We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stop - you won't regret it!”
Review of Up in Smoke

Up in Smoke
Ranked #16 of 33 Restaurants in Hana
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Red Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth the stop - you won't regret it!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This little spot just before the 29 mile marker is worth the stop. We had packed lunch, but decided to save it. A friend had told us about this place and the amazing pig taco - it didn't disappoint!!! It was amazing and topped with their homemade hot chili garlic sauce made it even mor amazing!

Do the road to Hana - we were in awe... the trip is absolutely worth it and don't forget to stop at Up in Smoke. It's just before mile marker 29 mixed in with a couple other food stands and a gift shop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little stop!”
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

If you're on your way to Hana this is a great spot to stop for a quick bite! The pulled pork is great and as a taco it's packed with yummy goodness!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bodmodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Advertised as "Up in Smoke BBQ"”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This like food outlet is not really a BBQ joint even though it is titled “Up in Smoke BBQ” and part of the Nahiku Marketplace. They serve pretty decent tacos and some other fare. Food truck style, some good sauces and the regular additions including pulled pork, hot dogs, etc. Based on what we saw & ate; go for the tacos. They’re big and good! the lady running the joint when we were there was very friendly and made sure we were well fed.

The location you almost can miss. When you come from Hana, it is on your left together with another 4-5 vendors, including a coffee shop, art vendor, etc. Not your greatest stop but def worth it and reasonable. A guy there is selling coconut candy. Make sure you grab a little bag. No real bathrooms tho. The places that belong to this rest stop are advertised miles ahead as BBQ or Coffee Shop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fmxdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't blink or you'll miss it”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Ok, I'm positive that this place has a poor rating because of its location and poor visibility - because seriously, best thing we ate on the whole island!!!!! The road to Hana is a marvel in itself and all the guidebooks tell you to pack a lunch, which is a good idea because you never know if this strip of food huts will be open (seasons), but if it is - stop and save that bagged lunch for another day. This place is buried in a small strip of shady looking food huts with really unrecognizable signs, but if you can make out the handwritten sign then pull over, order the poi burrito or pork taco and load it up - it's smoked meat heaven. We saw the entire island and ate at so many places during our stay - but this was (to repeat) the best thing we ate. We still dream about this little smokey shack when we're hungry. Go - if you are doing the road to Hana. Oh, and so cheap - we are so much for under ten dollars (2 adults).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trbovlje
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“delicous”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We eat shrimp takos and kula pig and both were delicious. It looks very primitive. I wouldn't stop if I read that it is worth it, but I was so much mistaken. It is worth to stop buy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slovenia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Up in Smoke also viewed

 

Been to Up in Smoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing