We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Very peaceful and relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We decided to to stay overnight in Hana just to break up the 'Road to Hana" and to be able to hike the Pipiwai Trail in the morning instead of the afternoon. However, our stay in Hana turned out to be a highlight of our "Road to Hana" experience! We were underwhelmed by the drive and stops there, so we arrived by around 1pm. We checked in to our adorable studio unit (#102 I think), and then went to get some food to cook for dinner and breakfast at the two general stores in town. Our stay at the Hana Kai Maui was so relaxing. we saw/heard very few people for the most part, though there were clearly plenty of guests staying there at the time. Our unit had a screen door to the lanai, so we were able to sleep with the cool breeze and gentle sounds of Hana Bay beach and keep the bugs out. The staff was very helpful, and gave us a map and directions about where to pick up certain things (groceries, etc.) in town.

We spent one of the most enjoyable nights of our trip here, and recommend this to anyone thinking of driving the Road to Hana (and beyond)!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    202
    50
    19
    11
See reviews for
158
376
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I traveled to Maui for our honeymoon, and we decided rather than drive the road to Hana, we would do that and stay there for a couple days to be able to really appreciate what Hana is. We searched and based on reviews and images from TripAdvisor we decided to stay at the Hana Kai, and because it was our honeymoon we decided to splurge a little extra on the #3 oceanfront unit. Let me say this, absolutely breathtakingly gorgeous, tranquil, exotic, and though every room on this property looked to have a beautiful view and great location we were so impressed with the layout of Unit 3 and spent a good chunk of our time sitting on the balcony couches drinking coffee, reading travel guides, and just enjoying the moment of being able to sit there. My husband spent some time one morning exploring the property while on a walk and with a camera to capture some great ocean shots, but what he ended up capturing were beautiful photos of the grounds (fully bloomed flowers, coconuts and bananas in the trees, exotic spiders and chameleons, and all of the colorful surroundings). It was while staying here that we truly realized that this part of the island is not about the ocean and the beach, it is about the rain forests and the mountains, the creeks and the land side of life and beauty. The hotel had a great BBQ area right under our unit and it because we stopped in Paia on our way in and got a few ingredients we were able to head down in the evening and grill chicken with our local produce purchases. We chatted with some other vacationers and we could always hear the sound of the island around us (waves, birds) and the smells of floral, salt, and beauty. We stayed at this hotel on New Year's Eve. Our thought was because there are no phones or t.vs we would have some ringing in the new year a style different than most we know. It was so "local" (as is the best word I have to describe it) that we made dinner, sat on the balcony, then retired to the living room area when we saw the locals heading to the beach area with their firecrackers. We layed in bed, we talked and we laughed as we listened to the sound of people shooting off firecrackers on the beach right outside our room. When we left Hana, we did the "road to hana" drive in reverse. Because we landed at the airport and drove straight to Hana we didn't take too much time to stop and admire on our way there, and we spend a lot of time at the Gulch (seven sacred pools) and exploring Hana the two days we stayed there. So, we drove back to Napili on our "road away from Hana". I highly recommend anyone traveling to Hana and who has at least a night of their vacation they can spare to stay at the Hana Kai. The only reason I didn't give them a full 5 (which I hope to do next time I stay there) is because the shower in our unit only ran cold water, and some of the pots and pans we used for cooking in their kitchen hadn't been completely cleaned when we arrived, however we took a couple moments and cleaned them ourselves - no big deal.

Room Tip: All rooms at this hotel have great views, are easy access to the beach, and FYI the beach is rocks n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RdTrip47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maui
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was a great little property with the buildings terraced so all the rooms had great views of the water. Well equipped kitchenette in the unit we were in and a path right down to a nice black sand beach.

They didn't have A/C but had lots of fans and the night air was quite nice.

I will stay their again.

Room Tip: All the rooms had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrldtravelermaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Delightful one night stay for my girlfriend and I after a rather uneventful drive on 'the road to hana'...yup, I said that...lol. Sorry, just being honest...I've done MANY scenic drives in my lifetime and trust me when I tell you this one is anti-climatic. Doesn't live up to all the hype... HOWEVER...don't pass it up...there are some sweet highlights and good places to park and peruse Mother Nature...and it is certainly something to knock off that bucket list...so just get er done...and if you stay the night at Hana Kai, it will make all the difference!!!...as it did for us!
Hana Kai is simply an AWESOME place to stay...the room has everything you could need. Fully stocked kitchen...complete amenities...great inviting floor plan...spacious rear balcony with dining table...small front lanai...very open air flow...extremely comforting...seriously, this place was just perfect and made our 2 day 'adventure' to Hana worth it. Upon arriving, we visited the famous Hasewaga General Store and bought food to cook dinner back at our temporary 'home' in Hana. I say home because it did have that comfortable feel to it. There are EXCELLENT grills outside that make grilling a snap...the one near our room actually had a giant rosemary bush and native hot pepper plant which I used to marinate our steaks...yummy! Candlelit dinner on the rear lanai with some tunes and some wine (step it up guys...you're in Hawaii). It was truly like our own little slice of heaven. Sunrise and breakfast was the icing on the cake and a great way to kick off day 2...which began with a stop at Hamoa Beach for a morning swim... then spectacular!!! 2 mile hike to 400ft Waimoku Falls (thru a bamboo forest) in Haleakala Natl Park (accessed from Kipahulu visitors center). We then continued driving away from Hana and took the other route back towards Kula (completing the loop), as opposed to going back the same way on the 'not so amazing' road to Hana. Trust me on this one...DEFINITELY do the whole loop. The roads are fine! I could only see otherwise if it rained HEAVILY. Honestly, the road from Hana heading west the 2nd day was actually more scenic than the road 'to' Hana. Do the loop. Do the loop. Do the loop...
Couple tips: Pack a nice cooler if you can...visit a grocery store in Paia or even better, Kahului before departing for Hana. Get all your rations there and this way upon arrival at your amazing gem of a room at Hana Kai....you're ready to settle in, crack open some wine, start cooking in that kitchen, and enjoy the sunset. You'll certainly have more of a food selection in Kahului than the general store...and most certainly save a few bucks too. (There is also Hana Ranch Store which has similar stuff to Hasewaga...which actually has a better selection of food...but definitely visit Harry's).
Hana Kai Hotel...double hang ten sign.
Aloha!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timola26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bragg Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We spent four nights in Hana so we could really adjust to the pace of the place. Most people seem to make it a day trip so they can experience the Hana Highway but this does not do the place justice. Hana Kai Maui was a great choice of accommodation. Our one bedroom unit was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. The kitchen had all new appliances which was great, except the dishwasher and the oven had been knocked out by a recent power surge. It seems that the repair man only calls every couple of weeks. This did not detract from our stay in any way. We brought most of our food with us because the selection at the two local stores is very limited and expensive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here!! The room was clean, spacious and well equipped. It was much larger than we expected and included a kitchen. The bed was extremely comfortable. The sounds of the ocean, rain and animals were a beautiful soundtrack for sleeping. We enjoyed dinner on the lanai and the sunrise at the water was unreal. I highly recommend this hotel! The staff was very friendly too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed hear for one night after driving the Hana Highway for my wife 50th birthday and we could not have chosen better. We stayed in 202 with superb views and sounds of the ocean, we new Facilities in Hana are quite rightly limited as this is not a developed commercial part of the island. We took our own food and wine, the rooms are fully equipped for cooking and the view eating your food over looking the sea is hard to equal. We did order one continental,style breakfast for the following morning, I should have ordered 2 ( my mistake). Everything was local and fresh presented in a white box with flower and printed card describing the contents, banana bread was for two to share, everything was spot on. If you ever want to drive the full Hana Highway then I would book this hotel for you to have enough time to enjoy the whole experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank paulSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.3 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
47.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,880 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
46.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Property: Hana Kai Maui
Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing