We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil setting -- Great sunsets”
other travellers have booked this property
The custom made King Size Bed and your view from it.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The custom made King Size Bed and your view from it.
Amazing sunsets that astound and can be enjoyed from the deck every evening! View of the main house with our space on the right and the private suite on the left.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
The custom made King Size Bed and your view from it.
Amazing sunsets that astound and can be enjoyed from the deck every evening!
View of the main house with our space on the right and the private suite on the left.
Lots and lots of tropical flowers can be enjoyed on our property.
The private road into our property.  We have lots and lots of coconut trees!
Breathtaking panoramic ocean vistas!
Sweeping view of our grounds.
View of the house with your deck.
Beautiful rainbows abound and can be seen from our property!
Your private shower big enough for two to enjoy.
Your private bathroom adorned with fresh flowers from our property!
Another view of the custom made bed and your view.
Lots of aloha from your hosts... Sam (left) and her daughter Mercury (right).
The large deck is great to relax and enjoy the outdoor dining!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

pamt464
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
588 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Tranquil setting -- Great sunsets”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our time at Ala Aina. Our favorite experience was watching sunsets from the outdoors living area/kitchen--so tranquil after the somewhat tiring drive along the Hana Highway. The landscape is exceptionally soothing. Loved the sounds of nature -- waves crashing on distant shores, birds singing, frogs croaking, wind blowing through the trees, etc. This bed & breakfast provides comfortable and clean accommodations. Conveniently located about 2 miles from the 7 sacred pools and the Waimoku Falls trail. Sam and Mercury share their piece of paradise with guests, and they provide excellent tips on local hikes.

Date of stay: January 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sunsets and breakfast in the outdoor living area
Liked least: Few nearby dining options
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CharlieSG...
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
506 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“Tranquil, beautiful, rustic, solitary, with a view of the Pacific.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

You can't rate Ala Aina with the same standards as the metropolitan B&B's--this is in a different world, in many ways. To paraphrase what folks in the big city used to say about my home town: Hana, Maui is at the end of the earth, and Ala Aina is 30 minutes past that. This place is in a true paradise of beautiful waterfalls, amazing coast, cool natural rocky pools, mountains, and a great rain forest. Only special people need apply, so if you have a need for constant pampering, temperature and humidity control. and 10 fine restaurants within a 10 minute drive, forget it. If you think you might like a place where Charles Lindbergh spent the last few years of his life amidst the peace and beauty of an island (his grave is within a mile or so of Ala Aina), this is the place to be.

Dependent on solar power, Sam and Mercury can't provide a/c, big refrigerator, or other power-gulping appliances; they will power up the wi-fi connection whenever you need it. And you really don't need much out here except food. There is a two-burner gas stove top, a charcoal grill, a small fridge, cooking gear and eating utensils for you to cook outside on a beautiful porch overlooking meticulously kept grounds. You will need to bring some food, since you are 30 minutes down a narrow, winding road from a very small town with two small groceries, two restaurants and a few mom-and-pop operations where you can grab a bite to eat. This is a place you have to experience; we can't express it adequately. We only spent two nights, and wish we had planned for at least four. What a relaxing place, among the people of the eastern third of Maui who are planets away from the bustle of the rest of the world.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Solitude and convenience to great natural scenes.
Liked least: Distance from town (which contradicts what we said was best!).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Reviewed 28 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: February 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HappyW
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream Time in Ala Aina Ocean Vista”
Reviewed 9 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We just came back from Ala Aina Ocean vista. We fell in love when we first drove to the land. It was raining the whole way when we were driving, but a spectacular sunset greeted us as soon as we walked into our room. We felt like we walked into a heavenly paradise. This is one of our most favorite B&B that we’ve ever stayed. Sam and her daughter Mercury have done a fantastic job to keep the B&B so beautiful, so serene, so unique, and so rejuvenating. It washes your soul and brings peace into your world. Mercury is an artist. We love every detail that she puts into for the decoration. We spent a lot of time in the lanai to enjoy the gorgeous sunrise and sunset and the view of the garden. It was amazing to take the outdoor bath and watching the sun going down. We are not huge fan of cooking when we are home, but it was joyful and fun to cook while taking photos of different views every day. The fruits are so fresh and delicious and make our mouths watering while writing this review. Sam and Mercury, thank you much for this unforgettable vacation. Absolutely there is no question that we will go back. This is a paradise and it’s beyond the words can express.

Ed and Wendy

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the garden
Liked least: Refrigerator
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJNasman
Averill Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very peaceful stay, Happy to have stayed two nights”
Reviewed 4 December 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

At first we were just going to stay in Hana one night; however, most of the rentals here at a two night minimum so we stayed two nights. We're very glad we did--we could have stayed longer and still not run out of things to do. This rental is somewhat small, but perfect for a couple. The bathroom is amazing. It was nice to lie in bed and look out at the beautiful view. The outdoor kitchen was different, but nice. You definitely want to bring food, and cooking outside is a nice change from cooking inside--and the weather is so nice that you don't mind. One of our favorite experiences in Hawaii was going to a waterfall off the beaten path which we had all to ourselves---one of the benefits of renting from a local and knowing these things. This is very near the Sacred pools, Maui stables, and definitely worth the stay.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion, the easy access to private pools and waterfalls
Liked least: You must be careful with electricity usage as their electricity all comes from solar--they are off the grid. However, we were able to do everything we needed so it wasn't really an issue.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim Y
Prunedale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and Peaceful, with a real Hawaiian atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This is our third time to stay at Ala-Aina Ocean Vista. this year we stayed for three nights. The property is beautiful and well kept. It is past Hana, just a short distance from the seven sacred pools (Oheo Gulch) and the bamboo forest. We love all the fresh fruit from the property and the outdoor kitchen. I especially enjoy the rock bathtub outside. The unit is very nice with good ventilation and awesome views. You can see the ocean on both sides. The indoor shower is huge and airy if feels great to shower with the tropical breeze blowing through. The owners, Samadhi and Mercury are extremely accommodating and pleasant. I am a photographer so being close to the seven pools and the other amazing places give me the ability to get to the spots early at sunrise and also catch some incredible sunsets. This is a great find, we always look forward to our stay there. - Jim & Connie

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty, Peaceful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S
Milton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax in a perfect Hawaiian setting!”
Reviewed 1 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing bed and breakfast! Lots to do in the Hana area so make sure you stay for a night or two! A lot of people do the Road to Hana and back to Lahaina in one day... however, to get the most of it, you NEED to stay in Hana for 2 or even 3 nights! A small town but lots of things to do! We stayed for 2 nights but definitely could have stayed for 3. This bed and breakfast is the perfect location for relaxation and solitude if that's what you are looking for. Also, lots of fresh fruit growing on the property which is yours for the taking! Want an avocado for breakfast? Well, just go pick it off the tree! Amazing!

Date of stay: October 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beautiful property, liked the info sheet with things to do nearby, loved the fruit!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.