We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Hana Kai is not an upscale resort. It is a nice, clean, kinda funky little beach front in one of the most beautiful places on earth. The staff were helpful, the room was spacious, the bed was an eight out of ten, the kitchen well supplied and the beach access amazing. If I ever brave the road to Hana again I will stay here. You should too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Benny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Unit 201 was "very good" because it met our expectations, has a great view and was clean and comfortable. The Hana Kai is not fancy, but was a relaxing alternative to high-rise overdevelopment on the west side of Maui.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I spent the night at this property on the way back from "The Road To Hana".
This is a very well maintained hotel. The room was very nice and our Lanai overlooked the beach. The kitchen had all the items you would need. The visited the local market in town and picked things up for dinner on the Lanai.
There is no TV in the room which is fine as it was so peaceful to listen to the waves breaking on the shore.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Parking is tight as it seems to be everywhere on Maui.
Ask for a room ocean front on the top floor for the best views.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent 2 nights in Hana to experience "old Hawaii" and the Road to Hana. Our unit was #5-Kaahumanu, which was right on the lava rocks/beach/ocean. The unit is very nicely furnished with an Oriental/Hawaii theme, clean, & well-supplied for cooking meals. There is a lanai with a wonderful daybed that I was tempted to sleep on! There is no AC, but with the tradewinds blowing & ceiling fans, it is not needed. Spa-like shampoos, body cream, & soaps make for special clean-ups. The crash of the surf can be very loud, so if that is going to disrupt one's sleep, ear plugs will help to lighten the intensity. The town of Hana is within walking distance. Don't miss the museum, just a block from the Hana Kai. We were able to bring food for our breakfasts & lunches, and would stop at a Thai restaurant during the lunchtime to buy take-away for our dinners. Dining out is rather pricey all over the island of Hawaii, so helping to save some money there was great. Staying 2 nights was perfect. It allowed us to hike along the Road to Hana, then the following day go to the southern tip of the National Park, & down to Lindberg's grave & hike in the state park adjacent to the churchyard. Checkout day gave us time to hike in the State Park just north of Hana (don't miss it), then start the drive north on the Road to Hana. We would have missed so much without staying in Hana

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have private balconies. It just depends on how close you want to be to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuchessKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Nothing is reasonably priced in Hana, but you can almost forget that with the lovely view. Rooms are not huge but are well laid out although the kitchen is slightly cramped (only room for one at a time). Lovely huge shower. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Top floor is better, especially if you are in the second row of units like we were.

Room Tip: top floor is best, especially if you are in the second row of units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wmleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the Hana Kai for two nights in mid-February. We were originally nervous about staying in Hana given the remoteness and lack of air condition, but we were so glad we did. The Hana Kai rooms were excellent with great finishes. We did miss the air condition on occasion, but most of the time had a nice cool breeze with the windows open. High quality bath products were a nice luxury.

We'd highly recommend cutting your "drive to Hana" experience in half and spending the night in Hana. This allowed us to spend more time at the pools and to drive around the south side of the Island.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 103Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at Hana Kai #204 for three days. This unit had been updated earlier in the year and was beautiful. The kitchen is fully equipped with new, high- quality appliances and hardwood floors. We had a great view of the bay above the oceanfront units. The grounds are beautiful as well. Hana Kai is close to two of the best beaches in the area. Great place to stay in Hana!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rick Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.4 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
47.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.7 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
767 reviews
47.1 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,147 reviews
47.2 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#10 of 32 in Lahaina
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range: £219 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing