We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hana Kai Maui
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Hatboro
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Hana Kai Maui for one night. We reserved one of the least expensive rooms and weren't expecting much. We were completely amazed at the beautiful location and the unit as well. It was very large, had a complete kitchen as well as a beautiful balcony overlooking the ocean. We spent much of our time on the balcony. There was a separate bedroom which was very comfortable. We enjoyed exploring the area, it was one of the highlights of our trip to Maui. I would highly recommend Hana Kai Maui to anyone looking for a clean, cozy accommodation with a beautiful in Hana!

Room Tip: We had one of the least expensive rooms and it was wonderful, can only imagine what the more expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funinthesonHatboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    202
    50
    19
    11
See reviews for
158
376
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My last visit to Hana Kai left me scratching my head. We've stayed at Hana Kai on 3 other occasions and had a fabulous experience. Our family rented the 2 bedroom suite in July which we have stayed in before with much success, but not this time. On 3 different occasions we did not have hot water for taking a shower. Upon arrival I questioned the cleanliness of our master bathroom. Viewing long hair on the ceramic floor from the previous quest. On our last day before we departed we ran out of toilet paper, unable to find a spare roll. Hana Kai resolved our problem with hot water on the 3rd compliant. And refunded us 15% of our bill. But for $425.00 per night I would expect these problems not to happen in the first place. Disappointed in the quality we received for the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grobby2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely tranquil and relaxing lodge for after the long road to hana drive.. Lovely little town.
We only stayed the night and left early the next morning.
I like the fact there is a barbecue so for anyone staying there I recommend packing meat for a nice meal or there is a full kitchen in your room with microwave and oven.
You will get great views sitting out front of a black pebbly beach with amazing waves in the sea.
Would stay in again we drive to Hana again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vkatep25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This is an incredible place to stay, it feels like you are staying in someone's beautiful home, views are spectacular, kitchens have everything you need, board games for kids, great wifi and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly!! Would recommend to families with children especially!! Wowowo!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikolasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in Hana for 2 days at the Hana Kai Maui. The suites are clean and very spacious and the bed was comfortable. It was nice to stay in a small quiet peaceful hotel after staying on hotel row in Lahaina. It backs onto a black pebble beach. It's a great location for spending time seeing the surrounding sights and beaches. Walk to the red beach- it's hard to get to, but spectacular.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
315 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night w our 3 kids. Very clean and comfortable. Had a great view of black sand beach. Made dinner and breakfast in the well appointed kitchen. Loved it. Highly recommend. Stayed here 18 years ago and would happily stay again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Keanini condo. About 60 yards to putting your feet in the ocean. Black rock beach. The condo does not have tv (it does have wi-fi)
but the view from the lanai & the sound of the waves makes this an ideal spot to relax. Since there is limited grocery options in Hana, we stopped @ Costco after leaving the airport; bought crab legs & cooked on the community grill. Purchase food, snacks, water, wine etc when you leave the airport. I would say this is more of a couples place to relax because there is not much going on to keep a family entertained. It rained occasionally both days we stayed. Hana is not a beach for sun bathers. You come to see the incredible shoreline & the nearby national park. Staff was friendly & helpful. The condo was clean; had plates, utensils fridge, oven & microwave. Cook your own food and enjoy the view.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
0.3 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
47.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
29.9 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
46.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hana Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Property: Hana Kai Maui
Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing