We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a laid back, relaxing, memorable experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you plan to take the Road to Hana, this place is a must stay. The up front cost of staying here is definitely worth it and they do not nickel and dime you for everything. They offer so much different activities here and the staff members are amazing! They are genuinely happy to accommodate you and go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and get the most of your experience here.

Definitely a great way to get away from city life and just relax.

Room Tip: No electronics or A/C in the rooms but the purpose is to go out and experience what the hotel has to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha Johnny P,

Thank you for sharing your “laid back, relaxing and memorable experience” with our Tripadvisor readers. Thank you for mentioning our team members and the memorable experience they provided you throughout your stay. It’s good to hear you enjoyed our plethora of complimentary guest activities. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband booked this hotel for our mini-moon stopover on our way back from our Wedding in Australia. I was a little hesitant given lack of electronic connections with the outside world (i.e. no internet or TV in cabins), however it was the best idea ever! We had the chance to relax and enjoy the area. He booked a Ocean Front Sea Ranch Cottage with a spa which was remote and perfect. We had most meals in the resort (which we never do) and the service and food was of a very high quality. The cottage was well equipped - bathrooms a little dated, however I think that adds to the charm of the location. All very clean and well maintained. We spent two afternoons in their Spa - I had the most amazing massage I have EVER had. Such a relaxing trip - definitely recommend if you are looking for a place to relax and recharge! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Sea Ranch Cottages - definitely worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneM1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha AnneM1001,

Congratulations again on your recent wedding. I’m very pleased you enjoyed the no TV or internet in our guest rooms, which was designed to do what you experienced, relaxation, enjoy the sceneries of Hana, but most importantly the uninterrupted opportunity to spend time with your love one. We look forward to welcoming you back next year on your first anniversary.

Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Travaasa Hana and it became my "best vacation ever". Hoku's daily beaming smile and sincere inquiry made us feel genuinely welcomed. The rest of the staff was attentive without being pesky and always greeted us with smiles and openness. Our Sea Ranch Cottage was relaxing, very comfortable, and romantic with a view and live soundtrack of the ocean just beyond the cliff. Even the glorious sunrise begs to be "custom-ordered". Staying here provided the capstone to the glorious hiking, waterfalls, shoreline, etc. Thank you, Travaasa Hana and Hoku, for rounding out my perfect holiday in paradise.

teacherredmond

Room Tip: The Sea Ranch Cottages are a must for couples who want some solitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha Patti R,

I'm very pleased we were able to help you achieve your “best vacation ever”, that's a very special comment. Thank you very much for mentioning Hoku and the outstanding job she does in creating a unique experience for all our guests, we are very fortunate to have her on our team. And thank you for mentioning our one of our kind team members who are very genuine and live the very definition of Aloha. Thank for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

What a lovely resort in the very relaxed town of Hana. We stayed a week over by Lahaina and while we enjoyed that, this was a different experience altogether. More "Hawaiian" somehow. More authentic. Absolutely lovely! The hotel is very expensive YES but once you are there - you are not nickel and dimed to death. Most of the activities are free, as well as the use of boogie boards and pool stuff and laundry facilities. The restaurant is VERY expensive and I can honestly say that while breakfast was very good, I would not recommend it for dinner. We paid 250 for a meal that was just OK. The area is amazing... so low key and authentic feeling. If you are traveling with kids you will be in the main part of the hotel, while those without can stay in the more exclusive (and more swanky feeling) area with ocean views. Please note there is no AC... so when it is hot, it can be sticky. They have ceiling fans but you need to keep your windows and doors open to enjoy a breeze which means that when the birds start chirping at 5am, you are awake. Sammy Hagar has a condo here right next door, Steven Tyler rides his mountain bike by and Alice Cooper comes and brings his mom on holiday. Fun!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha squirrelgirl69,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our Tripadvisor readers. I have to agree with you that Travaasa Hotel Hana is more Hawaiian and I’m very confident in saying the most Hawaiian experience on Maui. Please accept my apologies for not meeting your dining expectations, I have shared your comments with our food and beverage team. I’m very happy you enjoyed our complimentary activities, which by the way are many. Thank you again for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Driving on the Road to Hana was an amazing experience and definitely not for the faint of heart. Arriving at Travassa Hana was rather welcoming as a place to relax and experience the gorgeous view of the ocean. Very zen like. This was like no other place, wish we had stayed longer. The rooms were spacious and very clean. There is no air conditioner but not needed. Sleeping with the doors open while listening to the ocean and birds was priceless.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha Sunshine0621,

I’m very pleased you enjoyed your short stay at Travaasa Hana and thank you very much for sharing such great comments about your experience. Thank you again for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and we look forward to hosting you again on what will hopefully be a longer stay.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th trip to the resort and since the ownership change the rooms and service are top notch. We always stay at the Sea Ranch Rooms which are well worth the extra price. The various classes are great especially the yoga classes. Hana is always a great place to unwind and kick back from the rest of the wold.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pumpvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Aloha Pumpvixen,

I would like to thank you for your loyalty over the years. I’m very pleased you enjoyed our services, rooms and the variety of complimentary classes we offer our guests. We look forward to hosting you again next year.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our experience at Travaasa Hotel Hana began with Dawn Cockett at the concierge desk. We talked with her a couple of months before our arrival so we were aware of key items that the facility and the surrounding area offer.

As we neared our stay, we connected again with Dawn and it was fun to connect with her periodically throughout our stay. She really cares about the guests and their experiences! She builds a relationship vs. merely providing information.

Our experience benefitted by leveraging Dawn's expertise and helpfulness!

The ocean front sea cottage with hot tub on deck was exceptional. To wake up and see the sun rise while sitting in the hot tub was a great way to start the day. Also a great way to end the evenings. Loved the sound and sites of the ocean.

The sea cottage was so spacious inside and on the deck (ours was #409) - huge, expansive deck with spa, two chaise lounges and patio table for four. With lots of spare room!

Dinner at the restaurant for our anniversary was exceptional with Jay as our waiter and his great recommendations from the specials and the menu. He's very focused on the experience his customers have. He really cares.

Being able to book a sea cottage at Travaasa with United Miles was incredible. I fly a lot for work and having the last 3 nights of our 10 day/9 night Maui trip being at Travaasa was a great way to really finish our trip in an exceptional, relaxing environment.

The next time we're in Hana -- Travaasa is where we will stay. Is it perfect. No. Is it awesome yes. Do the staff care and listen to suggestions, yes. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea Cottage (specifically an Ocean Front with Spa (vs. Ocean View with Spa -- a bit further back). W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hana, Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Aloha Kent W,

I really appreciate your comments about Dawn and the incredible job she did making your stay with us an amazing experience. I’m very pleased you enjoyed our Sea Ranch Cottages, specifically #409, with great ocean and mountain views. Jay consistently provides our guests with exceptional service, thank you for your recognition.

I hope you make Travaasa Hana part of your anniversary celebration for years to come. Thank you again for sharing your fantastic review with our Tripadvisor readers.

Mahalo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
29.8 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
47 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
509 reviews
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
29.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
47.2 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travaasa Hana, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hana, Maui

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: £403 - £661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hana, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the end of the famous Road to Hāna, Travaasa Hāna sits on 69 acres along Maui's eastern coast, surrounded by lush, rolling grass fields, palm tree groves and the shores of Kaihalulu Bay. The AAA Four-Diamond experiential destination site, voted "#1 Best Boutique Hotel and #1 Best Hotel/Resort for a Romantic Getaway" in Hawaii Magazine's 2013 and 2014 Reader's Choice Awards, takes guests on a joyful journey with distinct offerings - Adventure, Culinary, Culture, Fitness and Spa & Wellness - that define the Travaasa experience, yet engage guests in the spirit of Hawaii. With activities like ukelele and lei making lessons, horseback trail rides, coconut husking, stand-up paddleboarding, outrigger canoe rides, outdoor yoga and traditional throw-net fishing, mo'elolo, or stories, are created as guests harmonize with the healing energy of the island. Our Maui spa treatments go far beyond pampering and indulgence. They reflect Hāna, our passion for, and knowledge of, the human body. We honor the ability of plants and essential oils to naturally treat, heal and revitalize the soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Travaasa Hana, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hana, Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing