We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Old Hawaii”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014

After consulting tripadvisor reviews, we decided to splurge for the Sea Ranch Cottages and put our friend up in the Garden view room near the main lodge. Our experience is that the sea view room is better value, notwithstanding the much better view of the SR cottages. The garden view room# 30, get this, and the 3 other rooms to its right have ocean view! They are spacious and are in slightly better condition than the SR cottage we stayed in. So what do you get for the ~200$ upcharge to the cottage? You get bath salt, sounds of roaring waves and a pitched roof with skylight letting in the sun in between rainy spells. There is not more privacy either. We can see the insides of the next cottage downslope from ours which is semidetached to our neighbour to the left. No difference to the garden view room end units: one side is attached to the next room.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank sunnyboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Aloha sunnyboy9,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Travaasa Hana experience with our Tripadvisor followers. I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you pointed out, we have four rooms in the Garden section of the property with a partial ocean view, but those views are pales in comparisons to the unobstructed view you will find at our Sea Ranch Cottages, plus a larger square footage to enjoy those views. Please be assured that our Sea Ranch Cottages are going through a renovation process, which will only improve on what is already an exceptional product.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and we look forward to hosting you again!

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Now our third stay! Unlike other places on Maui here you feel solitude, relaxation and release. The resort is whatever you want with the right amount of options and activities for a full experience. This haven is little discovered due to the journey to get there but worth a few days stay. Lots of aloha and mahalo!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabes75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Aloha jabes75,

Congratulations on your third visit and a big thank you from the Travaasa team for your continued business, we look forward to welcoming you back to Hana! The journey to Hana is long, but beautiful as you already know. I’m very pleased you were able to find solitude and relaxation, which is not very hard to find once you get here. Thank you for your wonderful review and thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is amazingly situated in a tropical rainforest. The road to Hana is a must during the day and take Dramamine the windy one lane road is loaded with bridges & waterfalls with gorgeous views. The rooms are spacious and clean the bathtub is a true soaker tub . I can not give enough praise to the genuinely friendly staff, especially Hoku the concierge. My husband is a chef so when I say the food was well presented and delicious too we mean it. We have found our home away from home. We will make this our vacation spot again and again, don’t delay book now!

Room Tip: Our garden view are really nice and spacious. If you can splurge for a sea view cottage do so they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldldumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Aloha Idldumm,

I’m very pleased you enjoyed your journey to Hana. The views along the way are simply breathtaking views. Thank you for recognizing the Travaasa team and the fabulous experience they provided you during your stay. Hoku does an excellent job making every guest feel welcome and creating that one of a kind guest experience. Thank you for mentioning your great dining experience!

Thank you for sharing your Travaasa experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife for 7 nights, booked through Expedia. After a 3 hours drive through Hana Hwy (360) at night, we were the last ones to check in, apparently things closes after 8pm in Hana. We stayed at the garden suite, beautiful open space, very quiet, private porch, exactly the quietness we were looking for this trip. We didn't plan to do any crazy excursion for this trip, and this place is perfect either you want active, or relaxation. Staff are very friendly and kind. We sign out a Ukulele for fun, and ended up getting a private lesson (thanks Mapuana). Next morning we got a fruit basket from local farm from the concierge (thanks Dawn). Archery lesson with Doug was super fun, and thanks for a flavor of Maui history. You can tell they love their job, and love Hana, and they definitely showed they truly want your stay to be enjoyable. Thank you Mapuana, Andrew, Doug, Ruth, and Dawn! This is a memorable trip especially with your hospitality.

Ken and Sam

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Aloha Ken and Sam,

I’m very pleased you had a very enjoyable time and team member’s you mentioned provided that exceptional service to help make your trip a memorable one. I’m glad you enjoyed the fruit basket from Dawn who does a fabulous job in creating memorable experiences for all our guests. Mapuana is a very good ukulele instructor who also comes with a tremendous knowledge of our Hawaiian culture. Doug’s archery class is really fun, he also does an incredible stand up paddling class as well.

Thank you for sharing your Travaasa experience on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hana.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We just stayed at the Travaasa Hotel Hana, for three nights, in one of the Sea Cottages (room 512 - great view). No TV, no Internet, no newspaper - how wonderful is that? Every morning was started early on the rear deck, drinking Hana coffee, watching the sun come up out of the Pacific Ocean, less than a football field away.

No air conditioning meant sleeping with all the windows open - that took a little getting used to, but the sound of the ocean became very relaxing.

This place is NOT inexpensive - you are paying for location, not the marble of a Ritz-Carlton. Other reviews mentioned how friendly everyone is here - that is mostly true (we especially enjoyed the golf cart drivers and housekeeping staff!), however, the wait staff in both the restaurant and lounge did match the positive attitude of the hotel staff. They were simply going through the motions.

The food is expensive, but I understand how difficult it is to transport it there. However, the quality was very good.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MikelMizzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Aloha MikelMizzou,

Let me start by apologizing for your less than satisfactory dining experience. I have shared your comments with our restaurant operator to ensure proper training is conducted to ensure this type of negative guest experience is eliminated.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay in room 512, what a beautiful room with views of the Pacific Ocean and horses in the pasture just across the way.

We try to keep our dining prices competitive with similar caliber restaurants on Maui, but as you pointed out, there is a price of doing business in a remote area.

Thank you for your comments and for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana. We look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This picturesque resort is the perfect place for anyone who wishes to get away from the touristy atmosphere found on the west side of Maui. With that said, it should be noted that this is a secluded area, with limited selections in terms of restaurants and shopping. To compensate, however, the resort offers a wide variety of complimentary activities that keep you occupied on a rainy day.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Aloha Ice P,

Thank you for sharing your comments with our Tripadvisor readers! You are absolutely correct, Travaasa Hana is the perfect place to get away from it all. The town of Hana does not offer a lot of restaurants and shopping options like the other resorts towns on Maui do, but what Travaasa Hotel Hana does offer is peace, tranquility, rejuvenation and the perfect opportunity to connect with loved ones.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights, which included the short flight on a tiny plane. Everything was arranged perfectly. Relaxing spa, yummy drinks and great pools. We took the all inclusive food plan so food prices weren't an issue. All of the staff were super friendly and their love of Hana is evident. As others have said, dining can get boring, especially since the lunch menu is the same every day. But food isn't the draw here. It's the people. It's paradise.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RSIERRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Aloha RSIERRA,

Mokulele Airlines is a short 15 minute flight from Kahului Airport to Hana filled with unbelievable views of the East Maui coastline along the way. Thank you for mentioning the Travaasa team and the super job they did during your stay! Most of the team members, including myself are born and raised here in Hana and the love for the property and Hana is evident through our quality of work and those memorable experiences we provide all our guests.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana!

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
47.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
492 reviews
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,228 reviews
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.8 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: £394 - £538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing