We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We loved the view. Being able to sit on the balcony and watch the waves come in with a drink in hand was like heaven. The help were friendly and gave us good directions to the red sand beach in Hana. The red sand beach is a must for anyone visiting Hana. If I return to Hawaii I would definitely stay here again. You must like a laid back and quiet time to stay in Hana. Get most of your supplies before coming out to Hana.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to be closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed there while during the route to Hana. Wonderful place. Very peaceful and we slept with the ocean sound. Very relaxing. The view was spectacular. We had our dinner on the balcony with a glass of wine. Best place to relax after a day of travelling and hiking. Full kitchen was a big plus for us and did enjoy our stay in Hana.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMR_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

The rooms are well equipped and for the most part very clean. We had 3 rooms and one was loaded with cock roaches! They did try to vacuum them up. Service was good. Thee grounds are beautiful. We did enjoy our stay there.The beach front was very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassyone55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent one night at Hana Kai. We have been to Maui three times. On our first trip we quickly turned around and headed back before dark. We had no idea all that we were missing. I have to say that if you are going to make the trip to Hana, you really do need to make it worth while and see the area. In my opinion, it has some of the most beautiful sights on the island, and if you are in a rush to get there and back before dark, you will miss a lot of what the area has to offer.

Hana Kai is reasonably priced. If you book online, you can see the room you are booking and choose accordingly. The views are breathtaking. The property is directly on the black rock beach. The grounds are lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. This is a peaceful paradise!

We stayed in Unit 202 - "Alau" this time. We slept with the lanai doors open and fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves and the cool night breezes. It had everything we needed. We could make breakfast here, but you need to buy some food on the way into town. There are stands all along the way where you can pick up fruit and banana bread. We stopped at the Hasegewa General Store, which is a real experience! I never miss that shopping stop when we come. It's definitely Far from Waikiki, as they like to point out. There is a market across from there where you can find local artisan crafts as well. I have noticed there is more there this trip than when we came 4 years ago.

When we came last time we stayed in the unit 203 called "Lanakila" and it was very nice. It was a larger one bedroom unit with additional sleeping areas in the living room but we brought our kids on that trip. This time we opted for a smaller unit for just the two of us. It would still accommodate 4 people as it did have a bedroom upstairs- but that was very hot when we first checked it out- there are no air conditioners here. You really don't need them as the breezes at night will cool you.

This is not a resort! It is Hana. If you want pampering and you want luxury and a spa and you want fine dining, then Travaasa is the way to go. If you want to do your own thing and hang loose in Hana, then I do recommend Hana Kai. It is relaxing, clean and neat, and I love it there.

After making it to Hana, we stopped at Hasagewa General Store for some interesting finds. We arrived at Hana Kai and rested after our long journey (it can be really long and very worthwhile if you make frequent stops along the road to hike the trails and explore the coast). We headed out to Hana Bay to sit on the dock and walk the beach for a while and then to Koki Beach for sunset. We were up early the next day to watch a spectacular sunrise from the beach, made our own breakfast and headed to Wai'anapanapa State Park, which has THE most breathtaking wonderful views I have ever seen. I would not miss that stop on a trip to Maui. We did some local perusing and shopping at the Marketplace and continued around the south east of the Island making our way to our next stop in Wailea.

You see a lot of variety on this particular trip route, after Hana, continuing around the east, following south and up into Upcountry and I definitely recommend it, if you are up for an exploring expedition.

I will stay at Hana Kai again and again. I like to stay one night here because there is so much to see in Maui. I plan it into my trip. This time we spent two nights in Lahaina at the Plantation Inn when we arrived, followed by one night in Paia, at Mama's Fish House and one night in Hana, then we spent 8 nights in Wailea. I like to see different parts of the island, and if you plan it and pack smartly, it doesn't have to be a pain to pack up your stuff and move on throughout your trip. This way we can get a little bit of everything, as rustic or as extravagant as we like.

My recommendation for finding the best room, is to check out the website and choose what you want.

I made reservations via the website and communicated by email. They do take one night reservations. I had no difficulties. It can be pricy here depending on what you want. Some of the suites need some updating, others are perfect. Some units are expensive, others affordable. There is something for everyone here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L0wie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We also,stayed in #3 and loved it. The room was very well equipped for cooking and reading. Had some guidebooks to sights around Hana. The view was stunning and the sunrise was so exciting to watch everyday. The staff were very kind and helpful with fruited water to greet you when you arrive.The grounds are lovely with a Koi pond and sitting area downstairs on a lawn.
I had my laundry done there before our return trip home and for a $5 fee they wash and dry,fold and bring back to your room. Much appreciated.. Have have to rate the sleep quality average not because of the bed but, never slept in a room that the ocean was to loud ( the waves hit rocks on their beach). It wouldn't keep us from getting this room again but, with out A/C you have to keep your windows open for ventilation and I'm sure if staying there more then 2 nights I would grow use to the sound or bring earplugs because the view is over the top.Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDons_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanakaisusie, Manager at Hana Kai Maui, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Everyone loves the sound of the water, and how it lulls you to sleep, but on occasion, depending on the tides, it can get a bit loud. I am sorry you didn't notice the earplugs in the nightstand by the bed~
I also wanted to mention that laundry is $5 / load self service and $15 / load for full service....either way it's a great deal:)
Magement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
26
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Had stayed only at Hotel Hana Maui previously (now Travaasa). It was a great place to stay but it's now ultra expensive and they don't even post menus so we decided to try something else. Hana Kai is steps from the ocean and with full kitchens you can easily make some meals and tend bar at a fraction of the price. Each unit has a lanai (patio) that faces the ocean. We stayed in Unit 3- Keanini...ocean front with huge lanai, excellent furnishings, and a rain shower. We could walk to everything in town too (red sand beach, luana spa, Thai by Pranee, Hasegawa's). Housekeeping is great and even puts away your dishes, replenishes coffee, etc. Wifi is spotty but we came to unplug. Excellent viewing of Hana sunrise. Absolutely loved it--we will definitely be back! Also highly recommend Luana Spa, Thai by Pranee, and Clay Oven Pizza at mile marker 31 (fri, sat night only).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent an evening in #207 in early September and enjoyed it very much. The condo is a corner unit on the upper level and had a beautiful view from the lanai. We enjoyed dinner and breakfast on the lanai got up early to watch the sunrise. The condo is well equipped and very comfortable. The young lady checking us in at the office was very pleasant and welcoming. We recommend this condo & will reserve it again next time we visit Hana.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmf325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
47.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
767 reviews
47.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
47.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: £220 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing