We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Husband, 9 yr old daughter and myself stayed three nights (Dec 12-15) in room #203 upper floor. We absolutely loved it! We did not experience noise issues as others have mentioned. The sound of the ocean overrides anything else - so relaxing! The view from our lanai was breathtaking and we sat out there every chance we had. We were never bothered by mosquitoes at the condo but did experience them on the multiple hikes we took so be sure to bring bug spray. The condo was well equipped with cooking supplies and toiletries and clean! We did not experience any bugs - even after spilling pineapple juice! There is no air conditioning except for nature which was more than enough for us. The trade winds keep it nice and cool in the mornings and evening - we were out exploring the rest of the time! The black sand beach is very beautiful but not for swimming - some of the locals went out but it's pretty rough. The service was incredible - housekeeping even did our dishes one morning when we didn't have time! Our only problem was with the grill - it ran out of gas half way thru. My husband asked the front desk to replace the tank - the response was that there were no extra tanks and we would have to drag all of our things down to the lower level grill - it was a pain but doable. Even so, we will definitely stay here again! Every place has it's quirks and if the grill is the only issue, then you have it made! I marked restaurant as average accidentally - there is no restaurant on the premises, however, you can find food in Hana if you get there early enough - Prawnee's is excellent as well as the Clay Oven.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor room for a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HCP237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

We spent two nights here and they were incredibly relaxing. There is nothing you need to do here. We spent hours sitting on the lanai listening to the waves and enjoy each other's company. our room was comfortable and clean. the view was perfect! we overlooked the bay and the lava outcrop that some locals fish from.

Few things to point out -
This is a lush area and as such there are bugs (I would recommend using some repellant on the lanai at dusk).
Although I saw some surfers and divers in the water, between the gravely beach and the sturdy waves - I wouldn't swim here (much better beaches for that just a short ride down the road).
Lastly, I would recommend a second floor room - our room was first floor by the lot and for a few hours there was a bit of traffic outside our door. The second floor rooms have a similar view and people don't need to pass your room to get to theirs.

All-in-all this was a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Front building has great view - The second floor rooms have a similar view and people don't nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This isn't a beach resort, but if you know what to expect, it's very charming.

The hotel is two buildings on the side of a hill, with various room types in both buildings. The hotel website provides detailed descriptions of each room, and you book the exact one you want.

We had 201, which has a great view of the shoreline. The room was a bit dated but otherwise clean and well-equipped.

The staff was friendly, and you can walk down to the shore. The black stretch of "beach" you see in the photos isn't really beach - it's fist-sized black rocks used as a surf break/erosion control. You can't go swimming there, but it's very picturesque.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisLki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The plus first--our unit—1—had a great view of the rocky beach.
Then there are the negatives. Unit 1 is an end unit and the layout is strange. Other units have patio doors to the lanai. For unit 1, the room key unlocks the door to the lanai, then there are two more locked doors that you can use to get into the unit. There’s no nice lighting on the lanai, so at night you can either sit in the dark or turn on the harsh porch lights. We wanted to have supper on the lanai, but it is really awkward so we ate at the kitchen counter.
The biggest problem is noise. The building is probably forty years old and very poorly built. We heard every footstep, suitcase roll and chair slide from the upper unit. Those people came back late at night, were up again in the middle of the night, and got up early—waking us up each time. We noticed later that everyone who likes this place seems to have stayed in an upper unit.
The bathroom was updated, but the shower leaked no matter how careful we were. The furniture looked better in the photos—in person, it was like staying in your great grandmother’s condo, and she was overly fond of Pier One. There were "sea" tchotchkes everywhere. I would forgive that if the furniture were comfortable.
When we arrived, one of the screens was loose and we had a lot of bugs in the unit. They fixed the screen right away, but the bugs were already in. I don’t know what they were but they did not seem to bite at least.
There’s no dishwasher. They advertised “no TV” like it’s a virtue—but that just seems pretentious. How unplugged can you get when they have Wi-Fi? Given that there is nothing at all to do in Hana after dark, a TV would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the lower floor. Nothing is carpeted--you'll hear every footstep from upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CoolerNearTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We decided to spend only one night in Hana to avoid doing the drive in one day. We didn't plan on more than one night because all of the tour books seem to be very down on what Hana has to offer. Once we got there we were sorry we weren't staying longer. There are lots of great beaches to explore and it's a very relaxing area. OK, there aren't great dining choices but since the Hana Kai has a kitchen, eating in is an easy option. On our way to the hotel we stopped at one of the road side stands for kalua pork and rice and went to the general store for beer. We has a great dinner on our lanai. Breakfast was banana bread & papaya bought along the road as well. The Thai restaurant in town was great for lunch before heading back to the west side of the island. The people at the hotel were lovely. We chose room 106 since it was the least expensive (and at $250/night with tax - not cheap.) The "partial" view was fine and I would be happy staying there again. No TV or AC but neither was a major drawback. Probably one of the best choices in Hana.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JM1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We decided to stay a couple of nights on the east side of Maui to save having to drive the slow Hana Highway both ways in a day, a great decision. You'd be mad not to spend a bit of time over on the east side, so different to the west. We opted for Room 205 "Mokuhano" on the second floor, good view of ocean, comfortable, well appointed room and wonderful listening to the ocean waves crashing on the shoreline. If we were slightly picky the fridge was a little bit noisy, but didn't spoil the stay. Would recommend staying on the east side, you don't know what your missing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiteley_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We loved the view. Being able to sit on the balcony and watch the waves come in with a drink in hand was like heaven. The help were friendly and gave us good directions to the red sand beach in Hana. The red sand beach is a must for anyone visiting Hana. If I return to Hawaii I would definitely stay here again. You must like a laid back and quiet time to stay in Hana. Get most of your supplies before coming out to Hana.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to be closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
47.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,099 reviews
24.8 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: £202 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing