tiny dead nats on it, mildew in every cabinet, dishes needed to be re-washed.

It would have been a good sleep if we weren't for the apprehensions all night about a big spider or other bug invading. Apparently; it was just barking Gekko's doing their job keeping them at bay. It would have been more comforting if not for the 1/2 inch wide gaps along one edge of just about every screen (the termites had eaten the wood).

When the stove shorted, the 220 fuse didn't blow. Wow, my wife was stiring with a metal fork and would have probably been killed if timing were different. The place probably would have burned had we been cooking greasy foods.

This place works for someone willing to suffer a few mosquito bites and walk under the wasps; and just looking to simi-camp for the night.

Mrs. Nakamora REALLY needs to put a little effort into fixing / thoroughly cleaning the place. She's in over her head.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray and a mosquito net.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    17
    10
    9
    18
See reviews for
26
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Every time I go to Hana to get away, I always call Mrs. Nakamura to make reservation. Because they don't have an answering machine, the best time to call is in the morning, before 10:45, after that they are cleaning the houses.
The houses are really simple but clean and every house has all what you need. They take the garbage out every day and make your bed, fold towels.
The location is prefect, walking distance to Hana bay, the stores, the churches, the clubhouse, the red sand beach. The formerly known Hana hotel is right across from Aloha Cottages.
Mrs. Nakamura always gives us fresh fruits from their garden.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Aniko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The Nakamuras have 3 structures on their property and we rented the studio at $75/night. The upper floors are $90/night and meant for families or larger groups. Heavy walkers upstairs can be heard in studio. Cozy and simple provisions. There are many more vac rentals appearing in Hana, but this was recommended by Hana locals. (Travaasa Resort across the road is $500 and up/night.) We hiked 4 out of 5 days and drove east one day. Wanted to fly into Hana from Honolulu (Mokulele Airlines) but rental cars are unavailable at Hana Airport. Shop in Kahului before driving the winding 50 miles. We ate out 1 meal/day at Travaasa, Hana Ranch Restaurant and a new Thai Restaurant across from the baseball field. Location is one block from Hana Bay.

Room Tip: Upper floor units larger and quieter, depending on who rents other units. The structure at the top o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MauiNotKaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I made the mistake of not checking reviews. I thought the price was good and how bad could it be? Really bad! My husband who is very frugal said "I am so glad I didn't pick this place". As a roof over your head while it's dumping down with rain (common in Hana), it beats camping, but only just. The owner was very sweet and showed us a map of where to go around Hana and I feel badly writing this review because of her, but I feel like it wouldn't be fair not to warn others. The studio we had was very basic and threadbare. There were holes in the towels, and the bedding was uncomfortable and old and we had the company of a giant 2" cockroach. I could have dealt with that, but when we were cooking our dinner, my husband got a shock touching the metal pan we used to cook. There must have been a short circuit in the cooker. We told the cleaners to tell the owners about this the next morning, but I am not confident the stove would be replaced. It's that sort of place. We left really early because we didn't want to incur the wrath of Mr. Owner (we had checked some Yelp reviews by then).

Room Tip: We may have had the worst studio (73), but I wouldn't go back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Penelope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovell
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Loved the area. View of ocean from unit. Centrally located. The owners are super nice. Place definitely needed some repairs and overall I'd stay there again except the beds were horribly uncomfortable. Gives you the old Hawaii vibe for sure. Walking distance to Hana Bay. Couple of ok restaurants nearby, but pricey. Easy drive to several parks including Haleakala N.P.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Mrs Nakamura is a very nice host, the cottage that we rented (off property) was beautiful, nice view of the ocean. Met the son Keith in the morning, and we shared stories while I held my 3 months old son. What an amazing place... makes me wonder why I live in such a cold climate!

My blessings go to this family, long time Hana residents, I hope to visit them again soon.....

Room Tip: Try to ask for their nicest cottage - im guessing its their most expensive one, but at just over $10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RowansEntourage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I was warned by multiple reviews of how bare this place is. I found it to be as described, simply a roof over our head, a quiet bed to sleep in, living room to lounge in and a VERY short walk to Hana Bay, where our 6 year old son loved to swim. The Mrs. was courteous and friendly, she offered helpful hints for dining and good beaches to explore. If you are looking for the lap of luxury or looking to be catered to...this is NOT the place for you. It is better then having to set up a tent at the end of a long day when your kid is cranky. And I found the location very central. If you have camping background...you will find this lodging very adequate!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS_080903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.1 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,135 reviews
30.0 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
25.0 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
516 reviews
30.0 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloha Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Cottages

Property: Aloha Cottages
Address: 73 Keawa Place, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Aloha Cottages Hotel Hana
Aloha Cottages Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing