We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!! Simple cottage with great views”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Koali Ranch Cottage from the ocean
From the lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HMPaleo
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic!! Simple cottage with great views”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is an absolute gem!! Brilliant views from this simple little cottage that has everything that you need for a few nights stay. Quiet location and easy to find. A great location to spend a few days!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not disappoint - every bit as nice as advertised and reviewed”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

50th anniversary trip to Hawaii - from Iowa. Went back to 2 lovely resorts we stayed at for our 40th anniversary - Turtle Bay and Sheraton Maui - both lovely. Months before our trip we researched the Road to Hana, which we didn't tackle 10 years ago. Should we, or not? Should we drive it, or take a tour van? Do it in one day, or stay over in Hana? Many reviews of Road to Hana said to stay overnight in Hana as there is so much to see and do in that area. We saw several recommendations for Koali Ranch Cottage, people raving about it and saying they wished they had stayed longer. The website and reviews looked promising, so we took a chance and reserved it for 3 nights. I was so afraid of being disappointed, as we were with our B&B in Kihei last time. Everything was as described in reviews and on cottage website. It is simple. clean, quiet, private, lovely view of the ocean. We woke up to a pink sky and ocean the first morning - I'll try to post a photo. Twice we woke up in the middle of the night and went out on the lanai to look at the brilliant stars (no city lights). And then went out front to look at the Big Dipper and all its neighboring stars (prop the door so you're not locked out). We ate every meal but 1 on the lanai - no proper table inside. I didn't cook once. Well, I made coffee. Banana bread, fruit and coffee for breakfast. We enjoyed the food trucks, and brought a meal back to the cottage to share. One night we bought a frozen pizza in Hana, and heated it in the oven (that's not cooking). We saw Lindbergh's grave (terrible road), watched the surf, hiked on the Pipiwai Trail in Kipahulu Valley park to the 400' Waimoku Falls - very strenuous for me. We did a few other things, and didn't try to do it all. We could have stayed another day or 2, but we are happy we stayed at least 3. The only downside, my husband had the challenge of turning the car around in a small area so he didn't have to back out on the Hana Hwy. The cottage is 5 miles beyond Hana. We ate lunch one day at the Ranch Restaurant run by the Travaasa Hotel. It was good, but I would have preferred a plate lunch from one of the food trucks, as we didn't get to them all. We think the Hana Road is overrated, but our stay at the cottage is one of our best memories of the entire trip. We highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
WOW! What a super review! And while you were there, you couldn't dial out on the phone.

We are sorry about the turn around problem. Most of us just back out.

Please come again. Chuck Gray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwerre04
Middleton, Idaho
1 review
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with a 10-day stay at Gray's Cottage (as the locals call it) and couldn't have been more comfortable or happy with the cottage. The view off the lanai was breathtaking and the cottage cozy and sweet. Watching the sunrise each morning and the rains roll in from the ocean was spectacular, as were the frequent rainbows. This is truly a little slice of heaven within a paradise. The cows added a rural feel and were so quiet and pastoral; like watching the nature channel with the cows & calves, birds, mongoose and all. We couldn't have been happier with this place and hope we can visit again. It felt like home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the ocean breezes.
Liked least: Spider webs on the lanai but they minded their own and didn't bother us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Helen Werre, Thank you so much for your perfect review. It means so much to all of us involved with the cottage. Hopefully you will be able to come again.

Chuck Gray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stsmile20...
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
“Peaceful with Spectacular Views!”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This past March, we celebrated our 20th anniversary at the very special Koali Ranch Cottage!
Spending five days exploring the beautiful Hana Coastline, mornings at Hamoa Beach,
hiking through the magical Bamboo Forest, and, then sunset on the lanai toasting with champagne and strawberries! What more can one ask for! If you want to truly experience
Heaven on Earth, then Koali Ranch Cottage provides you this wonderful opportunity!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Yikes! I am sorry to be so late in responding to your wonderful review. Thank you. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe200...
boston, ma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“you won't want to leave!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The views were so spectacular from sunrise to sunset, you won't be disappointed.
the location was great to a lot of the key sights/hikes to see while doing the road to Hana.
the welcome basket of fruit and local banana loaf was a nice gesture.
tip - bring dinner to cook - the closest market had very slim pickings.
I would recommend this cottage to any of my friends who want to stay a few nights in Hana.
My husband and I didn't want to leave!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkeley2
California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“stunning view with peace & quiet”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place is gorgeous. The view is unreal! We wished we could have stayed more than 2 nights so that we'd have more time to just sit outside & stare at the view.

We had a small problem with the bedding smelling not very fresh & they fixed it immediately.

As rental kitchens go this one is pretty well-stocked w/ a variety of pots & pans -- they even have cast iron pans! :)

Great location that allowed us to hike Pipiwai trail first thing in the morning w/ hardly any other people.

To explain my comment about the insensitive artwork: the closet has painted doors showing different scenes from one of the owners' life. One scene shows people being hanged (the info binder explains she wanted to "string up" the construction workers because she was so frustrated with them). I took it with a grain of salt given the age of the person, & I could avert my eyes because of the gestural, abstracted brush-painted style (I think my partner didn't even notice the content), but it still bothered me. Lynching or hanging is not a joking matter, & not all artworks age well or are appropriate for all audiences, including unsuspecting vacationers. It is a lovely art piece other than that one scene.

I would still come back & I would still recommend this place to most friends -- but with a warning to those who are particularly sensitive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view! view! view! & well-stocked kitchen
Liked least: insensitive artwork
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2016
Thank you for your beautiful review. I am sorry that I missed you this trip.

The painted closet doors were a house warming gift from Elsie Daas, noted island artist on the occasion of the house completion. Mom used the doors in her closet in Honolulu and when they moved to Hana in 1964, she could not part with the doors...so she put them in her cottage. I am sorry that it offended you and hope you can ignore it on your next trip.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happilyre...
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 4 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This charming cottage with a drop dead gorgeous panoramic view of the ocean is now our favorite spot on Maui. It is equipped with everything you need to feed your body and soul. Highly recommended for a romantic get away!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2015
Yes indeed your review was really favorable. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing